We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Here at Ngo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ngo - CLOSED

Ngo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian Take out and Delivery
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food Here at Ngo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great food at this little restaraunt! This is the type of restaraunt you might normally pass on but check this one out... the food is fresh and yummy! and resonably priced. Portions are also quite generous. Manuel Antonio can get pricey so this was a nice chance to have a change from the staple of rice and beans , beer and burgers in CR.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFelt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    38
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Little hole in the wall that I would normally have passed by if not for the TA reviews. Food was excellent and fresh. Chocolate banana smoothie was to die for. Owner, ex pat American from Florida, was very friendly and offered us some good tips on local attractions. Would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan Mac 5904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curk123
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, that's all I can say....wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Once again, the collective wisdom of Tripadvisor nation has hit a home run! My wife and I got spring rolls with pork, lo mien noodles and Ngo's special chicken wings. Every bite was Delicious! I get Vietnamese food at home at least 2times a month and this is on par with anything I have gotten in Boston.I will be going back to see Kong and his charming wife, Susan, very soon. While we waited for our to go order, the couple gave us very useful information on what tours were a good deal, where to stay away from, and general information that will make our stay in Costa Rica much more enjoyable. If you want a delicious, fresh and nutritious meal at bargain prices, do yourself a favor, go to Ngo, it's about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You will go back, I know that I am...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank curk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice,very good and cheap little restaurant in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Since my wife is vietnamese, as soon as I saw the name of the restaurant on trip advisor, I wanted to go there and try it...... Well every comment on this site are very good for that little restaurant and I can honestly say.... They are true... The meal are very good, portion are big and price are very cheap.. The two owner are very nice and easy to have a nice conversation with. They cook right in front of you and everything seem to be clean. If I go back to Manuel Antonio, definately I'll be back to that restaurant. I honestly recommend this restaurant to everyone. Make sure to try the spring roll... they are the best I ever taste in a restaurant

Gilles Mindy (Thanh Lan) Brandon and Tyler from Canada

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!!! "Epic" according to my husband”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We went here last night for dinner and I have to say that in our last 5 1/2 weeks in Costa Rica, this was one of the most delicious meals we've had!! We had two orders of the spring rolls (which we plan to get for lunch again today!), orange chicken, lo mein, and Singapore noodles - all were fantastic!! Our boys (ages 5 and 2) who have been pretty picky throughout our travels, loved the lo mein noodles (with bbq pork, vegetables, egg, etc) and our Singapore noodles were amazing! Everything is made fresh when you order it and all the ingredients are fresh - once they run out of the ingredients for something, that's it for the day! They also offer takeout and delivery, which is great because the place is small (only 3 tables, the largest seating 4). The chef was very friendly and we enjoyed talking with him as he cooked (although he was soon slammed with orders, but even then he was so friendly). I highly recommend this place!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ngo also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing