We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip for Costa Rica Winter Travel”
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great trip for Costa Rica Winter Travel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our family spent 4 nights at the Si Como No and had a great time. Remember this is winter in June for Costa Rica. So you will get rain, mostly in the afternoon or evenings. The first day we found a frog in our room, friendly guy non poisonous. The staff is great about giving recommendations for local restaurants. Five minute walk up the hill we eat at Cafe Agua Azul which was a great recommendation by the hotel staff. Great fish! Did a zip line tour with Titi Canopy and had a great guide called Monkey. Don't miss this, if you like zip lines. They do a Tarzan swing at the end, fun fun fun......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Michael I:

Thank you for your review!! The tourist board changed the name from "Rainy Season" to "Green Season” about a decade ago, because most people think that it will rain for much of their stay, but actually, as you pointed out, you will get sunny mornings, with welcoming rain showers late afternoon, and ending often with a spectacular tropical sunset. The ideal program by Mother Nature to relax before a dinner on our pool terrace at the Rico Tico, or the surf and turf menu at the Claro Que Si Grill, before catching a movie in our THX movie Theater. Now that’s what we deliver in the Green Season that just a few of the good reasons to enjoy our “winter” months in tropical Costa Rica.


Thank you again for your comment and we hope to have you again as our guest in the near future here at our resort our at Villa Blanca Cloud forest Hotel or Aguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado National Park.

Best regards
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    376
    96
    36
    24
See reviews for
578
536
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel Si Como No has the best customer services and the best view of the Pacific Ocean. I like how the hotel is in the rainforest on top of the cliff. We see iguana and Capuchin within the hotel courtyard. I would recommend my family and friends to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Trandi T:

Thank you very much for staying with us at Si Como No . We appreciate you valued our customer service which we're proud to say still averages a 98% guests rating of Good to Excellent! Taking advantage of the views from our jungle terraces, and the architecture situated on the natural topography that overlooks the coastline of Manuel Antonio, is what we feel offers our guest to experience what you shares as, “the best of my life”! That means a lot to all of us with Greentique Hotels who aim to please at our unique hotel properties.
We hope to see you back with us again to join our extended family of repeat clients and discover more of the same good natured energy in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Si Como No. Our kids - ages 2, 7, 8 - had a blast on the pool water slide and running through the vast grounds chasing monkeys and other local animals. They also enjoyed the included butterfly habitat across the street. Food was good, but we also enjoyed the proximity to other locations in the Manuel Antonio district. Places like the Wagon with their woodfire pizzas or Dragonfly Thai were interesting and tasty alternatives to the also good traditional Tico style and seafood options. The Oceanview room was very nice. Beds were firm but comfortable, and everything was clean. If you are planning to have consistently strong wifi service, this may be the one downfall of the location. While WiFi is offered, it is not always strong or consistent. Because of the large location, there are several wifi access points. Some of them work better than others. Some (like the one nearest our room) grant access to your device but do not get out to the internet. We had to tell our device to forget that access point and then connect to another a bit further away to get wifi from our room. But, we didn't go on vacation to sit online, so this was just a minor annoyance to us.

We coupled our stay here with 3 days at the sister property - Villa Blanca in the cloud forest. Villa Blanca was also an excellent facility in a very beautiful setting. The staff were nice at Si Como No, but I cannot give enough praise to the staff at Villa Blanca. They were all very friendly and genuinely interested in our well being and that our kids were having the time of their lives. They remembered names, and went out of their way to come get our kids and show them interesting sites or events that were happening. I would certainly recommend the family package offered on the website that includes both of these locations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Nathan A:

We were pleased that you and your family enjoyed our family package of our Greentique exceptional Costa Rican experiences. That you took advantage of many of the family activities at both properties, including our nature exhibits within the wildlife refuge, and at the beaches of Manuel Antonio. WIFI in our jungle habitat does not work 100%, but as you realised being connected 24/7 was not your idea of a vacate to escape. Fortunately we always have available WIFI in the resort’s public areas and balconies as we continue to refine the coverage within our jungle terraces. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have you once again as our guests.


Best regards,
Denny Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location, big rooms and helpful staff. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. Breakfast was great, best I have ever had at a hotel "breakfast bar". Other meals were okay, but pricey. I would recommend having a rental car so that you could enjoy all of Manuel Antonio & Quepos.

Room Tip: Closer to the ocean (farther from the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear LRSG1:


Thank you very much for staying with us at Si Como No and we are glad that you enjoyed our fresh buffet breakfast every morning & the helpfulness of our staff. Sorry you did not take advantage of our complementary beach shuttles and public transportation to Quepos. We hope to see you back with us again soon or with our other members of Greentique Hotels in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn, or in San Ramon at the Villa Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve.
Best regards,
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkview, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at Si Como No. The staff was very friendly, sincere and helpful. The views from from the rooms are spectacular and combined with the jungle setting of the main restaurant you really feel immersed in this Pacific coast setting. The beaches at both Manuel Antonio National park and the public beach are as nice as any we have visited around the world with monkeys, iguanas and other wildlife. Don't miss the complimentary visit to the butterfly atrium just across the street from the resort and happy hour should also be on your "schedule", if your fortunate Jasmine L. will be the bartender at the adult pool bar.
High Marks all around for this eco- friendly resort

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Alan K:
Glad you enjoy the magic of nature and the good nature of our eco-friendly resort and staff!” That has been our motto since the hotel first opened 20 years ago and continues to be our philosophy we practice every day. Seems that you took advantage of our Wildlife Refuge and the resort amenities and tours we offer, including the nature exhibits you mentioned at the Manuel Antonio Nature Park: the Butterfly Garden & the Crocodile Lagoons. Thank you also for recognising our conservation efforts, part of our Sustainable Hospitality we share with our sister hotels at Villa Blanca in the Cloud Forest of San Ramon, and at Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula.

Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife, two young boys (ages 5 & 6) and I had an incredible time at Si Como No. The grounds and rooms are beautiful and the staff impeccable - they are very friendly, helpful, and professional. Whether you want to hang out in the family pool (with awesome swim up bar, water slide, or waterfall jacuzzi - not hot) or the adult pool and bar, you will enjoy yourself and be in good hands. The food and breakfast buffet (full) is excellent and priced pretty good for a resort. The rooms and amenities are very good and comfortable. The views of the ocean are breathtaking.

If I were to change one thing, it would be to boost the signal or add more repeaters for wireless connections. However, that is a miniute complaint, as you will have plenty of things to do while in the area.

I would recommend this resort to everyone I could. In fact, when my family and I visit Costa Rica again (and we definitely will) we are planning on staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Matthew B:


Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you and your family and becoming part of great vacation memories to take back home and share with others. That’s the reason why, as a member of Greentique Hotels, we continue to do our best to deliver “exceptional Costa Rica experiences” and be responsible to Mother Nature too. Thank you for your mention regarding our dedicated and friendly staff which is big part of that experience that draws folks back again to stay with us again. We therefore look forward to your next visit and hope you include our sister hotels to add even more special holiday memories for the whole family.


Best regards
Dennys Quiros
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is up a hill in Manuel Antonio. Away from the main street. There are some other hotels, restaurants and bars along the road.
The reception is lovely with an excellent view over the Pacific Ocean. They like mosaic glass windows here and it's very pretty. Check-in was easy and we were shown to our room and helped with our bags.
Our room was very nice. A big king sized bed and a seating area with a sofa and coffee table. We were on our honeymoon and found two champagne flutes and a bottle of sparkling wine with a message on our arrival, which was a nice touch (not sure if other guests got this as well). Our balcony had the same view as reception and it was lovely to sit and look out at the view. The room had a mini bar (not included but reasonable prices) and good air conditioning. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and two sinks. There were toiletries. It was a nice bathroom with a coloured glass window with fish on. We slept well in our room.
There are two pools. One slightly more family orientated pool and one for adults only. The adults only pool was empty, as we went out of season. There is a main swimming pool with fairly cool water and a swim up bar. The bartender was friendly and chatted with us while making us cocktails. There is a Jacuzzi up on the sundeck at the adult pool, which is nice and overlooking the ocean, but the water is the same temperature as the pool. Probably great in the hot summer but not so great when it's very warm!
Family pool is nice with another swim up bar. There is happy hour for cocktails and drinks (the 2 for 1 offer only applies for exactly the same drink, i.e. you either both have to have the same drink, or you have to drink two!). The family pool also has a slide, which we went on. It's good fun and picks up some speed at the end!
This hotel has a cinema and shows films every evening. We didn't watch any but we did poke our heads and look. It looked pretty good and had a good sized screen. They showed Skyfall and Monsters University while we were here.
We went to the restaurant attached to the hotel one evening (seafood restaurant). Lots of the hotel staff gave us 15% off food vouchers for this restaurant (only one voucher per meal). The calamari was very tasty. The seafood platter was good but the lobster was a little overcooked. The waitress serving us wasn't particularly friendly, and they seemed keen to go home, as there were only two tables in. It was a nice meal and had a lovely view. I'd recommend going there one night to try it out.
Breakfast was ok. Fruit, cereals, some hot options, cakes, biscuits. Nothing too exciting and not as good as the other hotels we'd stayed at in Costa Rica, but ok.
The best thing about this hotel was that, one morning, a whole troop of spider monkeys came down through the hotel. They were on the roof of the breakfast area and running down the bannisters around the sundeck. It was a great opportunity for photos and the monkeys literally ran passed right next to me!
The staff were nearly all friendly and helpful.
Come here for the views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KT3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Katie A:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an overall positive and detailed review. We feel your appreciation of the resort’s amenities, atmosphere, and helpful staff convey what’s an important part of Greentique Hotels who try their best to provide great vacation experiences. Regarding the unique incident one evening at our restaurant, we truly were surprised and immediately reviewed your comment with our manager and do apologise. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future and maybe consider including our other Greentique Hotels here in Costa Rica and a dinner on us.
Best regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing