We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Si Como No ~ YES!”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
“Si Como No ~ YES!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

While other hotels in Costa Rica call themselves Green, Si Como No is one of the few that is carved into a hillside to preserve the natural beauty of the property. With surgeon-like precision, each complex fits comfortably into the jungle setting. Lit winding pathways connect the entire resort, so that getting to restaurants, the Spa, or the pools seems like an adventure rather than a tedious walk. Balconies overlooking the jungle and/or ocean make lounging outdoors pleasant and relaxing. From the Adult pool, one can experience spectacular sunsets that vibrantly bring fun-filled days to a close. Friendly, polite staff add to the overall experience, and it's speaks well of management to see that the employees remain the same from year to year. We've been Costa Rica three times and to Si Como No twice now, and we look forward to returning to its exotic, relaxing, and tropical grounds again next year.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with an ocean view. There's always some amazing adventures to observe from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Allman2014:

Thank you for your review and especially the recognition to our sustainable commitment that has earned us our CST Certification of Sustainable Tourism credentials as part of Greentique Hotels. We are happy to share with our clients the important biodiversity of our natural surroundings, including our Wildlife Refuge NaturePark with their collection of guided nature tours. Designing the hotel with our architects was with the goal of creating the natural flow of landscape designs and infrastructure footprints that would minimise the environmental impact and so enhance the client experience that your review captured so well. We would live to see you again and experiencing more of our brands of what we strive to deliver with "exceptional" Costa Rica hospitality at our cloud forest reserve of Villa Blanca Hotel, and the lush jungle habitat of the Osa Peninsula at Aguila de Osa Inn.


Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    368
    93
    34
    23
See reviews for
539
513
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is a vacation in itself. We felt that we were in a tropical retreat. With each pair of rooms spread out through the forest-like grounds, you feel you are nearly alone in this tropical haven. The amenities were great - the pools, the bars, the restaurant, the massages, even the movie theater were great. You are greeted in the beautiful open air lobby which overlooks the ocean. The staff were helpful, courteous and very responsive to our needs and requests. If I could only go back to one place in Costa Rica, it would be the Hotel Si Como No.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Higherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Higherin:

We are honoured that you considered Si Como No as you vacation spot in Costa Rica!! Captivated by nature, within the tropical forest, with the backdrop of the Pacific Ocean and a friendly vibe all over the property, is what we call an “Exceptional Costa Rican Experience”. We hope you and your family can come back and enjoy more of our brands of sustainable hospitality and include our Cloud Forest and Corcovado Rain Forest properties that are all part of the family of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.


Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great pool, great tours, good food. Highly recommended! Rico Tico has a very large menu, and our kids loved the resident iguanas. The deluxe suite was just right for our family of 4. And since I need 200 characters for this review, I will now make obscure references to The Soup. Hi Joel! Hi Mankini! Hi Lou!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cronkleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Cronkleton:
Great review!!We appreciate you enjoyed our Rico Tico Bar’n Grill, including their family pool & slide, which we trust your kids took advantage during your stay. We all hope to see you again and maybe next time include our sister Greentique Hotels in San Ramon and the Osa Peninsula.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A beautiful view of the ocean while surrounded by Rainforest and the wonderful sounds of the Rainforest at night. Rooms were clean and nice but could use a refresher in the bathrooms. NIce to have the Balcony off the room … Nothing more peaceful than your morning Costa Rican Coffee while overlooking the ocean and listen to those Howler Monkeys!
Food was Fresh and well prepared and abundant!
A special Recognition goes to the concierge as they were ultra efficient in communicating with outside tour operators and taking care of a conflict in our scheduling of tours! Thanks to their outstanding service all tours were enjoyed and in a relaxed fashion with no compromise!

Room Tip: Facing the Ocean is where you want to be !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear PokerBear:

Greetings from Manuel Antonio. Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review and we were pleased that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Pacific coastline from your room private balcony. We'll be sure to let our Concierge Desk know they were able to meet and even surpass your expectations, especially in regards to the guided tour selection we offer with our licensed Nature Interpreters. We will be sure to let our chef know you went out of your way to praise the quality and value of our restaurant menus. We also appreciate you recognised the "outstanding service" we continue to refine and constantly do our best to deliver. We call it "exceptional Costa Rica experiences" that 20 years in the sustainable hospitality business has extended to include our sister properties of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a friendly and helpful group of people. From the front desk, to the restaurants; the maids and the entire hotel staff, we met one personable and helpful individual after another. The location of the hotel worked well for us, as we spent a big part of our time at the beach. We would either take the hotel shuttle (free), a cab or walk, depending on our timing. Thanks a ton for providing towels for us to take to the beach.

This was a trip with my three daughters- 11, 15 and 17. The room accommodated our needs just fine.

The views of the Pacific off of our deck provided a great start to my day as I drank my first cup of coffee. The way our room was situated, we had complete privacy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank maryk2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Maryk2002:

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad that you and your entire family enjoyed our concept of “The Magic of Nature” as well as the Good Nature of our resort staff. We call it the "Pura Vida" vibe and we enjoy sharing it with all of our guests. We hope you and your family can come back soon and enjoy more of our boutique brands of sustainable hospitality that include Aguila de Osa Inn near the National Park of Corcovado and in the Cloud Forest Private Reserve of Los Angeles Norte at Villa Blanca Hotel near San Ramon where we believe exceptional Costa Rican hospitality is what it's all about.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very nice hotel with amazing view of the ocean and rainforest right out your balcony. A 1.5-2mi walk to the beach. This particular vacation we didn't mind not being close to the beach as it was TOO HOT! The hotel does have a shuttle to the beach. If you have any sort of problem walking, there are lots of steps to every area of this property.

Room Tip: No elevators of course. Staff was accommodating but not overly enthusiastic as we experienced many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIDEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear MIDEMC:

We appreciate your review regarding your enjoyable stay with us at Si Como No . Glad you enjoyed the comfortable sea breezes form our jungle terraces overlooking the beach where the temperature do get quite hot in the summer. Taking advantage of our shuttle access seems to be very appreciated since the ride is just a few minutes to get down to the beach. I definitely shared your review with management and as always every comment helps to get us closer to perfection, with each valuable comment we review. We hope to see you back with us again soon or with the other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.


Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arrived before check in time and had to wait for a room. Si Como No is a busy place and no rooms were available. They will check your bags for you and you can use the hotel's facilities. We took the time to have some lunch and walk around the grounds. The food and service in the Rico Tico restaurant by the family pool was very good. That is also where the breakfast is served in the morning. It had lots of choices for any tastes. Our room was great with a mini fridge and an inside sitting area that overlooked the ocean. We also had a balcony but it was a hot sunny day and the view from inside was just as fantastic. There were 2 overhead fans, one over the bed and the other by the sofa in the sitting area. We opted for the AC. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were good but could use some sprucing up. We decided to take a swim in the large adults only pool with a swim up bar. The bartender there was very friendly and helpful. There was a group there at the same time for a destination wedding. The setting for that was magnificent with all the tropical plants and the view of the ocean. The photos must have been memorable.
Once we got settled into our room we went to the front desk to make tour arrangements. We were part of a small tour and we kept changing tour times to travel with each other. The front desk staff was very helpful and extremely patient. Thanks to all of you!!!
The hotel has a free shuttle that drops you at the beach and there is a bus that stops near the hotel that will get you there at other times for 60 cents.
Si Como No is an environmentally friendly hotel and is right across the street from a butterfly research area and a fantastic night tour of the jungle. I believe that they sponsor both these areas. I recommend that you take both these tours. It is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear WintersR4beaches:

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate your feedback about breakfast at the Rico Tico as well as the rest of our menus and courteous staff which we feel is part of the “Exceptional Costa Rican Experiences “ we do our best to share with our clients with good natured hospitality and the beauty of the natural surroundings, including our Wildlife Refuge Jungle Night Tour and Nature Exhibits. They are all part of our commitment to sustainable hospitality as members of CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism). We hope you'll join our family of repeat customers.


Best regards

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing