We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed just one night for a family of 6 - the vista view suite, and the garden view. It was really wonderful for a vacation where you want to spend a lot of time at the resort. Both rooms were very nice but the suite with the jacuzzi on the balcony was an amazing special treat and we enjoyed every second of it. For a nice hotel, we found the room service quite reasonable and most of the drinks and food at the pool was reasonable as well. The free breakfast was excellent and varied. We enjoyed the monkey trail (we saw a monkey at the pool but not on the trail) and meant to use the mini golf but didn't quite get to it. The family pool was amazing -the service at the swim up bar was great, there was plenty of shaded table space for lunch, and of course the views were to die for. The kids had a great time as there were young kids and middle school aged children to play with. I'm not sure this is the place to stay if you want a lot of time at the beach or for activities, but to have a resort experience this was really a wonderful addition as part of the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momofzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Parador for your stay in Manuel Antonio. We are delighted to hear about your experience during your stay as it truly emphasizes the essence of Parador - from the views, and amenities, to the service and amazing fauna and flora surrounding our resort. We hope to welcome you back it the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We would probably go back to this resort. It was very nice, and it is perched in the prime location on the tip of a small 'peninsula', affording many views of the pacific.

The Spa was nice - the best hot stone massage I've ever had!

The grounds were beautiful, and home to many animals. We saw several monkeys, a sloth, several iguanas, and a porcupine on the grounds. :)

The food was very good. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and desert - a wide range of choices. The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and attentive.

Our favorite was the casual, El Quijote. It was as if no one knew the restaurant was there. We had the pool table and large screen TV to ourselves while we enjoyed chips and guacamole, sushi, and drinks.

We traveled on a Living Social deal that included breakfast daily. The breakfast buffet was more than sufficient: fruits, yogurts, granola, omelets, pancakes or waffles, sausages, and other hot foods, and tons of breads and pastries. :)

My only complaint would be, there was no compiled activity schedule (to show when yoga, kids events, etc where being held). We asked several of the front desk personnel, but they did not know. So, with regard to kids activities, we were at the mercy of waiting until a note showed up in our room with info on the impromptu children's event for the evening. It was still very nice they even held events (such as kids movie night). :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for choosing Parador for your stay in Manuel Antonio. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our beloved resort including the stone massage! Thank you also for your feedback regarding the activities as it helps us improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spent a weekend at this beautiful resort last week and would not hesitate to go back.

* Spectacular views from any part of the resort
* Rooms are spacious.....nothing extraordinary, but clean
* Balconies and windows with great views
* Décor was beautiful
* Staff were friendly and very accommodating
* Glad that the only smoking area was outside in the parking lot. No smoking allowed anywhere else on the property
* Only pool bar was at the family pool........not at the adult pools which I found a bit odd
* LOVED the monkeys on the Mango trees!!! CUTE!!!
* If you love the beach......you will have to ask the hotel to drop you off at the entrance of a wooded walking trail and hike down to the beach. Due to the location of the hotel on a cliff.....you will not be able to easily walk to the beach.
* We did go to Manuel Antonio National Park and walked the trail to the private beach. It was beautiful!!
* I would not hesitate going back again, and plan to do so for family vacation rather than the end of a business trip
* SPA was great as well. It is not air conditioned, so it can get hot, but due to height of the hotel, there is usually a breeze.
* Very curvy / narrow roads heading into hotel.........if you are driving, please be safe!!!!

Room Tip: I was in room 407. There are also Suites / Penthouses in a newer part of the hotel...... I did go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Cristina,

Thank so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio. So pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed all that Parador has to offer - from the service, amenities, spectacular views to the nature tours and amazing wildlife that surround us. Monkeys could not wait for the mango season to start in April!! Thank you again for sharing your experience in this forum and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A great place to stay if you want a more sophisticated Costa Rica experience. Fantastically well maintained with a pleasant ambiance and very friendly staff. Service in line with any large international hotel and dealt with the busier periods well. Food was good and nicely varied and had good veggie options for the non meat eaters in the family. Even though we normally enjoy smaller more rustic hotels we were sad to leave this place, especially after the kids discovered surfing down on the main public beach in town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tommy2ties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Tommy,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and all that amenities that we have to offer in our tropical jungle paradise. We hope to welcome you back for some surfing at the beach! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Absolutely the best service we have ever received at any hotel anywhere! Lenin at the beach was so sweet, snorkling was awesome, Gentleman who hosted the night frog tour was fantastic...and the tour of Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park! What an amazing time. We will cherish our stay there forever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Katy,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon and most importantly, that the overall experience - from the service and amenities to the fun adventure tours and beautiful nature that surround us - will be cherished forever! We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience once again 'Pura vida'. Wishing you a lifetime of happiness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Rooms, restaurants, pools, common areas are beautiful and well maintained. Shuttle service to/from downtown and the National Park and beaches. Friendly, helpful staff. Great food and buffet. Rooms are updated, clean and cool.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably first rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymmie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Kymmie,

Thank you very much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our resort and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We found deal on Livingsocial. I was nervous to make the purchase but after reading reviews and seeing others have done the same I felt comfortable with it. It gave us an option to get a suite along with a National Park tour, $50 spa credit, and complimentary internet.

The biggest issue with this process was securing the reservation. We called ahead to see if there was availability before booking flights. Once this was completed I attempted to make the reservation as listed on the voucher but only the reservation team could book it and it had to be done via email with an attachment of the voucher. They would not accept screen shots from the website nor a voucher number. There seem to be some small language barriers while speaking via email. I mentioned it was our anniversary and no one even said congrats to us. I expect more from a property like this.

The agent assisted us in securing ground transportation from the airport. Upon our arrival we were welcomed with drink and lemon scent cool wet cloths. Our room wasn't ready so we walked around the resort to become familiar with the amenities. Before we finished a bellman found us around the grounds with our luggage and transported us via golf cart to the suites building. The room was very open. There is no door separator for the bathroom with the exception of the toilet. Our balcony had a view of the ocean, overlooked the suite's pool and had a hot tub outdoors.

On tripadvisor I did see a review with a photo of the door to a guestroom and that the space was large enough to allow bugs to enter, after all it is the rainforest. My intention was to put down towels every night which we did. However, the first night a lizard got in before we were able to put the towels down. I was not happy with spending my first night at the property with an additional guest in the room. After that night we didn't have any more problems since the towels were put down early enough.

We had planned to go to our tour to the National Park our first morning since they have continuous shuttles going back and forth but were informed that we had just missed the guided tour pickup for the Park and suggested that we go to the onsite operator to schedule it. The only problem with this is that we were never informed of this at check-in. After we confirmed that tour along with a horseback riding excursion we hiked down to the beach. We didn't stay long due to a upcoming storm but the hike back up was no joke for me especially in the 90 plus degree weather.

For the first couple of days we eat all of our meals on property. Daily breakfast was included and it wasn't spectacular been definitely did the job. All of the food was very good but costly. The second part of our trip we decided to venture off the property to restaurants that were either recommended by one of our tour guides or that we found on tripadvisor.

The service was pretty good. I have extremely high standards since I work with luxury properties in the US. Just note that the Costa Rican saying "Pura Vida" holds true to their service. It is good but not as quick as what some Americans have been accustomed. Also one day we were in the room when housekeeping came by and they did not replace our used glasses but simply rinsed them out and rubbed the rim of the glass with their hands.

The only things that I would consider changing would be to rent a car. It got expensive the last couple of days eating off property for lunch and dinner. The area is easy to get around once you have seen it for a day or so. Also my husband wanted to visit a volcano and we were too far away to do this. There is a beach near the National Park that was easier to get to than the one closest to the hotel.

Despite the last paragraph I would definitely go back to this area and hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the suites building, it's worth the difference in price for the view, amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAPeach-SouthernBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with our service and enjoyed all that we have to offer in our tropical rainforest paradise. We're sorry for the oversight of not acknowledging your anniversary as this is one aspect of the customer experience that we prioritize for our guests. On behalf of the Parador team, we wish you a belated Happy Anniversary! And hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £184 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing