We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our overall experience was positive and the grounds and pool are beautiful but as others have said, the rooms are in need of a facelift. The hotel has a great reputation but could use some updating to keep on par with the standards for other hotels in this class. We too came from Arenal Nayara, which is so spectacular, that we did feel a little disappointed at Si Como No. The rooms are large but the pullout couch for the kids to sleep on is a little tight. We found the food and service at the restaurant near the bar to be fantastic but thought that the service at the front desk wasn't quite as attentive as it could have been. Happy hour near the pool was great and the two for one drinks were a nice treat.

The location of the hotel is great as we were able to walk to several restaurants in the area for dinner at night with our kids. The shuttle to the beach was easy although it doesn't run in the middle of the day so you need to plan accordingly (we just took a cab back if we were off hours). My kids loved the waterslide in the family pool but there is a shortage of chairs during the late afternoon hours. We were there during a holiday week so it may just be that it was filled to capacity.

Room Tip: Rooms near the family pool or further down have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    371
    93
    35
    23
See reviews for
546
524
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is at a gorgeous location with magnificent views. There is a hotel shuttle to the beach and to the reservation where monkeys, sloths, etc can be seen. The staff at the hotel is friendly, well trained and eager to help. Our room was very nice and clean but required some touch ups in terms of paint, broken instect screens etc. There is a movie theatre and some good movies were on the list. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel and a lot more within walking distance. The property is lush and gorgeous and one can see lizards on the paths and monkeys in the trees. Breakfast is good and nicely served and can be consumed while having gorgeous views. All in all this is a winner but at this price range, "close to perfection" can be expected.

Room Tip: Family pool can be very noisy with kids during school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchtreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Si Como No after coming from Arenal Nayara which is absolutely stunning. Initially, we felt a little let down, however, our attitude quickly changed once we were able to experience the grounds, especially the family pool and realize that we weren't spending a considerable amount of time in the rooms at all. Like other posters have said: WIFI is spotty, the hotel is older, needs a bit of a facelift and there is some construction going on. I never felt that the construction interfered with our stay. I loved the pool views and happy hour. We never took advantage of the theater, but it looked like it could be fun and the movies showing the week we visited looked good. Our service was fabulous. Si Como No took care of any needs we had. We didn't spend time on our balcony, it was small and the pool balcony so much nicer!! My children's bed was a pull out, it worked fine. We had room #3 which is close to the pool and lobby. The food was at least good. I did not feel nickel and aimed. I even rechecked my bill. We paid for drinks, tours and food only. Laundry is expensive but you know exactly what it is going to cost you before you have it done. The shuttle to town is free and reliable. The adult pool was really nice looking but with our kids, we never made it over there. For those staying a SCN, the happy hour I believe begins at 4p. Nice after a day of adventures to have a few drinks and watch a beautiful sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to Family Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendiR0th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We thought the hotel was beautiful! Very relaxing! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! We all enjoyed the food, especially the made to order eggs every morning! The kids had a blast at the pool with the waterfalls and slide. The hotel felt like an oasis! We walked to nearby restaurants for dinner, which were great! The free shuttle to the beach was awesome!
We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLara1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We saw howlers, capuchins, and squirrel monkeys all on the hotel property. The pool was fantastic - and the swim up bar had the BEST pina coladas. Friendly and accommodating staff. The walk to Manuel Antonio was easy (downhill), the walk back was less easy but doable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by a number of people so we had very high hopes coming into it. So when we got there, it was somewhat of a let down only because it had been hyped up to us by so many people. Furthermore, we had just come from Hotel Nayara in Arenal which was absolutely amazing, so our experience at Si Como was Relative to that. Anyway, here's our opinion, in a nutshell:

Pros: Great views of the ocean, close to Quepos and the Manuel Antonio National Park (great location), beautiful spa (got a massage, very good), Claro Que Si restaurant was very good for more upscale dining, an adult only pool (with separate family pool) that was never crowded and had a great happy hour from 4-6 every day, free shuttle to the beach and Manuel Antonio, front desk was good about making dinner reservations for us in town.

Cons: Rooms are outdated and need a major facelift, no television, very limited wi-fi hotspots, bugs in the rooms everywhere (no insect control), the breakfast was mediocre, you cannot be handicapped to stay at this place (many stairs and no ramps), make sure you get a room away from the family pool or you will hear noise from your room all day, the hotel nickles and dimes you every which way.

Room Tip: If you want some quiet, make sure you get a room away from the family pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebrownieesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Guest and Trip Advisor readers:

Fortunately the majority of our "Guest Comments" are very encouraging, however we recognize there's always room for improvement. We always welcome constructive criticism, and appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences. We will carefully look into these and any other guest observation that are in our capacity to improve upon while not compromising our long standing brand of Sustainable Hospitality and exceptional Costa Rican experiences.

Sincerely

D. Quiros
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Overall had a great family vacation.
Beautiful views from the rooms, all on the hillside with great ocean views. Very nice large balconies and beautiful sunsets.
Large rooms (we had the delux room and it was more than enough for 2 adults and 2 kids) very comfortable with a small fridge and mini bar. Very comfortable beds.
Great pools with a slide in the family pool, nice water bar and sun deck overlooking the valley and ocean. if you have kids most likely there would be other kids there for them to play with. We did not use the adult pool but it looks great.
They also have a SPA. Nothing fancy but if you like a goos massage you can get it.
Very good service, nice staff.
Overall the property is well maintained and beautiful.
Some issues that may or may not bother you
1. Food is a disaster. Don't eat there. Expensive and no good. they have 2 restaurants, one is fancy one by the pool, if you do eat there keep to the basics. There are Many restaurants in the area you can choose from. Some in walking distance. breakfast is mediocre at best with the sell of deep frying dominating the air.
2. WIFI is not available at some or most of the rooms, not sure exactly but we did not have it. They have it in the common areas.
3. Showehead...yes, a little detail but to some is important. No good. feels like a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: if you are a Family of 4 the delux room is perfect, king bed and a double size sleeper sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing