We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I ended up staying here on my recent trip to Costa Rica with a study abroad program and was pleasantly surprised by how upscale and luxurious this hotel is (my initial thought of 30 students roughing it in a sketchy motel in Manuel Antonio turned out to be completely wrong). Upon arriving, we were offered freshly squeezed fruit drinks (you know, the kind with the little paper umbrellas in them?) while the staff checked us all in promptly and offered to take our bags to our rooms. How's that for service?

Once I was checked in, I started to walk to my room. The entire complex is fairly large and contains several different sets of rooms. My room was part of the "Garden Rooms" wing (probably some of the less expensive rooms). As I was walking up some steps to my room, I almost slipped because the pouring rain made it very slick; perhaps a handrail or added traction to these steps would be beneficial, but this is simply a fine detail (that makes me sound really picky... but oh well). Anyways, I was very happy with the room and its super-comfortable beds, nice bathroom, free Wi-Fi, etc.

After settling in a bit, I made my way to the restaurant in the main building where the study-abroad group had reserved dinner. Though I do understand that the hotel was providing a large group with dinner (which they did very efficiently), I felt that my mediocre Tex-Mex wrap with yucca fries wasn't representative of the $15 I had to spend on it.

However, the following morning I was delighted to see the incredible view that the Parador offers overlooking the ocean. Additionally, this hotel has almost every amenity imaginable with a beautiful infinity pool, tennis courts, several trails, a fitness center, an adult pool, spa, and even mini golf!

I was even happier once I got to try the wonderful breakfast buffet with cooked-to-order omelets, fresh fruit, fluffy pancakes, delicious breads, and refreshing juices.

After a long day exploring Manuel Antonio National Park and its beaches, I was glad I could come back to a hot shower and comfortable bed. I was disappointed that I had to leave the next day. I would have loved just hanging out by the pool and exploring everything else this hotel had to offer.

In all, Hotel Parador provided an extraordinary stay in Manuel Antonio, and I hope to stay longer in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
We do, too. Wish you could have stayed longer, that is! We are thrilled that our full range of amenities and mind-boggling ocean vistas provided such a welcome and pleasant surprise upon your arrival. Sorry you almost fell victim to the descending rain, though. We always recommend that guests navigate the walkways with caution when they are wet during green season. But we will address this issue again immediately. We so appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us and we would be delighted to host you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    553
    174
    55
    35
See reviews for
648
1,087
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union Beach, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Just got back from our 2 week honeymoon at the Hotel Parador. We absolutely loved it there! The Hotel is beautiful and the views are incredible. But what really makes Costa Rica and Hotel Parador special is the people. Everyone we met on our trip was super nice and genuinely excited to show us their beautiful country.

The staff at the Parador were especially friendly. One of our first days there we met Diego up at the suites pool and bar. He is such a genuine and friendly person and really made us feel at home. From giving us tips about where to eat, to letting us know all of the good surf spots in the area, Diego did an awesome job and represents the best of Costa Rica. On days we weren't hanging at the pool we would always look forward to stopping by the suites bar and catching up with Diego. We definitely made a great new friend in Costa Rica. Make sure you stop in and tell him Nick and Samantha from New Jersey said Hi!

The rest of the hotel staff were great also. All the bartenders (Gary, Gerardo, Diego and Luis) are super friendly and more than happy to answer all your questions about anything in Costa Rica (and serve great drinks) as well as make small talk and keep you laughing. William at the tour desk always has a huge smile and really goes out of his way to make sure you get the best tours and there are are no mistakes. Allan and Luis at the front desk are always smiling and will get you whatever you need. David and the other bellmen in the lobby were always there to greet you with a smile and knew your name after the first day.

The food at the hotel restaurants and bars was always very good (french onion soup and tex mex wrap especially) and again the staff did a great job. Waiters Roberto, Joseph and Eric (and the hostesses) will take care of anything you need and again, are genuinely happy to make small talk and help you enjoy your stay. It was really nice that they would remember your name and always ask how your day was.

We stayed at the hotel for 13 days and cannot say enough great things about it. Its located in such a beautiful town and there are so many great bars and restaurants in the area that we wished we could have stayed another 2 weeks. The food in the area was excellent and very reasonably priced. Definitely much better than most other vacation spots we have been. This was my second trip to Costa Rica (my wife's first) and we can honestly say its our favorite place to travel. There is so much to see and do that I don't think we could ever get bored. We would highly recommend visiting Costa Rica and especially the Hotel Parador. You will not be disappointed !
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
While we are a resort that boasts spectacular location, remarkable views and great amenities, what truly sets Parador apart – as you so graciously noted in detail – is our personable, efficient, and accommodating employees. No request is too small or too large -- as you discovered during your visit -- because our staff truly enjoys assisting our guests. And getting to know them. While visitors to Parador can claim many new friends in Costa Rica, our front- of- house team also feels honored to make new acquaintances from around the world. Only the cream of the employee crop rises to the top -- and they are all here with us. Thank you for personally naming many of our dedicated people. We will be sure to pass along your lovely comments to each of them. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to write a review. We know you are busy, especially upon returning to the “real world” after a holiday. So, it means a lot that you thought so much of us to share with the world. Come back soon. We will be thrilled to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We are Americans living in Costa Rica. We stayed at Pardor when we arrived in August 2009- and now we steal away to this hotel whenever we are able. Now that they've fixed the road- it is easy to get to. The views are spectabular- the food is great, the staff does everything they can to keep you happy. Granted- the food can be a little pricey- so we head out to the local places to eat dinners. The spa is delightful and full service. The walking trails are amazing. The animals you can see from your balcony could replace the need to go to the park (although i would highly recommended the guided tour!). We love this place and will be back in August!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schunkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
What can we say? Thank you so much for your flattering and comprehensive review. As ex-pats living here in Costa Rica, you are obviously familiar with other beach destinations and resorts. The fact that you opt to return to Parador and Manuel Antonio speaks volumes. We are privileged that you so frequently choose to spend your holidays with us. As you mentioned, with the jungle road leading to the resort freshly paved and the new highway cutting an hour off the journey from San Jose, it’s easier and quicker than ever to enjoy the area’s great beaches, National Park and activities. But as you also suggest, if leisure and relaxation is on the docket, guests can simply pull up a lounge chair and let us serve them in high style. Which we look forward to doing for you when you revisit us in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is the optimum place near Manuel Antonio to relax, see wildlife, and enjoy yourself.

Restaurant: the food is excellent, the servers are friendly and service-minded. You will drop $45-60 for a decent meal for 2 people - so be prepared - but it's worth it. The outdoor atmosphere facing the ocean is nice; you aren't affected too much by the weather here, but pay attention to what's going on outside. You will also probably encounter bugs flying around (get used to it, it's Costa Rica). We found great entertainment from the geckos that run around the dining area every night. They "chirp" or "bark" as they scurry on the ceiling and catch bugs. TIP: Try the Sushi! The "Tico Pura Vida Roll" is awesome and a Costa Rican twist on sushi. Also, try the Sorpresa ("Surprise") - the sushi chef will serve you whatever is on his mind. It's fun! Breakfast is included for free with your stay here, it is buffet-style with lots of options, including a custom omelet station.

Amenities: free shuttles to the National Park and the beach, this is very convenient because it is not easy to walk to these places. Free wi-fi in the main building. Decent gym. Great adults-only swimming pool, and a private jacuzzi you can reserve for yourself. In case it is raining, the hotel has a covered pathway to every room.

Trails: The Monkey Trail on-site is fun for a short hike. We saw a sloth, monkeys, and toucans on our hikes. The end of the trail also offers a great lookout point over the ocean and you can walk out onto some rocks. It is very pretty.

Beach: Just 200m down the road from the hotel there is Playa Biesanz (a beach) that is nestled in a quiet cove at the end of a trail. Along this trail we saw howler monkies and a sloth, and spider monkies one time. The beach is gorgeous and quiet - you will not be harassed like at Playa Manuel Antonio. Some people on TripAdvisor complain about the rocky beach. This is NOT the Caribbean. Bring water shoes and chill out. It's fine, it is safe, it is enjoyable. The water is comfortable, the water is clean. Open yourself to the beauty that this place is - don't expect to sip a martini in a beach chair here like you would somewhere else. It's a different part of the world, and it is beautiful.

Rooms: It is humid here so make sure you keep the A/C cranked at 23 degrees Celsius ALL day or it will be uncomfortable. The beds are comfy. The showers can sometimes be cold or lukewarm, somedays they are hot - it's hit and miss. Our room (119) had a sliding glass door that walked out to a grassy lawn with a coconut tree. Iguanas everywhere outside. Our toilet got plugged once, but they fixed it and never had problems after that. One thing: when we arrived, we found a big orange bug on our pillow. My wife didn't appreciate that.

Tour Desk: we loved both tours we took through the hotel (Iguana Tours is the company they use - very professional and quality). We did Horseback Riding to a Waterfall and Mangrove Kayaking. I highly recommend both tours. We wanted to try the tri-maran boating trip, but didn't get a chance - try it! The tour desk staff is always very helpful and will help you decide on the right adventure for you!

Spa: We gave the spa a low rating for one reason: they advertise yoga classes (we love yoga) yet no classes were available (we got different answers as to why). Bottom line: don't tell people you offer something if you actually don't. We didn't try any of their other services.

Other: everyone speaks English so you shouldn't have communication problems. Again, remember, don't be a high-maintenance, demanding tourist and you will be treated well. Relax, go with the flow, you're in Costa Rica - Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Room 119 was great, but no views or much wildlife viewing. Stay in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DosLagosDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I celebrated a special occasion at the Hotel's restaurant. The coconut shrimp salad with mango sauce was delightful. I wasn't too impressed with the chuleta (pork), as I felt it was a tiny bit too dry. But the cheesecake with berries was really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is a beautiful place to go the staff is very good at taking care of every thing and the location is a dream come true. If you like to awake in the jungle with the monkeys right out side you room its beautiful. The pictures that you will come home with are very nice and the location is great its a walk away from a great beach or a taxi ride away from great fishing ,Zip Lining, for Manuel Antonio park which is a all day adventure.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

i was a little fearful of what we might get after watching a TODAY's Show expose on fake right ups a few months ago. What's more, they showed some Hotels & of ALL PLACES they focused on the area of Costa Rica we planned to go to!! AND i could tell that the background for the piece was at the Parador. But honestly.. ALL WAS GREAT!! We flew Sansa from San Jose b/c i didn't wanna deal w/ driving w/ our kids in tow & that was really fun and worth the $$! when we arrived we were greeted w/ 'natural juices' and cooled by the most amazingly refreshing towel!! you could get the stuff they put on it from the Spa..
The grounds were absolutely beautiful, everyone smiled and were REALLY kind and helpful! The pools were clean and when we wanted to change rooms they did so quickly. they seemed to really care for you b/c they would give you info about what to do/not do and who to be careful of.. which i appreciated...
OH AND THE FOOD!! The breakfast buffet was good.. what made it better was the view while you were eating it!! usually we get soo busy on vacation... and also to save $$$.. we eat out once in the afternoon.. so we would eat the the poolside 'snack' area.. which really wasn't chips & pop but where you could order the MOST delicious meals NO JOKE!! i'm sure the regular restaurant was great as i saw them running the food from that kitchen... but it was cheaper to eat before 5:30ish.. being a teacher and scraping every penny to get here... eating cheaper once is what we do :).... then we would join in on happy hour from 6-7..meals ranging from about $9-15 opposed to the regular restaurant where if you ate later would be $12-27.... it also worked out to eat in the afternoon b/c you have to get up earlier.. NO SLEEPING IN.. b/c it gets dark here about the same time all year.. so by 6pm.. it is DARK! so you have to get out early to go snorkle or ziplining or whatever.. and ofter you are back by 2ish..
the park was close by and we took their bus there..very timely and nice.. no problems.. in the park we saw a sloth climbed down from a tree in front of us! and we watched monkeys steal some unsuspecting beachers cookies. haahaa
It was cool and a little rainy but that didn't stop us... didn't encounter any major storms..
but i have.. i 'm REALLY glad we went in the rainy/off season.. b/c when the sun did come out.. which was often.. it was TERRIBLY hot!!! so i was glad to be away from the INTENSE 10' north of the equator heat.. also i CAN"T imagine what a zoo/crowded mess the hotel pools, restaurants and park would have been.. some people are OK w/ that.. but we are not.. on our catamaran trip..... we had 30 people.. INSTEAD OF 150+!!!! it was FANTASTIC!! ALSO I felt like i could 'wheel and deal' a little.. perhaps it was b/c we had kids.. but when i didn't wanna spend full price on them for trips or taxi rides.. i was able to get them for less :)
Down sides to Costa Rica in general... which i'm sure you would find anywhere...
overall Costa Rica was more expensive than we expected. we first toured round the turrialba/valley area for a few days and visited regular shops, etc... i' don't know how they afford it.. not to mention the extra costs like the 'exit visa' which added another $104 to our overall trip cost when we left....the roads were rough and yes there are people, dogs and various other things in the streets as you drive around... but it wasn't as frightening as some of the websites made it sound... we found that 'most' of the roads we were on were paved. but i would still probably take drivers next time... it didnn't cost much more & they were really friendly and on time, and knew which roads to take and where the potholes to avoid were.
But i would totall go again.. and the PARADOR would DEFINITELY be on the list again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GfromStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrodriguezarroyo, General Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
We’re sure glad you took your chances with us after seeing the Today Show piece! And that you were overjoyed by our facilities and services. Yes, Parador did appear in the Today Show travel expose to which you refer, but only because the producers and crew were happily staying at our resort and conducted an interview on site.
Your observation that the staff was “really kind and helpful” is one that we receive often. Because it is true. We are enormously proud to have such a remarkable family of employees who genuinely enjoy serving our guests. There is little that you don’t touch on in your glowing review -- from our ocean-view grounds, to the great food, customer service and first-class amenities. What can we say to such blush-inducing praise but thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. And the world. We will be delighted to again welcome you as an esteemed Parador guest next time you visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing