We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay close to Manuel Antonio NP”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Despite the fact that it is located at a busy road (Manual Antonio is very touristic with lots of hotels and restaurants), you enter peace and luxury once inside the hotel.
The rooms/bungalows are nice and located all over the hill.
The staff helps with the luggage and that was good, because there are a lot of small roads and steps. (Ask for an easy reachable room if you have problems with steps).
We had dinner at the Claro que Si (or Claro que Seafood) restaurant and had the catch of the day which was more than excellent.
Breakfast is served in the other restaurant. Be early in the morning and you will have a table at the balcony with a splendid view over the ocean!
The adult pool was very quiet. Towels are provided and there is a bar (with double drinks at happy hour).
Across the road is a small nature park where you can book night walks.
A visit to the Manuel Antonio NP is also a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a suitable room if you have problems with steep roads and steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regemorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear regemorw


Thank you very much for your review and we are really glad that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of our concept of hosting you with the “The magic of Nature”!! We are also glad that you enjoyed both of our Restaurants. The Claro Que Seafood Restaurant is very popular because of the freshness of its products and the top notch service provided not only to our hotel guests but to many locals as well as visitors staying in neighbourhood hotels. We appreciate you enjoyed our buffet breakfast at our Rico Tico Bar & Grill. Besides the great Jungle and Ocean views you enjoyed, it's good to know our Costa Rican typical picadillos & home made tortillas make for many requests for seconds.
When planning your next trip, be sure to check out our sister Greentique Hotels, Villa Blanca and Aguila de Osa. The same great service, great food, and amazing experiences await you in these cloud forest and rainforest destinations.

Best regards,

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Sicomono is a small hotel (61 rooms) in the Costa Rican rainforest on the Pacific coast. Beautiful views of the ocean and rock formations from the private balconies, fabulous food (breakfast buffet included) and very warm, friendly staff. The hotel is very environmental conscious and carbon neutral.
The Manuel Antonio National Park is a free shuttle away (about 7 minute ride); the beaches within the park (have to pay $10 park entry fee) are unspoiled and gorgeous; the nearby public beach is also beautiful (and free) although gets more crowded as the day goes on. We were advised to not leave any bags unattended on a beach (raccoons will get into them on the park beaches, people may get into them on public beach).
The excursions were wonderful--we did the trip to Santa Juana, Titi canopy (zip lining) and Manuel Antonio Park with guide. My advice on the park tour is to get there early-- we began at the park around 8 am and were essentially in a crowd of tour groups; it was hot and humid and uncomfortable (although our guide Henry was great and we saw/learned alot). If we had gotten there earlier (the park opens at 7 am) as we did another day to just go to the beaches, it would have been less crowded.
We were there in the dry season (March) and by midday the heat and humidity can be stifling-- best to stay out of the sun by then.
Both restaurants serve amazing food in a beautiful setting. Very fresh, interesting dishes with local flair. Excellent!
No fitness center but there is a nice yoga/pilates studio across the street (Epic Living).

Room Tip: The rooms farthest away from main entrance are the most quiet. Bedside lights would have been helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ejeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear ejeck:

I truly believe you were able to take advantage of the many, “Exceptional Costa Rican Experiences” “that are all part of the Magic of Nature and the good natured staff we are so fortunate to have at our resort along with our sister hotels that are part of Greentique's brands of sustainable hospitality. Iwould like to mention that we are proud members of the CST program (Certification of Sustainable Tourism), part of our commitment not only in conservation but also in all the community programs we are able to support with your tour of the Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure.
Thank you for your comment and we hope to have you again as our guest in the near future here at our resort our at Villa Blanca Cloud forest Hotel or Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park.

Best regards

Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The staff are friendly and polite. The views from the lobby, Rico Tico (restaurant on site) and our room were picturesque. Off the main road of Manuel Antonio, you can walk to many popular restaurants in the area like El Avion (an actual airplane embedded in the restaurant) and Pizza Pata (good pizza for avg prices). When you walk into the lobby, you're greeted by a panoramic view of the ocean and wonderful breeze that seems to constantly run through cooling you off on even the hottest days. We stayed in a superior room that had a larger balcony with a beautiful view. The rooms are air conditioned and equipped with a small bar fridge, bar sink, small desk etc., nothing outstanding but comparable to a standard room in a hotel in Canada. Our family of 4 was comfortable there though the kids were 9 and 11 and still ok with sharing a queen. The family pool has a waterside and swim up bar and I can't forget to mention the wooden deck where you can lounge overlooking the ocean and have happy hour. We were there 4 nights and saw squirrel monkeys swinging through the trees and traversing the rooftops, geckos, lizards and frogs and that was just at the hotel! The beach is a shuttle ride free from the hotel and don't bother with the bottled water for safe drinking. The hotel tap water is totally fine. My stomach is sensitive and we had no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albertans-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Albertans-on –the-go:

We are glad to hear about your experience at Si Como No. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and all the natural flora and fauna that complements our views. We appreciate that our resort accommodations offered the ideal atmosphere for your family to enjoy also our regular local visitors that “swing through the trees” just outside your balcony. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future and maybe consider including our other Greentique hotels here in Costa Rica.
Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is very quaint with views of the jungle and ocean. The staff were very helpful and took good care of us. We went on 2 fishing trips and the chefs cooked our fish and made it into a gourmet meal 3 times, it was excellent! Our luggage did not make the airline transfer and the reception person worked with the airline and our bags were there the next day.

Room Tip: We had a villa with a deck overlooking ocean and jungle, was peaceful and quiet but you could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank switzy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear switzy231:

Thank you for your review and appreciation of our hospitality. We are glad that our Chefs were able to cook your “catch of the day” to your expectations and that you enjoyed our Costa Rican hospitality. Hope you come back again and perhaps include a package with our sister Greentique Hotels here in beautiful Costa Rica !!


Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a great hotel with breathe taking views. This was my first trip to Manuel Antonio and I loved it. The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff was accommodative. With that said I do believe that their prices were high and I believe that was due to the American tourism. I will be back and try a different location for less with the same quality of views and service. All Americans are not rich.

Room Tip: choose rooms with ocean views due to there is no TV's in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TXXX x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear TXXX x:
Thank you for your review. We regret we were not within your budget, yet honestly it's very seldom we get a comment that you need to be a rich American to enjoy our hospitality. To the contrary we feel we are priced quite competitive as a 4 star property with 5 star hospitality well established within the market niche of Manuel Antonio. For 20 years we've hosted both Nationals, as well as North Americans and Europeans, who all seem to enjoy the great values we have to offer while doing our best to minimise our environmental impact with our sustainable practices that do cost a bit more to implement.
.
Sincerely yours
Jim Damalas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

First, about the surroundings: Si Como No is located on the side of a steep hill. The front entrance is pretty much directly on a winding, narrow, two-lane road that goes from Quepos to Manuel Antonio. This road is somewhat of a tourist “strip” with many hotels, restaurants etc., and is pretty active. The front of the resort is not much to look at, just a somewhat crowded, small parking lot. Once you go through the open-air reception, though, you see the rooms spread among several buildings sprawling down the hill. The buildings are connected by nicely landscaped twisty paths, some of which are pretty steep; if you are mobility-challenged, take note.

Now for the room: we had a superior room near the "uphill" border of the property with our own balcony. The room was average - two queen beds, a tiny bedside table between the two beds, 2 chairs and two small tables. Bathroom average. Free wifi, though connection strength was unpredictable - one day it was worse than dial-up, another day was fine. One of my pet peeves in hotels is the lack of adequate lighting in the room. There is no TV in the room (and I wouldn't have watched it even if it had been there), but, look, if you don't have a TV, then you have to provide adequate bedside lighting so people can read their books. No bedside (or anywhere) lamp at all; the small high intensity lights way up in the ceiling are just not adequate. Speaking of lighting, the bathroom lighting was also inadequate... maybe it's my age... Looking out from the balcony was very pleasant, with a nice vista of the ocean and greenery all around. And yes, as others have said, you can hear howler monkeys and lots of birdsong, so that was great.

We only ate at the Rico Tico restaurant once and it was ok. The rest of the time we tried local restaurants. Breakfasts were served efficiently and there was a good variety of food. There was rapid turnover so the one morning we were there at the same time as a huge group we only had to wait 10 minutes or so. The headwaiter, Julio, was fantastic - friendly, courteous and informative.

The adult pool was peaceful and lovely.

Excursions were easy to sign up for. Hilda, the concierge, was very friendly and helpful and gave us accurate descriptions of the tours. We went on 3 of their excursions: Santa Juana, Manuel Antonio walk, and Villa Vanilla. All 3 were well run with great guides.

There is a theater in the hotel which shows a nightly free movie. Every movie for the 3 week nights we were there was an animated movie. I think on the weekends they venture into PG territory.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethesdaTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear BerthesdaTraveler99:

We appreciate your observations about room lightning & wifi. Your feedback helps us identify and so improve our guest experience. We only regret you did not advise management while at the hotel to try to resolve your concerns about adding more reading light. Thank you also for pointing out the many positive experiences you did appreciate and we’ll express you gratitude to our concierge as well as our nature guides who took you on the tours we have to offer, especially our Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure tour you mentioned. Although we've never had a TV set in any of our rooms, we'er glad you enjoyed instead all the natural shows just outside your window and the variety and great service of our Rico Tico that started your day with us with our breakfast buffet.
Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We loved the pool with the swimup bar. The food was good and we saw monkeys from our balcony. The staff was great. Lots of restaurants to walk to and an easy shuttle to the beach and the national Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JNL417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear JNL417:

Thank you very much for your kind review and appreciate your recommendation to future guests. Hopefully you will return again soon to enjoy more of our Costa Rican hospitality with more tour adventures with Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica!

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £158 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing