We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, and we had the absolute pleasure of staying for a week at the Hotel Parador. In short, it was a phenomenal trip. We were pampered all week by the incredibly courteous staff, who all seemed to know us by name, and were beyond helpful when recommending excursions, restaurants, etc. Several times we were even asked about the specific day trips we took, which blew me away considering the size of the hotel and the high volume of guests staying there. It just made us both feel comfortable with the staff from day 1.

The hotel offers several locations for eating, all of them very good, and several swimming pools to waste the day around, a couple of them reserved for adults (yesssss!). There is even a nature trail within the hotel's grounds, where you are treated to some amazing ocean views, as well as some great wildlife.

If you opt to venture outside the resort, you'll be happy to know that there is a small beach only a few minutes away, and the Manuel Antonio national park is just a short drive from there. In fact, the national park was probably the highlight of our trip, thanks in large part to our guide, Elias, who actually works at the hotel.

I feel like it would take hours (and pages) to truly do this place justice, but in a nutshell, if you're looking for an amazing place to both relax and enjoy landscapes and wildlife that are absolutely breathtaking, Parador is your destination. I recommend getting a passion fruit daiquiri and an order of Ceviche as soon as you get settled. Give this place a try, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suites at the top of the mountain, which was great because they offer a private (ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Troy! We're so glad you and your lovely wife Meredith chose to spend your honeymoon with us. We love romance and it was a pleasure making your stay extra special. We wish you much joy in your new life and look forward to an anniversary visit :) Pura vida, amigos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our three day stay was a wonderful way to end or trip to Costa rica. The hotel is simply beautiful with a fantastic breakfast and an ocean view. Of course our favorite event was seeing the monkeys on the hotel grounds, by the adult pool. Parador is not just an upscale resort. It is decorated with statues and art that transform you to another place and time. The room, an ocean view was spacious with a nice balcony.

Room Tip: Off season deals are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Der Ken,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed the resort' amenities, food and the amazing wildlife that surrounds the resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When comparing hotels in Costa Rica for our honeymoon I came across Hotel Parador. It was slightly off the beaten path, not an all inclusive and located on a preserve in Manuel Antonio. I read reviews and decided that this seemed like a great place. Of course, it is hard to judge a hotel from several countries away based only on photos and descriptions.

A week before my reservation I was contacted by the hotel staff to check in with us that all my plans were going well for Costa Rica. I also mentioned that it was my honeymoon. Upon arrival the front desk agent upgraded us 2 room categories to an ocean view suite telling us to enjoy our honeymoon.

The property is fantastic. It has a colonial type feel. It is built right into the mountain, integrating the natural elements into the hotel. The staff everywhere are top notch, attentive and very professional. Over 5 days we had only wonderful interactions. While at the hotel we did some of the excursions offered through the hotel, including a day on the catamaran. Again, all of our needs were taken care of and we were treated to a truly enjoyable experience.

The breakfast buffet was amazing and more plentiful/ varied than I or my wife was expecting. What a treat. We also took advantage of the property, hiking through the forest, observing monkeys and toucans, we went to the local beach (secluded) and enjoyed the various pools including the adults only pool.

We both highly recommend Hotel Parador and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TitoHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your honeymoon in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed the amenities, nature tours, food, personalized service and the amazing wildlife that surrounds our resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you for your anniversary! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Hard to maneuver your way there, but once you get there, its awesome. Great pool bar! Beautiful views, nice wait staff. The people who check you in are not as helpful as they should be, but you only deal with them twice (checking in and checking out). Worth the visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grazer-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Parador for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are very happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed the amenities and our personalized service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This resort is absolutely amazing. We were greeted upon arrival by a staff member who handed each of us a cold towel, then upon entering the lobby (after our bags were taken to be delivered to our room), we were served cold drinks. The pools were great, with one even offering an in-pool bar, and with a great view of the ocean. The number of things to see and do at the resort was far greater than I had time for, but they looked very inviting. Nearly everywhere one could find a lounge to sit in and view the beautiful wildlife all around (as well as the beautiful architecture), which included an elevator that moved diagonally up and down a steep hill. Of course, even the base-level room I had was fully accommodated, with a mini fridge, balcony, large and comfortable beds, flat-screen tv, and more, however one thing that was strangely absent from the room was a clock. The bathroom was perfect, of course. The resort is so eco-friendly that we actually encountered animals on the walkways (which I found incredible, though others did not). I thoroughly enjoyed the most varied and abundant breakfast buffet I have ever seen at a hotel. The staff was absolutely and unwaveringly accommodating, and the entire resort was full of beautiful details. If you want to make a memorable trip, stay here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thatguywhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear about your experience and that you enjoyed all that Parador has to offer, from the personalized service, amenities, to the food and amazing wildlife that surrounds our beautiful resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we arrived last Tuesday for a wk of relaxation. Little did we know we were in for a treat. I booked Premium and was automatically upgraded to P Plus. Checking in was a breeze, the view from our room was something one would want to wake up to for the rest of your life. 2nd day, we were out all day & had issue with the AC when we came back. Karina and a staff came in to check what was wrong, pronto. While they were working in the rm we decided to go for a swim in the adult pool. Shortly after, Karina came and we were told that we'll be upgraded to Vista Suite for our trouble & we didn't even make a big deal of it. Now that is a novelty to us since we travel a lot. You heard this before, if you can afford a suite, pls do so, you won't regret it. The staff were courteous and efficient. The food is good. The property looked after. The view is amazing. We were booked for Manuel Antonio NP Tour but it was raining that day so we asked if we could postpone for the following day, no problem. Hats off to you all! We'll be back for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 126bethk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are so happy to hear about your experience and that you truly enjoyed your holiday, the amenities and our personalized service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed one night at a hotel up the street (which was horrible) and quickly checked into Hotel Parador. From the moment that we arrived the staff at Parador did everything possible to make us feel special on our honeymoon. They even called us twice after arriving to ensure that the room was to our liking. The pool and the views were absolutely amazing. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful! We would definitely recommend this hotel for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blandis19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read your review and to know that you were able to truly enjoy your honeymoon in Parador! Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this forum. We hope to welcome you back for your anniversary. Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £191 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing