We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very puzzled by RK's review. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
wawona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very puzzled by RK's review. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Don't know the man, but I am staying here on same date. Hotel is lovely and certainly clean...pristine, actually. Also, one can easily drive to the beach in ten minutes on good, paved road. Staff friendly and efficient. Pools are beautiful, and grounds and gardens exceptional.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank casafede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! We always aim to please and are happy to hear that our service was friendly and you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    545
    166
    53
    35
See reviews for
631
1,066
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

over price for a place that was not clean! They told me beach is a short walk but it was 15 minutes walk and it was not all that. it could have been nice place but it was not! as for the food, it was not good at all. I would say from 1-10 2 maybe On more thing if you don't have car you are not going to walk to town because it is about 15 minutes up and down this little road. over all if the place was 1/8 of the price I would go some other place! my girl and I travel 4-5 times a year and I have never been so unhappy!

Room Tip: Not a good place for older people because you need to be in good shape to walk from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear RK: We are quite surprised to be receiving this type of review considering the hundreds of top-notch reviews we have received and that recent guests continue to post. However, as we are continuously looking to improve our service and our facilities, we kindly invite you to contact us directly at info@hotelparador.com so we may bring up a record of your stay, look into who was on staff that day and try to ascertain why you felt your stay was so unpleasant. We look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Neat , all amenities present , wonderful caring staff , have good tour/trip facilities .you can Getty with English most of the time .my only wish is that they would increase their shuttle service to the town/beach. Very good value for money!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gapluching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
MUCHISIMAS GRACIAS!!! Thank you for choosing Parador for your vacation in Manuel Antonio and sharing your experience in this forum. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed all that we have offer and our hospitality as our goal is to create experiences that will last a lifetime. Pura Vida!

We take all reviews here on Tripadvisor seriously and strive every day to consider the content each review and make any necessary changes. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights. What a fantastic place, lovely rooms and facilities, incredible location, stunning views and great service all round.

Met on arrival with drinks and refreshing towels and shown to our room by Franklin, who never seems to stop smiling.

All the staff are delightful and work extremely hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Delicious food and fantastic accommodation make this a treat you will always remember.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are stunning Very efficient air conditioning - you need it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MArk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are so pleased that you received such fantastic service and we certainly hope you will return again. We will pass your comment to Franklin. Thank you again for your kind review. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The hotel and its grounds are lovely and we really had no issue with our stay, but decided if we came back to the area we'd find someplace else. The hotel was very pricey (food and drinks) and just not our "scene" (we decided we prefer more of a local experience). We had the basic garden room overlooking the tennis court. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the a/c worked wonderfully. However, the walls are a bit thin as we heard our neighbors getting it on one night. All we could do was shake our heads and laugh.
A breakfast buffet was included so we took advantage of that every morning. I liked the different options, including eggs, fruit, pastries, yogurt, meats, veggies, etc. Service during breakfast was sometimes sketchy - it was difficult to get a cup of coffee and some water 3 out of our 4 days there.
We only ate at the resort our first night. They have a few different menus and we chose the "tipicales" menu (local food) which was the cheaper option and very tasty. Since we had a rental car we chose to drive into town for our other dinners (can't recommend "La Cantina" enough - the ribs are to die for). We had drinks at the pool which were good, albeit expensive. $10 for a gin & tonic! Happy Hour is every night from 6-7pm and that seemed to be quite popular!
The grounds were lovely and I especially enjoyed exploring the monkey trail. We saw monkeys and 3 sloths (2 with babies) as well as birds and iguanas. One iguana lived outside our building and we named him Jossue.
As others have suggested, I wouldn't recommend walking into town. It's a dark, curvy, narrow, hilly mountain road. If you do, take a headlamp or flashlight.
All in all, it was a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay at the Parador.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the wildlife here on our grounds. It truly is one of the highlights of a stay at Parador! We hope you’ll stop by and say hello on your next visit to Costa Rica! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed with my travel group in the Parador for 2 nights. We had a marvelous experience. The atmosphere is great, the facilities are wonderful, the swimming pools were delightful. The Kitchen and dining room staff were very cooperative.
Everybody in our group had wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviFeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere that we have created here! Pura vida!

Thank you for sharing with others your wonderful experience in this forum.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST ST PAUL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Although it is pricey, this hotel will not disappoint. It is jaw-dropping gorgeous!!! The views from this hotel are outstanding - especially from the infinity pools or your balcony. It is truly a 5 star luxury hotel.

The hotel is decorated with huge European sculptures, fountains & antiques. We had a "regular" room. It was about triple the size of a normal hotel with a jacuzzi inside the room AND one on our balcony!! The shower could fit 4 people & the water pressure was intense.

They also have a nature walk hike through the resort that was fun to hike down to the cliffs to watch the sun set.

The restaurant too was 5 star - by far the best breakfast selection & tastiest food of our 15 day trip in Costa Rica.

I would highly recommend the splurge to stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MELANIE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
You are too nice! We really appreciate your comments and it sounds like your stay was nothing short of amazing. It sounds like you were able to incorporate a good mix of exploring the wonderful nature surrounding the resort and enjoying some fine dining—what’s a vacation without a little indulgence, right? We hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing