We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Faro Beach Hostel
Ranked #17 of 20 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in a hostel and I have to say it was good. I felt as if I had access to everything.. beach, park, restaurants, excursions, shopping and even my return ticket to San Jose. They literally can arrange it all. The facilities included some very nice amenities pool, movies, kitchen, air conditioning. The staff was warm and welcoming. The open community of getting to know other travelers was amazing. This was such an experience and next time im in the area I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear LNJordan,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

The fact that you enjoyed yourselves immensely gives credit to our staff which makes this all possible.

Thank you for choosing us and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location, literally right next to the national park and a really scenic 3 minute stroll from the main strip helps reduce noise at night. Friendly, kind and helpful staff. Great grounds, big kitchen and nice pool. This hostel plays a movie on the big screen ( which is the neighbouring house ) which you can watch from the pool or poolside - loved it!

This hostel is great, apart from the bedding. I've been travelling for 7 months and I've never seen nastier bedding. LOTS of mould on all the mattresses and pillows in the dorm. They smelled clean, but still, bedding is beyond repair of a wash. It all needs to be replaced. I was one of 2 in a 12 person dorm and checked every mattress and pillow thinking I could swap out for a cleaner one.. No dice. All mouldy. Regardless of the dirtiness, the dorm beds were comfortable and they had HUGE lockers for each bed which was great.

Nice place, friendly people, good facilities. Owners- replace the beds and pillows!

Room Tip: All dorms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Mr Russell,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and that all of your interactions with our staff were pleasant and memorable, our guests should always feel that they are our main concern.

We are now taking actions to buy new pillows and fix the mold problem.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Paid but went to find another place and paid there, as well.

They actually do not really seems to care about this hostel, as they build a new one up the hill and neglect this older one.

Sheets were either dirty or with stains, very old. The "rooms" are actually narrow, long and dark corridor-like spaces. Just don't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Amir,

We use all comments both positive and negative as constructive criticism, but your title for this review is extremely disturbing to us as we strive to be clean always.

All the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great facility located right outside the entrance of the Manuel Antonio National Park (itself a bit of a over-rated yawner) with great amenities. They feature a swimming pool which was being used for midnight drinking parties by guests and you can watch the projected DVD movies from either the lounge area or from the pool. The $10 dorms are 12 shares with fans at each end, although private rooms are available. What passes for a "restaurant" is a counter that charges US$5 for a hamburger and they will sell you Pringles and Coke too but that's it. I booked a dorm room and they handed me a set of sheets and pillowcase but upon entering the dorm the first thing I noticed was that there was black mold all over the lumpy pillows on all the beds. Not wanting to inhale mold spores all night I slept on the bed but used my rolled up jacket as a pillow instead. They appeared to be expanding the facility by constructing additional unique "rooms" further up the hill on their property using steel shipping containers.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the black moldy pillows in the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your feedback and for your personal opinion regarding your experience at our Hostel.

We appreciate your very kind words on our great location, our private pool and nightly movie.

About your main complaint, I have to say that we have already taken actions by buying two powerful air purifiers and new pillows.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great location as it is very close to the beach, restaurants and the national park. I appreciated the movie played nightly, and the pool. The manager seems nice and was informative about the bus schedule to San Jose.

Although the hostel seems safe, the washrooms and showers are in separate location, and both doors do not have locks. It was a bit unnerving to hear the workers talking and working right outside the women's showers, while I was taking a shower. Also, I was in the girl's dorm, and upon waking up, to see a guy sleeping next to a female tourist was not cool. Expect to find sand on the beds.

The dorm is stuffy despite two working fans. The sheets are very thin, and the underside of the bed have mold. The communal kitchen was half decent as the stove was not working and there were limited bowls. It could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive review!

We appreciate your very kind words on our great location, our private pool and nightly movie.

About some of your issues, I must say you have given us some good advices, and actually already replace the stove for a new one and we are going to make the showers and toilets more private.

Thank you for coming to National Park Backpackers and writing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Shipping containers made into rooms. Each room has a ceiling fan. The room is square. Each side is about two feet from the edge of the fan. Walk about 10 yards to a communal shower near the outdoor pool. Walk further to the communal toilets and wash sinks (no paper towels). No smoking. Ordered grilled cheese from pool side. When order arrived it was doubled. Each sandwich was made with crusts from the ends of sandwich loaf. Not toasted. Sent it back. When order arrived, cheese sandwich toasted on one side only! Night very noisy from construction of many more shipping containers being stacked on hillside for next earthquake/tsunami.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1ack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear S1ack23,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience!

I´ve already talked with the Restaurant Manager regarding the problem you had with the sandwich in order to improve and we already took actions.

Overall, I believe that this particular negative feedback is related to the construction noise issues, which is already done. So, I indeed want to apologize and would like to honor you with a free stay next time you are in Manuel Antonio.

Sincerely,
Diego Elizondo / Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The only upside was an air conditioned room. Otherwise our room was terrible. The beds were rock hard and extremely uncomfortable. I can't emphasize enough how uncomfortable these beds were. They were like sleeping on a wooden pallet on top of a slab of granite. Room had water stains all over the roof. Hostel had no vibe whatsoever. There was construction and debris all over the place. We immediately regretted booking this Hostel once we entered our room. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for your personal opinion regarding your experience at our Hostel.
These aspects are some of the upside that this particular guest forgot to mention in his review and we hope our future guests can understand. Our Hostel is located door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park, and its privilege location is a great plus to spend comfortable vacations walking to the Park or to the beach. The Hotel has also a great pool, communal kitchen, free and fast WiFi, and nightly movies.
Also I want to explain other tripadvisor reviewers that during your stay let us know this kind of details in order to make things straight and right.
Thanks for your time and visit, and we sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country.

Kind regards,
Diego Elizondo
On behalf of all the staff of National Park Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parador Resort and Spa
Parador Resort and Spa
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
2,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park, 300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Faro Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing