We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upscale hotel without being too stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great trip here May 25-27, 2014. Perfect location minutes from Manuel Antonio park. Hotel had a great free breakfast and we were able to set up a worthwhile tour for the park. The pictures you can get from a guide's spotting scope ( with an iPhone or regular camera) is worth the cost of the guide in itself. The beaches in May were very quiet along with the rest of Costa Rica. Perfect time to go if you can.

Room Tip: In the slow season you can probably get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

You're so right: sometimes slow season is the best season! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to take home some amazing pictures of our wildlife and some great memories as well. Pura vida, amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely breathtaking! I saw pictures before the trip but when we arrived we were immediately in love. Even the cab drivers said it's the best place to stay and top of the line... We were so excited we picked such an awesome hotel. Every single employee is happy and so nice! They all spoke really good English too! We had such a great time, we hung out with the monkeys one afternoon too!! The pool is to die for. I can't even count how many pictures I took of the view!! So breathtaking. The staff is also helpful and fast. Anything we needed or asked for, they could help us immediately. Not a moment went by that we wished we couldn't stay longer. Top of the line....seriously! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location, could get a cab and be anywhere in no time too! Within walking distance of the beach :) 110% stay here if you are in the area

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

It really means so much to us to read your kind words: our staff works very hard and it's great to hear their efforts have paid off. We're so happy you had a wonderful stay and would 110% love to welcome you back again :) Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived after a very long bus ride to be greeted with non-alcoholic sangria and fresh cool towels. The views are breath taking from all areas of the hotel property. The breakfast buffet had a huge assortment of local cuisine and very fresh and clean with great outdoor eating area with views. The private beach was a nice walk and very beautiful. There needed to be a sign posted at entrance, The infinity pools are of varied temperatures and clean with amazing views. We watched lightning streak across the skies from the pool. Scary but thrilling. The monkey trail was nice,but we didn't see any monkeys. :(. The shuttle bus to/from the hotel was flexible. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Vandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We'll have a serious talk with the monkeys - they really need to show up to work :) Thanks for the tip about the sign for the beach, we'll definitely look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of our pura vida! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at a different hotel in Manuel Antonio which turned out to be a mistake for our family (note: loud late-night parties at Mango Moon). We packed up our kids and went to the Parador and it was one of the best decisions we've ever made! We were greeted with wet towels to clean our hands and fresh beverages. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are all so friendly and accommodating. I don't think I've ever met nicer hotel staff. They really make you feel welcome! The pool is large and looks onto the ocean. There is also mini-golf and tennis on the grounds. The grounds are incredibly beautiful. We saw several animals while staying there: monkeys, a sloth, iguanas, a black vulture and a toucan. The hotel is not really within walking distance of many of the excellent restaurants in the area but they provide a free shuttle that will take you to Manuel Antonio or drop you off at one of the restaurants on the way. The shuttle driver even stopped to show us howler monkeys! I wish we'd had a few more days to stay there. I highly recommend this hotel. We can hardly wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tableau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio and for sharing your experience in this forum. We're so happy to hear that you and your family truly enjoyed your stay and the amenities and services, including the amazing wildlife that surrounds our resort. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We just got back from an 8 night stay in Costa Rica, 5 nights at Hotel Parador and we were amazed at this hotel! We stayed in a Vista Suite which was well worth what we paid for it. The room was beautiful and the view we had was even better. We enjoyed all of the pools here & loved the swim up bar! Breakfast was pretty good and the view we had every morning during breakfast made it better. We also went to La Fragata for lunch and a few drinks one afternoon which was very good with an excellent view.
I knew this was going to be a great place to stay about a month before our trip when I was working with them to help plan my boyfriends birthday which was during our stay. I ended up making reservations in one of the private dining rooms-the wine cellar. Dinner was very good and the room is just beautiful, I would highly recommend reserving this room for a romantic dinner. They also made a very good cake! Our waitress was excellent and we enjoyed speaking with her and learning a lot more about Costa Rica. We were even more surprised when we got back to the room to find balloons and birthday wishes.
We booked a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park, ATV tour and a zip-lining tour all through the tour desk next to the pool. It was very convenient to be able to book all of these together and we would highly recommend the ATV & zip-lining tour!
This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service. We plan on going back and we are also thinking about getting married here because we fell in love with Manuel Antonio and Hotel Parador.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in the suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Katie,

We are so happy to hear about your experience in Parador and that you fully enjoyed every day of your stay. Relaxation, happiness, romance, wildlife and adventure - are the ingredients for a memorable vacation! It would be an honor to be part of your Big Day! And Silvia, our wedding coordinator, will be ready to make your dream destination wedding an unforgettable experience that you will cherish for a lifetime. We hope to welcome you again for your BIG DAY celebration! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Parador for 1 week. It is a beautiful hotel in a extremely beautiful location. Rooms are fantastic. We had a few little problems with our room BUT were moved to another room. It was unbelievable what a extravagant room they moved us to in order to compensate for the inconvenience. Silvia the manager at the Parador was absolutely fantastic in understanding our little problem and went way beyond to ensure that our vacation was not going to be interrupted and we could continue to enjoy ourselves. She was simply AWESOME !!!. We travel a lot but have never been treated as well as Sylvia and her staff treated us.

Brent and Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Brent,

We are so happy to hear about your experience in Parador! Thank you for your kind words about Silvia - we've shared with her and truly brought a huge smile in her face! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The second day of a four day stay here, I got pretty sick with a gastro-intestinal bug. We ate only at the hotel and I was careful to drink only bottled water, but still got ill. I called the front desk on a Sunday and asked about getting a doctor to see me. Within an hour I had a doctor and paramedic in my room giving me IV fluids and medication. The hotel sent a messenger to the pharmacy to get the prescriptions the doctor prescribed. Our trip could have been easily ruined, but within 12 hours I was much improved. Service like that is very unusual and I was (and still am) grateful for their kindness and help. We had a Vista Suite in the Suites Building and it had a fabulous view of the Pacific. We had lunch several times in La Fragata restaurant which is in the Suites Building which provided good food at a fair price, a lovely view, and cool breezes on really hot days. We ate in the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner and the food was good, but nothing memorable. We enjoyed spa services while on site and the masseuses were well-trained and we came away relaxed. The pools are lovely and we were glad to use the adults-only pools when the main pool was taken over by small children. My husband took a tour of Manuel Antonio park with Elias (one of the guides available through the hotel) and said it was great and he's got the pictures to prove it. We routinely saw a variety of monkeys, including some capuchin monkeys who delighted in tossing ripe mangoes out of the trees onto tourists below. I would definitely return to this property and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in this forum. We were so happy to hear that you recovered quickly and were able to truly enjoy the Parador experience - from the amenities and views to the food and amazing wildlife. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
0.9 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £179 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing