We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bueno Vista”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Neruda

sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
or morning coffee house in grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
sky terrace perfect for cocktails at sunset.
or morning coffee
house in grounds
entrance to house
house entrance looking into kitchen
from entrance looking into house to the right; indoor dining area
view from kitchen terrace towards ocean
head on view of kitchen with appliances
Twin size lounging banquette
More living room seating with mini banquette that could sleep a child
outside downstairs porch and view
another porch view
stairway from living room to upstairs bedrooms and bathroom
Bismark, the caretaker, ascending stairway
master bedroom looking in from the doorway
looking through master bedroom to opposite wall/east view
window vista from master
looking into master bedroom from sky walkway
master bedroom
walkway from sky terrace to master bedroom
view from master bedroom through to sky terrace
second bedroom
second bedroom another photo
view into second bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom: toilet and shower
passageway behind house. Outside shower on the left
outside sink
outside shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GerryN22
United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bueno Vista”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Postcard views of Manual Antonio National Park specifically Punta Caterdal!!!! Up high enough to view entire length of the beach (Espadilla) outside MANP. Wildlife abounds with toucans, parrots, monkeys (a troop of 40-50 on morning) and eye level with vultures. Howler monkeys close by every AM around 4:00 which is a unique wake up call the first day. The house is nothing fancy but again the views from the house make up for any shortcomings. One thing about the listing is that it states there is a washer and dryer when in fact it does not. This was an issue with us as we were in CR for 14 days and had packed for 7 days thinking we could do laundry when we arrived here for the last week. It turns out that the caretakers wife will do your laundry for a fee. BTW, the caretaker Bismark and his family are wonderful people. The lift was not working when we were there but Bismark and one of his assistants were more than happy to bring our biggest bags to and from the house upon arrival and departure. The one suggestion I would have and I've seen it in earlier reviews is to have at least one room with AC capability. For a January stay it was so hot and humid that at the end of our week here we left one day early(having pre-paid) and headed up to Jaco to stay our last night in CR in a hotel with AC. Other than that, it is a beautiful property that I would stay in again...maybe for less than a solid week next time. Also, if you do rent a car and spring for aa SUV, the beach road down to the left is a little rough but drivable right down to the water and there is a gentleman there who will watch your car for $4 a day and he allows you to leave and come back if need be!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easily the views
Liked least: The lack of any AC
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StitchK
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Epic Views, Great Location”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic views and everything you want from a getaway! The house had fantastic views from every direction, including regular visits from white faced monkeys, and relaxing days/nights on the deck either enjoying the hammock or hanging around the table. The sound of the ocean could be distinctly heard at night, and a short (less than 5 min) walk down the road in either direction gave you the option of dining / relaxing in a hotel environment. Also a short walk (downhill) to the beach, tougher walk home but manageable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff T
San Ramon, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you're staying in Manuel Antonio, it is almost certainly to go to the park. I can think of no better way to enhance the experience the park offers than staying at Casa Neruda. With the tranquil private hillside setting, 180 degree views and variety of wildlife, it is as if you have a private slice of the park to yourself. During our three-night stay, we saw hawks, toucans, several varieties of parrots and more.

The house is well-equipped, immaculately clean and thoughtfully laid out to maximize the amazing ocean views. Very highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingPhi...
Norman Wells, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic charm and an amazing view!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Neruda for 15 days over Christmas.

At first we were a bit put off, as the place is a bit on the rustic side - kitchen is basic, fridge is old and not working that well. And there's no air conditioning, and many of the windows don't have screens...no mosquitoes to worry about but there are huge insects that are at first a bit intimidating - like grasshoppers and beetles 6" long!

But with fans, the place would cool down at night so we could sleep, and with netting over the beds, we could have the windows open at night.

This place is up 100 steps from the parking area - at first we thought it was an inconvenience, but because it's up so high this place has the most amazing ocean view in Manuel Antonio! There is a funicular to haul your gear up and down so you don't have to carry it! It was amazing to wake up to hear the Howler's and see toucans and other birds in the trees above the house! It's a 15 minute walk down a steep gravel road to the beach, but along the way we'd see squirrel, Capuchin, and howler monkeys! Beach was beautiful!

Bismark, the caretakers for the house, and family, are incredible...they are so kind and helpful and the kind of people that you love from the minute you meet them. They have 3 dogs, all of which are fun to have around and great companions! They were great fun!

Casa Neruda isn't for those who want luxury or convenience, so if you can get past that, this is an amazing, enchanting place. It took us a day to realize how special this place was! Once we realized what a unique place this was, we had a terrific time! But keep an open mind!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Long climb up stairs, and no AC
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM0385
2 reviews
“A dreamed cozy place”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Amazing from begining to end. The details on the service are amazing. Having bfast in the living room or deck is 1000 better than any hotel I hope to be back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandra s
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, good value”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (kids 10&14) stayed here for one week. The views couldn't be better, and the outdoor areas are perfect for taking it all in. The walk to the beach was okay, about 10 minutes downhill on a rocky road. Walking up the hill to the main road was a good workout, a bit of whining from the kids, but all of Manuel Antonio is hilly so it goes with the territory. Bismarck the caretaker was so helpful and sweet and the dogs and kitten really made us feel at home. Yes, there are 100 steps up to the house but hey, we all came home in better shape than when we left for vacation, how often can you say that? The only thing that would make this place a bit better would be a window a/c for the master bedroom. Just to have a little break from the humidity/heat for sleeping. But overall, this was a great deal for the area if you are physically able to make the stairs work (you could always cab it for everything else).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superposh...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Million Dollar View”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The view from this house is stunning. Just like you see it on the website. The terraces and balconies are the perfect spots for enjoying that view even if it rains. During our stay we constantly saw tucanos on the tree right in front of us. I found the house very charming with lots of cute details. Bismarck the housekeeper has been very helpful with anything we needed. The only thing I found a bit strange was that the bedrooms oversee the living room lacking a bit of privacy but this wasn't an issue. It can perfectly fit two couples and a 5th person in the living room. The beach down the house is great, you just need to be in good shape or you will be exhausted on the way back, which is upwards (or you can go by car or taxi). I saw the comments about the 100 stairs but those are better than I thought as they are divided in multiple sections so even if you are not very sporty you can climb them and just take small breaks. The house even has a delivery menu from a nearby restaurant in case you don't want to go out. With those views you may certainly want to stay home!
Can't wait to have some time off to come back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing