We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houston Travelers”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
“Houston Travelers”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Si Como No Hotel exceeded our expectations. We were first time visitors travelling with our 5 year old. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Hilda and Raphael at the front desk, entire crew in the Rico Tico restaurant, everyone we encountered. We were in room 55 and the view is stunning. It is a hike to and from the room, but it is worth every stair you have to climb. Yes there are bugs, but you are sleeping in the rain forest. Our room was kept spotless. Family pool is a lot of fun- be sure to meet 'Whiskey'. Movie night is fun. There was an iron and blow dryer available. I love this hotel and this country. We're already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lmcmahon821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Lmcmahon821:

Thank you for sharing your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you recognise what so many other reviews and hotel guest surveys continue to value about the Magic of Nature and good natured staff that are at the core of our brand of sustainable hospitality. We hope you will consider our invitation to return again soon and include the other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, and in San Ramon at the Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    373
    95
    36
    23
See reviews for
564
533
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel Si Como No was a terrible choice of hotel. The staff were EXTREMELY unfriendly. They took so long to do everything and they were all very arrogant and snobbish. The rooms were average. We paid close to $400 a night and the rooms were of VERY poor standard. There were a lot of mosquitos in the room even when we shut the door at night. The breakfast is poor, the food isn't fresh. There are MUCH nicer hotels in Manuel Antonio so if you can, don't waste your money on this place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Fi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Fi S

We were quite surprised by your review of Si Como No, as we simply have never seen this level of dissatisfaction from any guest in our 20 years of operations. Then we weren't so surprised, as we could find no record of your stay — no family of travelers or individuals from Singapore; not in July or any other month this year. As policy, we review all guest cards each week, log all guest issues when any concern is raised by our guests, and we make right anything that is not to our guests' satisfaction, on the spot. But again, we found nothing from anyone from Singapore. Now, we're not saying you didn't stay here . . . but if we're mistaken, please send us a copy of your bill from this hotel, Si Como No. We'll adjust it and publish the action we took right here on TripAdvisor, so that everyone else can see that too.

Jim Damalas
CEO/Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Si Como No was the most fantastic, gorgeous, relaxing, yet fun place to stay in Manuel Antonio. My boyfriend and I visited in late May which meant the resort was a little quiet but I personally enjoyed that. The staff was extremely accommodating, gave lunch, dinner and adventure recommendations every day and the room and views were beyond gorgeous. There are 2 swim up bars, a fun pool slide, ample sun decks and wildlife galore! At night if you dont feel like walking to nearby bars or restaurants you can relax in the complimentary movie theatre! I cannot wait to come back here. Best resort ever!!!

Room Tip: Each room has different qualities. I'd recommend telling the front desk when you book whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Amanda Malik:

Thank you very much Amanda for appreciating the quality of our resort staff, many of which have been with us for nearly two decades! We are very proud of the guest comments supporting our long standing mission we practice of Sustainable Hospitality. This has been a top priority sharing the Magic of Nature and the "good nature" of our dedicated staff who continue to go the extra mile to please our guests with gracious “Pura Vida” vibes along with first class service, year after year. We will look forward for your next visit and hopefully you'll include our sister properties at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, in San Ramon de Alajuela, and Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula for the same exceptional Costa Rica experiences we are know for.

Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We went to Si Como No last month for a week with our family. There are not enough characters allowed in this review to say enough about the facilities, the people, the restaurants and the venue. It was perfect for us and our 3 teenagers (16, 13, 13).

The rooms were immaculate, well designed and extremely comfortable. Housekeeping did wonderfully. Views were everywhere and after a daily 6-7 hour outing the kids would be eager to get back to slide down the slide or order a soda from the swim-to bar.

Every person we encountered we had a great interaction with. Hilda, the concierge, was brilliant and walked us through countless permutations of things to do in and around the park. The Rico Tico staff were awesome and attend to your every need. Omar, Carlos and Francesco were always there with a smile and light conversation to make you feel totally at home and welcome.

The proximity of Si Como No to the jungle is great. There are monkeys and iguanas all over the place!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the periphery of the grounds. You will see more monkeys from your balcony that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Remy G:

We thank you for joining the many positive endorsements of Si Como No. Although we continue to strive for perfection, your review is one more confirmation that our philosophy & mission are being transmitted to our hotel guests, thus reassuring us that we continue to do our best to deliver exceptional Costa Rica experiences to our guest who trust their holiday with us. As you mentioned, Si Como No is also a very special place for families due to the big array of activities, not only in the Rain Forest, including our popular Night Walk in our Refuge Tour and the nearby mountains such as Santa Juana Mountain Tour. We hope to see you again at Si Como No and hope you will include our other Greentique Hotels for more great family experiences with us.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived the hotel and their employees were very welcoming We were upgrade and shown to our room that was decorated to fit the lush surroundings. The first morning we a wake to see 2 monkeys outside our room in the trees. The buffet breakfast was more than we expected. Everyone knew us there and treated us like we were home. I will go back withy family soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkbite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Sharkbite1:

As members of Greentique Hotels it's comforting to read your comments that once again confirm our main objectives, to the best of our ability, to deliver the values of “Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences” and sincerely appreciate your recognition of that mission behind all our brands of Greentique Sustainable Hospitality.. Thank you for your review and we would like to invite you back to visit our sister properties of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel in San Ramon de Alajuela & Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park next time you want another holiday in beautiful and friendly Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just got back from a week at Si Como No, and it was spectacular. The location is perfect, and you will find it hard to look away from the breathtaking view of the jungle sloping down to meet the Pacific.

I picked this hotel because we were staying with our two kids, ages 6 and 11. They absolutely loved the pool and I had a hard time getting them to leave every time. They also loved the movie theater as a great way to end a busy day.

We stayed in a deluxe suite and it was the perfect size for the four of us. The kids had no complaints about the fold out couch (king-sized bed when folded out) and slept like babes every night. My one complaint was with the shower head in the bathroom- low flow is fine but it was not adjustable and the spray was spread out so far that it was hard to get rinsed off. It also sprayed onto the shower door which dripped onto the floor and made a mess. This issue could be easily resolved with a cheap adjustable-spray shower head.

I cannot say enough about how wonderful the hotel staff were. Everyone greeted us with a smile every time we saw them, and any needs that we had were taken care of quickly and happily. I especially loved the guys at the Rico Tico poolside bar/restaurant, they were happy to see us every time and by the end of the week treated us like old friends. When I told Carlos that we were leaving early in the morning on our last day and couldnt make it for breakfast, he bundled up some breads and fresh fruit for us to take in the car on the way to San Jose. It was perfect!

The most memorable moment of the trip was when we ordered the bananas flambe in the middle of a torrential thunderstorm. Carlos put on quite a show!!

I would also like to add that we took the Santa Juana mountain tour offered by the hotel, and it was the best thing we did the entire week. The serenity and stunning beauty of that place made me want to stay there forever. The hike down to the waterfall was amazing and I have to say it was the best place I have ever gone swimming, and I have seen my share of swimming holes in my life. Jumping off the top of the cliff is a MUST do! Thanks to Johann for showing us a great time.

All in all this hotel was everything I expected after reading all of the reviews here. I could not recommend it enough and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite up top has the best view. Road noise is a bit loud but not too terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara_Mousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Mara_Mousie:

We appreciate your generous review and we are very glad that you and your family enjoyed our efforts to share with you the appreciation of "The Magic of Nature” and the Good Nature of all of our dedicated resort staff. Our long standing goal has been for our clients to experience Costa Rica's exceptional treasures and your praise for the Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure Tour is what we are very proud of with so many outstanding comments about this authentic conservation rural program. We will be looking forward for you to come back and hopefully you will be able to visit our other Greentique Hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca or the Rain Forest near Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a beautiful property with great views of the ocean. The deluxe room we booked was neat and comfortable. The views from the room were great and the room has a really nice big balcony.The room is great for 2 people , but if you are booking it for 3 people, then the 3rd bed is really a sofa bed expanded and not extremely comfortable. The Rico Tico restaurant was great and the breakfast was good. The concierge desk has all the local information on the tours and they can do all the bookings for you. A big plus is the changing room , so if you have checked out and you come back from the beach , you can use the changing room with the shower. Unlike some of the other properties in Manuel Antonio, there is no direct beach access, but the beach is a short cab ride away. There are 2 pools and lots of area for kids to play around.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a ocean view. You won't regret it esp during sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Anuy23:

We are very happy for your kind review. We share the comments left by our guests on a weekly basis with our staff and they are really proud to deliver that Costa Rican experience to the families that come and enjoy The Magic of Nature! We're sorry you did not take advantage of our free scheduled beach shuttles that take a few minutes to the beach and National Park. Hopefully we´ll see you again at Si Como No and perhaps include our other hotels at Villa Blanca, in the Cloud forest of San Ramon, and Aguila de Osa, in Drake Bay near Corcovado National Park, that are also part of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing