We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, great restaurants, but lots of BUGS”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, great restaurants, but lots of BUGS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Costa rica where we stayed at Si Como No for 4 days. Upon arrival, we immediately noticed the most beautiful view from the hotel. The staff at the front desk was friendly and they had a bellman come assist us with our luggage. When we came to our room it initially appeared lovely with a spectacular view. Later when I decided to take a shower, there was a HUGE spider crawling around the shower. I thought, no biggie, until we later came back to our room and there were ants EVERYWHERE IN THE SHOWER! Also crawling on the floor near our bed! Needless to say, we asked to be transferred to another room (which they were very happy to help with). When we arrived to our next room, we thought it was also lovely. My husband then noticed the stained glass windows in the bathroom were FALLING OUT and had open crevasses where bugs were crawling through!!! (also, they leave the sliding doors open when the room is unoccupied, just inviting the bugs in). Needless to say, we asked to be transferred AGAIN! The front desk staff, was extremely pleasant and helpful and upgraded us to a beautiful room with an even more beautiful view. This room wasn't "crawling" with bugs but it definitely still had some sneaking in. Having this experience on our first night really put a bad taste in my mouth about the hotel because I no longer felt comfortable in my room. The rooms need MASSIVE remodel, we noticed on several other rooms how the stained glass windows were literally falling out. They also need to bomb the place to keep bugs from crawling in the rooms. On the other hand,The restaurant Claro que si is AMAZING! The food was absolutely delicious, service was impeccable, and we truly enjoyed it. Yendry was our main bartender/server and she was a delight. Always happy to help and was great to talk to. She really is a great asset to SI COMO NO. Also carlos and stefan were wonderful at the bar and restaurant as well. Overall, we will not be going back to Si Como No. Bugs in your room just isnt something you want to deal with when you are on vacation. I have to say, the front desk was very accommodating and immediately changed our rooms which we greatly appreciated. I am just writing this review because I want people to know incase they plan on staying at this resort.
Another thing to know, the breakfast buffet is good food but along the buffet there are ants crawling EVERYWHERE. I know we are in the rain forest, but really!?!?! Isnt there something that can keep the ants from being on the buffet?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Dfibble:

I can tell that the insects are a source of considerable stress for you and we understand that completely. Fortunately, it is a rare occurrence for us and any issues with insects have never been cited as a reason not to recommend Si Como No. We appreciate that you acknowledged the level of staff service and that we changed your room more than once to try and make you more comfortable. After 20+ years of operating Si Como No in the mid-Pacific tropical forest, and our other Greentique Hotels in the cloud forest and in the actual rainforest on the Osa Peninsula, we have learned that we are guests in these fragile habitats. Our reality is to try and stay ahead of Mother Nature, keep the flora and fauna in check, but when the first rains hit hard each year, we know the ants will try to avoid drowning and that some of them will get into places where they are not particularly welcome. However, we took an oath when we opened our first hotel that we would not intentionally kill any life form on our properties unless there was no alternative or in some way, a guest or employee was endangered. Therefore we do not use pesticides on the grounds nor do we bomb the rooms with other types of chemicals. We know a principle is not a principle until it costs something and that in choosing the sustainable hospitality path for Greentique Hotels, we won't please everyone. Lastly, regarding the windows of which you spoke, they are aboriginal art, hand made by local artist Patricia Valverde and custom fitted into each room. Every few years, these windows are replaced on a schedule for groups of rooms. We had already begun that process prior to your stay but will certainly reassess the replacement schedule. Again, we're glad you experienced so many good things at Si Como No, but fully accept that this hotel was unable to meet your level of comfort when it comes to ants.

Warmest regards -
Jim Damalas,
CEO, Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    357
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
533
503
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

3 Families from Moorestown NJ spent 4 nights @ Si Como No. The hotel itself and the setting in the natural jungle environment are spectacular. Everyday we saw capuchin monkeys in the trees and on the hotel roof. The nesting pair of toucans with 12 inch long iridescent beaks called from the treetops and claimed their territory outside our balcony. A 3 foot long iguana made his appearance poolside. In the mornings the little capybaras emerged from the tree cover to graze. One night, after we had watched a beautiful sunset and were sitting serenely on our balcony, a huge owl landed on the railing only 6 feet from us, and he/she proceeded to study the hillside carefully for several minutes before quietly flying off to hunt.
Our hosts were very friendly and professional. The staff at the indoor/outdoor dining roof was particularly gracious and friendly. They patiently helped the kids with starter spanish and provided great service at breakfast, for drinks and snacks poolside, and the one dinner that we ate there after a long adventure day.
Our rooms were large and comfortable with nice bathrooms. I never thought that I would enjoy staying in a hotel without a TV in the room, but the reality show is always on right outside the windows. The kids loved the pool and slide. The adults loved the great service at the adult pool and even after the bar closed at the adult pool, our hosts made certain to make the trek up from the family pool and bar to continue to serve us late into our last night.

Room Tip: request a room on the upper floors to get treetop views of the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Tim M:

We are very happy that you were able to experience our own version of “Animal Planet”! This is exactly what we call “The Magic of Nature” and all our efforts in both sustainability and conservation has provided us the positive atmosphere and harmony with so may natural species roaming free to share their habitat with us at Si Como No and our Wildlife Refuge. Thank you very much for your recognition to our staff’s professional level of service who we feel are ready and willing to share their knowledge, along with our own Nature Guides, creating the best complement to Mother Nature with "good natured" attitudes. Thank you once again for your reviews and we hope to have you once again as our guest with any member property of Greentique Hotels.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is our second stay at the Si Como No. We met the stained glass artist on our visit 15 years ago and his art is one of the things that makes this place memorable. They are a "greentique" hotel that focuses on conservation but it is done in a nice and upscale way. The view is absolutely breathtaking. We looked forward to the "happy hour" visits of the monkeys every afternoon. Both of the restaurants are delicious and the included breakfast is good as well. Lots of things to choose from but be sure not to arrive too late as they tended to run out of items. The staff is very friendly and helpful in all areas of the resort especially the servers for the family pool. We would come back again.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floor rooms located between the 2 pools have the best views overlooking the rainfore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kwgordon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear kwgordon99:

It is very rewarding for both management and staff to have a repeat customer that appreciates not only the quality of service and amenities that made them come back again, but also the recognition regarding our commitment to conservation policies that involves not only the resort itself but also the community, such as the Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure Tour with its tree reforestation program and our adjacent Wildlife Refuge. Thank you very much for keep sharing with us “the Magic of Nature” and we look forwards for your next visit when you may want to include our other Greentique Hotels in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula.

Best regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a wonderful experience staying at Si Como No. When we first arrived we spent the afternoon at the family pool. There was a fun water slide for the kids (4 and 9) and a swim up bar for Mom and Dad. Everyone was happy! The room was clean, and we enjoyed a spectacular view of the forests and ocean. We ate at The Rico Tico several times. Food was very good as well as the service. Boys declared the French fries to be best ever! :) I thought the beef quesadillas were delish! You can walk or take a taxi to other redtaurants if you want though. Two of the nights we were there we went to the movie theater-very cute.
I can't say enough about how wonderful the service was. The location of the hotel was very convenient. We just walked across the street for the Butterfly Garden, and the Night Walk.
The only negative we could come up with was all the stairs, but quite honestly the staff assisted in carrying the suitcases. Thank you Si Como No for helping make our first trip to Costa Rica a memorable one!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Akmoran:

It’s all about memories, and especially if you can share with your family with us in Manuel Antonio. We’ve now hosted several thousand families over the years that have experienced what the Pura Vida vibe is all about, and we are always pleased when our staff is appreciated and the Costa Rican cuisine in both of our restaurants is highly rated. Mentioning the activities that involve all the local flora & fauna we highlight with our own guided tours is again the reward that our message and value continue to be appreciated. We look forward to your next visit as a repeat customer and hopefully you will be able to visit our other Greentique Hotels in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon at Villa Blanca or the Rain Forest near Corcovado National Park at Aguila de Osa Inn.

Best regards.
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great views, fun town, amazing jungle hike and awesome beaches. Si Como No is our favorite hotel in Manuel Antonio. Great for families and also for people without kids. They have a few pools, so they seperate the kids from people that don't want to be around them. All in all a great place. Only negative is that the property is pretty hilly but you get your excercise and there would not be a great view if it were not on a hill. I recommend Si Como No for sure!

Room Tip: Make sure you get out to the preserve and check out the monkeys and sloths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jim M:

Thank you very much for choosing Si Como No as your favourite Hotel in Manuel Antonio!! We pride ourselves to share “exceptional Costa Rican Experiences” for families and our main goal is to create an ideal atmosphere for each particular family or couple we host throughout the year. As you were so kind to point out, our ocean view terraces afford the ocean breezes and just the right amount of exercise for that second cerveza or homemade dessert.

Best regards

Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The pros: Beautiful views from most area of the hotel, great family pool which my kids loved, included breakfast was good and includes an omelet station
The cons: LOTS of ants in the bathroom and shower (make sure to keep your toothbrush inside your luggage), overpriced accommodations and food.
The Santa Juana tour was very good for young children--not too much of any one activity--one hour of horseback, one hour hike, one hour swimming, 30 minutes tilapia fishing. Beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Opt for the superior room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Cindyp212:

Greetings from sunny Manuel Antonio and thank you for taking the time to review our property. About the jungle ants that, with the first rains of the season, make their way to dry ground from the tropical jungle floor that surrounds the entire property, but once acclimated they fortunately find their own new lodging. Since we do not use any harmful chemicals or pesticides, we try our best to keep them out of the guest rooms, but not always are we able to take on Mother Nature who we try to dolour best to harmonise with our resort facilities. We were also quite please that your family enjoyed our popular rated Santa Juana Rural Mountain Adventure Tours.

Best regards

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We came to Hotel Si como no to eat on our third night in manel Antonio. The waiter was very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious.i had the Caribbean chicken and my boyfriend ate the mahi mahi. We came here by chance but would recommend as somewhere different to eat whilst in manuel Antonio. The price was much cheaper than our own hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carys E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DQSCN, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Carys E:

Thank you very much for stopping by and enjoying the hospitality and cuisine of our Claro Que Seafood Restaurant. All of our recipes are based on the freshness of our products and the Costa Rican touch provided with our attentive chef and his team that try their best to please the even the most sophisticated palate. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy not only our restaurants but also the hospitality and amenities of our resort.

Best regards,

Denny Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing