We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb hotel with a magnificent view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parador
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb hotel with a magnificent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

i'll keep it short - if you can afford this hotel, it is worth EVERY PENNY; the staff, the views, the pools...all superb. If i were to be overtly critical, i could say that the food is slightly above average but not excellent and in our room, you could hear someone walking (with high heels) outside in the hallway.

Room Tip: IMPORTANT TO NOTE - this hotel is NOT beach front but does have a semi-private beach about 10 mins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lescalanteX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio. We are very happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed the service and amenities. Thank you for sharing your comments in this forum. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    545
    166
    53
    35
See reviews for
632
1,068
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I would just like to say I wasn’t sure what to expect since we had not been to Costa Rica before, but the staff here was absolutely the best of ANY resort/Hotel I have ever stayed at. There was not one person we came across that was not very courteous and helpful. The whole resort was kept so clean and pristine we hated to leave, my daughter even said she wanted to move there, but only if she could live there at the resort. I would say that going into town was a bit scary but if you go in a group it is fine. We ate at the resort mostly and the food was great but I do wish there was more or a Latin selection from their menu. Would definitely go again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suites, it is a bit of a walk from the MAIN areas, but wonderful rooms and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Vickie,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed the amenities, the views, and most importantly, the service! We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future! Thank you sharing your comments in this forum. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. Couple and two children (13.5, 10). Our room, number 318, was close to the main building, right next to the magnificent pool, bar and restaurant where breakfast is served. Our room had two beds, a bathroom and toilet (together) and balcony overlooking the garden and the sea (side view). Great hotel staff, courteous and friendly. I can mention karina who received us with a smile available to us with a smile every day and Eric who helped us in breakfast with a smile and courteous service every morning . Good hotel , gym overlooking the woods, so if you have decided to exercise a little enjoy a look at the beautiful birds. Very good breakfast (lots of fruit). Conclusion, excellent location close to Manuel Antonio Park, clean, great view, close to lovely beach which you can reach by foot (10 minutes). Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanessa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Ms. Vanessa thank you so much for your kind review! We're so glad to hear you and your family really enjoyed your stay. We'll let Karina and Eric know you mentioned them :) Thanks again and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

i was very pleased with this hotel. The rooms and beds were very nice. Great pool areas with wonderful sunsets. They have a very good breakfast buffet and other meals were also very good.
The location is very close to Manual Antonio National Park, one of the top parks in the country, very popular.
The only issue (a minor one) was that they have some cosmetic issues. For example, a lot of small tiles were missing in at least on of the pools.
A big plus is the chance to view a lot of wildlife from the hotel, such as, Howler Monkeys, Toucans and other birds.

Room Tip: They have a wide variety of room type. Be sure to check all options before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph32707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ralph,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, food and the amazing wildlife surrounding the resort! We also appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our product to continue providing a superior experience to our guests. We hope to welcome you again the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location is 5 star and the room we had was maybe 3 stars, very old and outdated. If you don't mind a so so room then this place is amazing. Up on a hill overlooking the ocean, the hotel grounds are amazing and when we were at the pool monkeys came and hung out with us for a drink. The lobby is cool, like a game of thrones style hotel. The walking trail on the hotel grounds was also very cool.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Those monkeys just love to come out and play, don't they? They are very curious little beings and like the attention. We're glad you were able to enjoy them and take home some great memories. Please know we take all comments very seriously and will look into your reviews regarding the room, as we strive to always better our facilities. Looking forward to your return to paradise! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great trip here May 25-27, 2014. Perfect location minutes from Manuel Antonio park. Hotel had a great free breakfast and we were able to set up a worthwhile tour for the park. The pictures you can get from a guide's spotting scope ( with an iPhone or regular camera) is worth the cost of the guide in itself. The beaches in May were very quiet along with the rest of Costa Rica. Perfect time to go if you can.

Room Tip: In the slow season you can probably get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
You're so right: sometimes slow season is the best season! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to take home some amazing pictures of our wildlife and some great memories as well. Pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely breathtaking! I saw pictures before the trip but when we arrived we were immediately in love. Even the cab drivers said it's the best place to stay and top of the line... We were so excited we picked such an awesome hotel. Every single employee is happy and so nice! They all spoke really good English too! We had such a great time, we hung out with the monkeys one afternoon too!! The pool is to die for. I can't even count how many pictures I took of the view!! So breathtaking. The staff is also helpful and fast. Anything we needed or asked for, they could help us immediately. Not a moment went by that we wished we couldn't stay longer. Top of the line....seriously! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location, could get a cab and be anywhere in no time too! Within walking distance of the beach :) 110% stay here if you are in the area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Parador, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It really means so much to us to read your kind words: our staff works very hard and it's great to hear their efforts have paid off. We're so happy you had a wonderful stay and would 110% love to welcome you back again :) Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador

Property: Hotel Parador
Address: | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parador 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Hotel Parador Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing