We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas vacation. Manuel Antonio area was very busy with beach tourists and the hotel runs a shuttle to the public beach. The National Park and the beach are fabulous! The hotel is nice. Pool, restaurant and adult pool are great. Rooms are fine. No TV and internet is spotty at best. Rooms could use some updating. Balconies are nice and monkeys are everywhere so wildlife watching is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool will get you a sunset view from the balcony
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear cmk29:

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the surrounding attractions including the Manuel Antonio National Park that we are proud that won an award as “one of the most beautiful national parks in the world”. We hope you will visit us again and include our sister hotels in Manuel Antonio, at Si Como No, and at Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula, members of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Si Como No
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived a couple of days after Christmas and had a lovely time. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was great. Our had a small balcony facing the ocean and overlooked the roof of the room below. We had Capuchin monkeys eating coconuts and fighting over them on the roof right in front of us. Two for one drinks at happy hour were well done, breakfasts were delicious, and the water slide into the pool can't be beat! There is excellent free wi-fi, and a special enclosed (and thus a little darkened) area near the pool to use your computer during brilliant sunshine. Recommended highly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear vpoleshuck:

First of all we would like to thank you for being our hotel guests and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are glad that you enjoyed our full buffet tropical breakfast prepared & served by our poolside Rico Tico staff every morning. Wildlife in the property has always been a big plus that you also mentioned, including the toucans, sloths, White Face & Titi monkeys and hundreds of tropical birds that visit us every day thanks to all the local conservation efforts we participate going on 20 years as members of CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism). We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Greentique Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I loved this resort. The room was spacious, beautiful, and had a breath-taking view. The grounds were beautiful. I loved the adult pool, it was serene and the bartenders were nice, friendly, yet unobtrusive. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful in planning activities. We received a complementary voucher for the butterfly pavilion and it was teeming with gorgeous wildlife. I highly recommend this location.

Unfortunately I was only there for two nights. I look forward to returning and taking advantage of all the amenities!

Room Tip: This hotel is on a very hilly property - make sure the front desk knows if you have any walking issu...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Kelly H:

Greetings from our "sunny" Manuel Antonio! We would like to thank you for your gracious comments regarding our boutique resort you found so amazing, including many of the amenities that we enjoy offering including our adult pool, ideal for enjoying tropical sunsets during the season from our swim up cocktail bar. We look forward to your next extended visit and if interested in a Greentique Hotel vacation packages, feel free to contact us on our website to consider combining our other Costa Rican properties in the Cloud Forest of San Ramón de Alajuela & the Rain Forest of Corcovado National Park at both Villa Blanca Hotel and Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas. The hotel is unique (at least to me). The rooms are beautiful and the balconies have a great view of the ocean. We loved watching the monkeys eat breakfast from our balcony!It is located in a great spot that is easily accessible to restaurants and shopping either by foot or by local bus, which is inexpensive. The food was good too. The service was prompt and friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe suite to get the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad4scrapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear mad4scrapping:

We appreciate your kind review and the fact you define our resort and hospitality to be “amazing”. We are celebrating our 20th anniversary this coming year, and we still feel our concept & conservation philosophy centimes to set us apart and so we are very pleased that many guests, like yourselves, take the time to recognise our continued efforts in both conservation and our sustainable brands of Greentique Hotel hospitality. Our staff has always been an important part of that concept as well as the hotel setting within the tropical jungle still protected that overlooks the Pacific coastline. We are certain you'll also find the same spirit and quality of of Costa Rican hospitality and ongoing conservation practices at both Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Aguila de Osa Inn and Marine Frontier, our two sister Greentique Hotels. Please come again and be our guests so we may share more exceptional experiences with you and your family.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Really enjoyed staying here, it is basically on the side of a cliff so the lobby is about 100 feet higher than the rooms if you have issues walking. The pool was beautiful and the kids loved the slide. There was also a movie theater but we didn't end up going. My daughters favorite part of the trip was when a monkey jumped on the bar, grabbed a banana, and then pooped. Food was great although I couldn't help but eat black beans, rice, eggs and hot sauce for breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Kflat:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive family experiences at Si Como No! Guess you became addicted to Chef Jose's recipe for Gallo Pintos (rice "n beans) but fortunately the monkeys didn't end up spoiling your breakfast. We try to discourage feeding the animals, but they easily out smart us and entertain us regularly at the Rico Tico Grill and family pool terrace. If you got some good photos please feel free to share them on our Facebook.

Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I have been traveling to Costa Rica for over 17 years and have been staying at Si Como No since the beginning. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. The views are amazing from the lobby, pools, restaurants, and rooms. There is quite a bit of wildlife including all types of monkeys. The food is top notch. Best ceviche I had, and I've had alot. However, the reason that we have made this the staple of our stay in Costa Rica is the staff. Ronald, Julio, Carlos, Omar, Francisco, Didier and the rest of the family of staff are simply amazing. They make us feel at home and make us feel like we are part of their family. We have definitely grown to feel like they are part of ours. If you are ever staying in Costa Rica don't miss staying at Si Como No. Swim up to the Rico Tico bar, order the Ceviche and an Imperial and tell them Dave from New Smyrna Beach said hi.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank NSB-DRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Dave:

Thank you very much for being part of our long standing family of repeat customers who continue to fully enjoy our long standing brand of the "magic of nature" and especially for recognising the "good nature" of our resort staff, year after year, who appreciate the genuine friendships they develop with guests who share the Pura Vida charm of Costa Rica with us. Some of these friendships now go back nearly 20 years when we first opened with 6 rooms in our boutique hotel inventory. Thank you also for your compliments of our restaurant menus we work to continue to enhance. We'll be sure to have fresh ceviche ready for your again for your next visit along with a couple of new recipes of Hearts of Palm & Green Plaintain ceviche we are intruding at the swim up pool bars.


We look forward to seeing you all again this coming new year and wish you and the family ahappy and healthy new year!!

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

At Manuel Antonio, we stayed 3 nights at Si Como No, which was awesome.

The hotel sits on top of a hill overlooking the jungle and sea and the property has a general use pool and an adult pool with a swim up bar. The whole property was covered with jungle which had plenty of wildlife in it. There were no TVs in the rooms, but they had small cinema on the property which showed films each night. We never ended up using it, but it looked nice.

The staff were all very helpful and were bilingual so no problems communicating.

The room was really nice – a split level with comfortable bed, sink & fridge and bathroom on the raised section. On the lower level was a built in couch facing the balcony, providing beautiful unobstructed sea views. It was very quiet and we spent each night hanging out on the balcony listening to the waves.

We arrived in the afternoon, so by the time we were checked in it was time for happy hour which runs from 4-7pm. We spent our first afternoon enjoying happy hour in the adult pool. We had a very good bartender and we were introduced to the local liquor, Guaro, in the form of 2 really excellent drinks – Guaro Sour and Guaroparina (I’m not sure of the spelling of that one, which was made with brown sugar and looked like mud, but tasted great). We saw a troop of capuchin monkeys in the trees next to the pool.

We then walked up the road to a restaurant called El Avion, which was an old transport plane shot down by the Sandinistas which was cut up and transported to Costa Rica. The bar was in the fuselage and the rest of the tables were on or under the wings. Unlike a lot of gimmicky sort of restaurants, the food there was excellent. Had one of the best steaks I’d ever had and my wife’s whole red snapper was also excellent.

The next day we had the breakfast buffet at the hotel. The food was really good food – they had an omelet stations and we especially loved the plantains. We discovered the local sauce called Salsa Lizano which we ended up putting on everything (we bought a big bottle of it when we got back). The restaurant had a perfect sea and jungle view and while we were at breakfast a troop of young squirrel monkeys came through, including one that came into the restaurant.

That day we took trip arranged by the hotel to a vanilla plantation called Villa Vanilla which was really good. They also grew cocoa, cinnamon, allspice and pepper and we got to try it all.

That night we went on a night nature walk through the forest near the property which was included in the Groupon/Travel by Jen package. It was cool, but we didn’t see much except tree frogs and some sleeping birds.

The next morning we walked back down the road towards Quepos and took a left at the first intersection, which put us on a road that took us down to the beach below the hotel (it’s a long walk). We ended up on a deserted beach which we walked on until we reached the entrance to the national park. We hired a guide to take us through the park, which was useful because it turns out to be really hard to spot the wildlife without the guide, who knew where to look and had a telescope. The park is quite small and crowded on the route from the main entrance to Manuel Antonio beach. Fact is there are so many groups with guides stopped on the main road through the park that if you wanted to do this on the cheap, you could bring binoculars and just look wherever the guides are pointing the groups. We saw more capuchin and squirrel monkeys, a sleeping howler monkey and both two & three toed sloths. Turns out the sloths hang out very high up in the trees. The pictures I took of the sloths and the howler monkey were all extreme zoom or through the telescope.

There were three beaches in the park and at the main beach we saw some wildlife all to close – some more capuchin monkeys and there were raccoons all over the beach which were stealing stuff right out of people’s hands. I had to wrestle my backpack away from one. For that reason we never ended up swimming at the beach there. We hiked all the trails, then took a bus back to the hotel. There’s really only one road, so any bus leaving Manuel Antonio (or Quepos to Manuel Antonio) passes Si Como No, making it really easy to get around.

We were sad to leave Si Como No and if we ever went go back to that part of Costa Rica we wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Tom B:

Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience at Si Como No! By the way, the name of the drink is Guaipirinha, a popular drink at Bar Mogotes. We hope to see you back with us again and perhaps consider adding our Greentique sister hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, where we believe more of the Magic of Nature is offered for you and your family toexperience and enjoy.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £126 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing