We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful location and hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights. What a fantastic place, lovely rooms and facilities, incredible location, stunning views and great service all round.

Met on arrival with drinks and refreshing towels and shown to our room by Franklin, who never seems to stop smiling.

All the staff are delightful and work extremely hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Delicious food and fantastic accommodation make this a treat you will always remember.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are stunning Very efficient air conditioning - you need it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MArk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are so pleased that you received such fantastic service and we certainly hope you will return again. We will pass your comment to Franklin. Thank you again for your kind review. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    564
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
660
1,098
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The hotel and its grounds are lovely and we really had no issue with our stay, but decided if we came back to the area we'd find someplace else. The hotel was very pricey (food and drinks) and just not our "scene" (we decided we prefer more of a local experience). We had the basic garden room overlooking the tennis court. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the a/c worked wonderfully. However, the walls are a bit thin as we heard our neighbors getting it on one night. All we could do was shake our heads and laugh.
A breakfast buffet was included so we took advantage of that every morning. I liked the different options, including eggs, fruit, pastries, yogurt, meats, veggies, etc. Service during breakfast was sometimes sketchy - it was difficult to get a cup of coffee and some water 3 out of our 4 days there.
We only ate at the resort our first night. They have a few different menus and we chose the "tipicales" menu (local food) which was the cheaper option and very tasty. Since we had a rental car we chose to drive into town for our other dinners (can't recommend "La Cantina" enough - the ribs are to die for). We had drinks at the pool which were good, albeit expensive. $10 for a gin & tonic! Happy Hour is every night from 6-7pm and that seemed to be quite popular!
The grounds were lovely and I especially enjoyed exploring the monkey trail. We saw monkeys and 3 sloths (2 with babies) as well as birds and iguanas. One iguana lived outside our building and we named him Jossue.
As others have suggested, I wouldn't recommend walking into town. It's a dark, curvy, narrow, hilly mountain road. If you do, take a headlamp or flashlight.
All in all, it was a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay at the Parador.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the wildlife here on our grounds. It truly is one of the highlights of a stay at Parador! We hope you’ll stop by and say hello on your next visit to Costa Rica! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed with my travel group in the Parador for 2 nights. We had a marvelous experience. The atmosphere is great, the facilities are wonderful, the swimming pools were delightful. The Kitchen and dining room staff were very cooperative.
Everybody in our group had wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviFeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere that we have created here! Pura vida!

Thank you for sharing with others your wonderful experience in this forum.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST ST PAUL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Although it is pricey, this hotel will not disappoint. It is jaw-dropping gorgeous!!! The views from this hotel are outstanding - especially from the infinity pools or your balcony. It is truly a 5 star luxury hotel.

The hotel is decorated with huge European sculptures, fountains & antiques. We had a "regular" room. It was about triple the size of a normal hotel with a jacuzzi inside the room AND one on our balcony!! The shower could fit 4 people & the water pressure was intense.

They also have a nature walk hike through the resort that was fun to hike down to the cliffs to watch the sun set.

The restaurant too was 5 star - by far the best breakfast selection & tastiest food of our 15 day trip in Costa Rica.

I would highly recommend the splurge to stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELANIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
You are too nice! We really appreciate your comments and it sounds like your stay was nothing short of amazing. It sounds like you were able to incorporate a good mix of exploring the wonderful nature surrounding the resort and enjoying some fine dining—what’s a vacation without a little indulgence, right? We hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We came to Costa Rica on our honeymoon and were expecting great things from the exotic locale, but were totally blown away by the Parador. The rooms were very comfortable, with a high quality AC unit, and even our "garden room" had a nice view of the hotel grounds. We enjoy swimming, so the abundance of swimming options was great and the scenery at the hotel was unbelievable. The staff was very helpful and courteous, and breakfast was lovely as well. Getting to and from the hotel is requires cabs as it is up a big hill and down several winding roads, so walking anywhere aside from the little beach down the road isn't much of an option (we recommend going to the beaches at Manuel Antonio rather than the one down the hill from the hotel, it's much nicer and the hotel offers free shuttles). Overall, an excellent experience. When I think of what a relaxing stay at a hotel should, the Parador certainly tops the list!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the most basic of the options but still offer a terrace, AC, and mini fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsm435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
MUCHAS GRACIAS and thanks so much for sharing. We do our best to make sure our guests have a complete 5-star experience, from the accommodations to the food, the pool, the spa, and yes, our staff is a big part of it as well. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel. Service could not have been better. We were met at check in with cool towels and a refreshing drink where they told us we were upgraded to a ocean view suite. The room was wonderful with great views. We saw a variety of birds, monkeys and iguanas on the property. Breakfast was a nice combination of local staples and more traditional American breakfast food. For other meals the main resturant was very expensive and not particularly impressively. We ate there our first night and never returned. Be warned, while the hotel is not far in distance from the main road where most resturants are located the road is very hilly and narrow. Its a tough walk so you will probably want to either have a rental car or plan to take taxis. The hotle does have a shuttle to manuel Antonio that runs several times a day and will stop along the route to drop you off. A great place to stay where the staff is very attentive and most are very fluent in English.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joots1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Pura vida! Thank you for your insightful comments. We always aim to please and are happy to hear that our wonderful staff were friendly and accommodating – as they always are. We hope to see you again soon. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights and had a great time. The customer service was top notch and can't fault it, Eric was especially welcoming in the restaurant. The location is great, its a bit of a walk to other restaurants, but as a young couple if you do it after sunset its not that bad, just bring a torch. My only tiny gripe was the food, it was good but I personally felt it wasn't quite worth the price. However this is pretty much standard for most places. They have a shuttle service which runs to the park so you don't need your own transport. The facilities were great, rooms were to a high standard. The pool bar do great drinks as well. They also have laundry machines to use which was a nice touch. We'd stay there again if we came back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snow1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
So glad to see that you very much enjoyed your stay at our resort and thank you for mentioning Eric in particular—he is truly special to us, as are all our staff! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing