We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
Onalaska, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Although this is a rather large resort, it still has a lovely feel and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Our room was on the corner of the top floor of one of the buildings and so we had a wrap around view of the ocean, mountains, cliffs, etc. Just gorgeous! And we saw SO many birds from our balcony, in addition to being at eye level with the howler monkeys! The resort was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious and there were several swimming pools so none seemed to get too crowded. We walked down to the beach, which took about 10 minutes, and it was located in a quiet, beautiful cove. Perfect for swimming and bird-watching. I should say that the water in the pools and at the beach was incredibly warm. It was really like taking a bath, so not very refreshing on a hot day, but still beautiful! I was ill one day (something I ate, but NOT at the hotel) and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful to me and my husband. They had a lovely female doctor and male paramedic sent to our room and they cared for me for an hour (IV fluids and medications). The hotel also arranged to have my prescriptions filled and delivered to our room quickly. And the next day, when I ventured downstairs, many different staff members inquired as to my health. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Since the hotel is built on the sides of hills, I think many rooms would have a nice view. We loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Susan,

Greetings from Parador! Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in this forum. We were delighted to have you as a guest and, most importantly, that you healed quickly so you could enjoy the natural beauty, exotic wildlife and amenities that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    545
    166
    53
    35
See reviews for
631
1,066
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our expert travel agent from Costa Rica Expeditions brought us to our last stop In Costa Rica on the Pacific coastline. Our room overlooked the Pacific, if we looked past the two Guarumo trees, which often had White-throated Capuchins, Spider Monkeys, fiery-billed Aracaris and Green Iguanas. The trails located on the property can bring you down to the beach but the night tour of the ponds and frogs were spectacular. It is located a few minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park which is a fabulous experience. The guide from the hotel was in love with the park and we got to experience it like a native. He located and named all the animals we hoped to see.
The dining experience was better than average in a lovely setting. The pools were fabulous including 2 secluded adult pools that were perfect for us. The spa and hot tub was an added pleasure. It embodies the spirit of Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms (410) have a small "lift" that takes you up to your room with a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Ah, what can we say? It's always a thrill to read when our guests truly immerse themselves in the experiences our resort—and our beautiful country—have to offer. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our little corner of Paradise. Pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at The Parador for 3 nights at the end of a tour of Costa Rica. The hotel is in a lovely location but you have to drive or get a taxi to local restaurants. The hotel has restaurants but they are expensive, cheapest wine being $36 a bottle. Food was often disappointing in quality, although the Happy Hour from 6-7 was good as were the bar snacks. On a couple of days they closed a number of facilities eg swimming pool and restaurant, due to private wedding events which we think is unacceptable. On a positive side, everywhere was very clean, nice rooms and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind comments, especially about the service! Our personnel really strives to make everyone feel at home. Regarding the closures for the weddings, brides many times prefer to have their events in private for their family and friends, and since our hotel has so many lovely areas and pools we feel our guests would not be too inconvenienced by allowing the couple to enjoy their dream wedding events for a few hours at a time. We appreciate your patience and and look forward to seeing you again at Parador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Parador is simply a beautful hotel on beautiful grounds. The staff is outstanding in all areas. Special kudos to Beatriz and Marianella for making sure things worked out for us and arranging transportation to and from San Jose Airport. My wife and I loved our 5th floor suite with an INCREDIBLE view from our balcony (which had one of our 2 hot tubs). The Monkey Walk was so cool. Food at the small restaurant next to a pool was so good. Main restaurant was ok. Near best beaches and National park. Mary's rental was great at public beach. Took mangrove tour thru hotel. Was awesome. A monkey jumped on and off our boat. Try Vacation Buggy excursions. Loved them. Don & Luis are great. Had near perfect vacation here. Land and beaches are incredibly beautiful. All the locals were friendly and helpful. Dont miss this.

Room Tip: Suites are pricey but worth it. Higher rooms have amazing views from balcony. Some rooms require a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank learlybird2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Parador! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite, resort amenities, mangrove tour, and most importantly, the essence of Costa Rica. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for your comments about Beatriz and Marianella. We'll share with them! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We switched to this hotel mid-trip from an awful condo in Quepos, and wow were we not disappointed! The staff is super-friendly, the food is excellent (tons of vegetarian options), and the pools are just heaven (though they're missing a hot tub, which is slightly annoying).

There are iguanas and monkeys around the hotel and there's always something to do, whether it's hiking the hotel's monkey trail or indulging in a massage at their fabulous spa.

Only minor gripe is that the ground floor rooms need a bit of an update. The floor tile was a bit cracked and the bathroom was meh. The hotel grounds definitely made up for that though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Pura vida, amigos! Thanks for your kind review. The great outdoors is truly our biggest attraction—though we strive to ensure our service is a close second. Thanks for letting us now about the room concerns—we will look into it, as we're planning on doing some refurbishing of our ground floor rooms in the near future. And just FYI, if you book a room in the Vista Suites next time, you get a private Jacuzzi in your balcony!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a Vista suite, and were able to spend a good two hours every morning, bird-spotting from our balcony. The hotel plays host to a great many species of birds and butterflies, as well as lizards, and mammals - we saw raccoons, monkeys and even a kinkajou! The hotel makes great efforts to be eco-friendly. The service is very helpful and friendly; any concerns we had were immediately addressed. There were a good choice of different pool and bar areas. The coffee supplied in the room was lovely, and I very much enjoyed the breakfast pancakes with maple syrup!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Breakfast pancakes happen to be one of our cook, Marjorie's specialties, we'll let her know you enjoyed them! One of our main goals is to be a safe place for all kinds of wildlife to roam and live freely, so we're happy you were able to see how our commitment to nature has paid off. Another goal? To have our guests be happy with our service, and we're grateful to know we did our job. Thank you and pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acampo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We had a perfect time. Everything is wonderful. Rooms are great. Pools are great. Spa is great. Food is great. High end luxury resort. Capuchin monkeys came right past our room. We just had great time. We will be back!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PoulG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
"We had a perfect time" sounds like music to our ears! (And it looks like our capuchins put on a good show, too!) We'll be happy to welcome you back anytime, amigos, and we'll be sure to let the monkeys know you're coming! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing