We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but not for solo travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel but not for solo travellers”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My room was very pleasant and the hotel itself was beautiful. All meals were excellent with themed nights from the restaurants. facilities great except considering the size of the hotel one would have expected a larger pool.
Arrival/ check in was slow and they insisted on taking a photocopy of your passport and couldn't explain why they did it.
The beach is a bit of a trek down the main road and then through the woods. They do however offer transport to and from the hotel to the wooded area. What a climb back up though- not for the feint hearted.
Took my meals in the room at night as i felt uncomfortable on my own in the restaurant which i have never before felt in a restaurant. Not a lot to do in the evenings for a solo traveller.
Average shop on site and the gift shop was extremely expensive.
Nice walks arond the grounds of the hotel with wildlife and birds aplenty.

Room Tip: Great if not travelling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Joanne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review—we appreciate every comment as we are constantly striving to better our product. Our hotel does get rather quiet in the evenings, the excitement usually comes from our "Mysteries of the Night Tour," which we hope you had a chance to enjoy. We hope you had a pleasant trip back to England and were able to take home some nice memories of our country. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    572
    178
    55
    35
See reviews for
670
1,110
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel was our last accommodation for our tour group. What a beautiful hotel! Our tour operator really saved the best for the final leg of our tour. It's very classy with a touch of old world charm. We booked two adjoining rooms. One would have been enough for our family of four because the room is spacious with two queen size beds- very comfortable with fresh, crisp sheets and beddings. Bathroom is big and very clean. There's a balcony overlooking the garden. They also have premium suites with ocean view. Food served at the buffet is very good with nice variety. Having breakfast in the open veranda overlooking the ocean and the lush scenery around is such a treat. They have wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful. The hotel has two beautiful swimming pool that look almost like an infinity pool with the ocean as the background. Location is good, short drive to the park. It's a good base to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prescy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy you felt your tour operator "saved the best for last" and you could take home some extra special memories of our lovely country. We hope to see you again soon! ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We finished our honeymoon in this hotel so had a few nights to relax before heading home. Great hotel with lovely rooms, staff and facilities. We booked tours when we arrived and the staff were informative and friendly.
Overall we would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing us to end your stay in Costa Rica—it's always a pleasure to have honeymooners in our hotel. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we wish you the very best on your new adventures together as a couple. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall, we had a great stay at the Parador for the second part of our family vacation and I would recommend the property to others.

Arrival / check-in
Arrived after the long drive from Arenal. Was already excited to see monkeys on the road on the way up to the hotel! We were greeted by a cold drink and an ice cream sandwich for my little one – nice touch! Check-in was a breeze and they whisked us into a cart for the drive to our room. Along the way they showed us the various amenities of the property.

Room 3511
We were lucky enough to have a suite and it was beautiful. The room was very well appointed and very spacious. Our balcony provided an amazing view as well as a hot tub. One odd thing about the room was that the air conditioner (condenser part I guess) was right over where the sofa folded out. We used the sofa bed for my daughter so on the edge of the bed it was always a little wet. No big deal, but an odd design “feature.”

Grounds
The pools are lovely; however we did not try two of them since they were adults only. We spent a lot of time in the family pool – one side cool and one side warm. We also did the small mini golf course. On the last day we walked the trail around the hotel. It provided very nice views of the water. I didn’t see any animals on property, but my daughter did see a monkey run across the pool area one night.

Food
We did not have a car so we basically just had our meals on property. The breakfast buffet was very good and included a number of great items. The other meals were just ok. The food was mediocre and the service was slow and a bit aloof at times. I didn’t come to Costa Rica for great food so this didn’t disappoint me too much. One night there was a wedding in progress so they had the more casual restaurant closed for the reception. We didn’t feel like anything fancy so they accommodated us by letting us order off the casual menu on the patio of the nicer restaurant.

Other
Manuel Antonio ( see separate review) – we took a tour with a guide and would highly recommend it. He spotted so many animals.
Internet was spotty so plan accordingly if that’s going to be a problem for you.
You are a bit isolated at this hotel so if you don’t have a car, plan on paying for taxis.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, go for it. you will be in a separate building that is quieter and provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendersongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We very much appreciate detailed reviews like yours, because it not only helps future guests to visualize their stay with us, but it also helps us to pinpoint where we can improve our service. Thanks for including the tip about a guide: they are trained to spot even the best-camouflaged animals you might otherwise walk right past. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and our adult son traveled to Hotel Parador in May 2014 and had an amazing time!

Room: We stayed in one of the vista suites that overlooked the suite pool, a good part of the property and the coastline. My son stayed in a premium plus room that had a great corner location and amazing views of wildlife in and among the trees.

Property: Fantastic property! Whether you just want to relax by a pool, or walk the grounds to take in the sites, Parador has it all. Howler, White-faced Capuchin and Squirrel monkeys were regular visitors to the property. Two- and Three-toed sloths were also sited several times.The birds were also amazing. The town of Manuel Antonio is a convenient location to visit other sites like the Manuel Antonio and Carrara national parks. I highly recommend the nite walk on the property...lots of cool sightings.

Food: Very good...it was the off-season when we were there, so some of the restaurants were operating on limited schedules. There are dining options and grocers off site if you choose, but plenty of variety on the menus on-site as well.

Staff: I feel the staff either make or break these types of vacations, and the professionals at Parador are among the best! From those at the front desk, to the wait staff in the restaurants, to the housekeeping and grounds crew, we were treated like royalty. Everyone was so warm and welcoming. I feel awful because I had written down all their names and since lost my notes.

Misc.: The drive from San Jose was fine. I understand the road used to be much more difficult to drive, but we found most of it rather well maintained and we experienced no problems with signage, etc. If you're reluctant, consider it part of the adventure. I found getting a car to be a good choice as it gave us the flexibility to get up and go anytime and anywhere we wanted. On the flip side, there is plenty to do there on the property, and if you want to venture off site they offer a number of excursions.

I can't say enough about Hotel Parador....beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff....strongly recommended!!! I thoroughly research vacation spots, and I read a number of the reviews. There will always be reviewers who choose to complain rather than find the good in the adventure. My last comment is somewhat of a testament to how wonderful the visit was. My wife is rather particular about vacations. My son and I like to go on adventures, and my wife likes to stay around the pool. I will surely hear about her disappointment if things aren't up to her standards. Well, I'm happy to report that she was glowing about Parador and the experience.

Hotel Parador won't disappoint!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your vacation in Manuel Antonio. We are thrilled to hear about your family's Parador experience including the amazing wildlife that surrounds the resort and are grateful for your kind comments about our staff, service, food, nature tours and amenities. Thank you for sharing our experience in this forum and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When asking something of the service personnel, the standard response was, 'It is my pleasure.' Over dinner, our last night here, my husband said, 'It is dangerous being so pampered.' Will any other resort live up to Hotel Parador? This establishment has raised the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We have to repeat your words and say "it truly was our pleasure" to have you stay with us and pamper you. Please come visit again soon so you can enjoy more of Costa Rica and Parador's pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Unless you are with family, not a place for single people as they cater to families with children.

If you are trying to stay in one of their economical rooms which can run for about $200 a night, you'll be disappointed as the room is very basic and the bathroom, well, let's just say that the gym bathroom is much more modern.

The staff will not take responsibility for not having your CONFIRMED reservation on file (which happened to us) & are not willing to accommodate you in a timely fashion or to a room that you asked such as a room with a king bed. Rather, they gave us a room with a 2 beds located in what it seemed to be the dungeon. There are much better hotels for 200$ a night around the area!

The breakfast, however, is very good and the restaurant staff is probably the nicest people there. Otherwise, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos C, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing Parador Resort & Spa for your stay in Manuel Antonio. We are sad to hear about your experience as our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations. However, thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve our product. Please note that in addition to families, the resort also caters to singles and couples for which offer two adult-only private pools for their enjoyment. We are grateful for your kind comments about our service and food and hope that we can welcome you again in the near future. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing