We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“They have a lot to learn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“They have a lot to learn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Si Como No came highly recommended from friends and was ranked highly by travel guides. The location is excellent; it's quite close to Manuel Antonio and the hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the public beach. This is not a good hotel for those with disabilities or seniors because of all the stairs. You can get a great work out just going to and from your hotel room to the lobby. The actual room was comfortable especially given that it was accommodating 4 people. There was a one king size bed, a day bed, and a cot. The bathroom was quite spacious as well. Our terrace had an amazing view of the ocean.

The buffet breakfast was fine, but the fruit was not covered and was always covered with bugs. Otherwise the Rico Tico restaurant was quite good and had many vegetarian options. We did however have an awkward incident our last evening there with the Si Como No restaurant. We sat in the restaurant for 45 minutes and still had not received our appetizer. The desk staff only asked me to fill out a survey and didn't attempt to make up for the incident.

All of our activities were booked through the hotel. Watch out because they take your money before they confirm if there is space. The woman at the desk, Sandra, said, "It was a deposit." She only told us that after she made all the call for the itinerary. We made her refund us the money and they pressured her to find another appropriate activity. We all got aggravated over the incident.

So while the amenities are great the staff have a lot to learn.

There was free Wi-Fi in the lobby also.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    340
    88
    33
    22
See reviews for
505
476
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We just returned from three days at Si Como No and I have to say I was disappointed in the hotel room. We splurged and reserved a Deluxe Suite which was definitely a misnomer. It was one room with a Queen sized bed and two pullouts added for my kids. The pictures on the website make it look like there is a small wall separating the two spaces but that was not the case in our room. My husband and I like to get suites to have some privacy and that did not happen at Si Como No. The view was amazing and we enjoyed the private balcony. We stayed in room 45 which is closer to the road but we didn't hear any noise or have any issues with our location. The room was fairly clean when we checked in and stayed completely bug free (we did have a small lizard on our ceiling one night but my son considered this a bonus:) My husband was not pleased with the housekeeping, however, since when we returned from a day at the beach our floor was still very wet. The staff was wonderful and the food at both restaurants was delicious and reasonable. I didn't see any other hotels in Manuel Antonio to compare to Si Como No but I have a feeling this is a typical hotel for the area. They don't need to splurge on the quality of the rooms because you pay for the views which are spectacular. However, I would be extremely disappointed to pay these rates and not get a great view as some other reviewers have expressed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lak0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

For off season, the staff at the front desk was quite unappealing and snooty. After a four hour ride we were greeted by no one but a broken telescope witha view of the ocean. Our room was not ready at 2pm so we waited. We waited for a sub-standard room with a partial view of the water. When asked if there was another room with a "full" ocean view, we were met with a man at the front desk who pretended he didnt understand us- He made some comment that that was what they had for a "superior" room. Until I stated we were not happy and would look elsewhere, he didnt offer to change our room. However, standing firm, and noting the hotel did not appear to be full, we were eventually upgraded to a beautiful room in this eco friendly hotel with full ocean view. To me, the most eco friendly thing they did was ot cut the AC until you came into the room. We were not impressed. Our unfriendly desk person also did not tell us that we were entitled to a free breakfast so on our first day we took a walk down the road to find a place to eat as their coffee shop next door seemed high priced for what they were offering. !!!! Later we found out that we were entitled ot breafast but they did not credit us for the meal we missed.

The place was beautiful albiet quite expensive for the time of year. The food was ok but better and less expensive was found down the road. The spa was so- so and threw in no extras. While we ended up enjoying our stay, it was no thanks to the desk staff. They were mostly unhelpful when we checked in and did nothing to let us know what was availible at the place. They didnt let us know aobut their van ot the beach or that the public beach they dropped you at was a "fecal depository." They really need to upgrade their customer serivce. This place has good bones; nice rooms and OK service at the restaurants. But they really need to work on customer service at the front desk.

Nice pool. No beach. On our own, we found a hidden and pretty beach by walking a couple of miles.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chsb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We had 2 rooms, 27 and 28, and they were right near the road ( a lot of motorcycle noise and car alarms) and 2 rooms from the lobby. The view of the ocean was obstructed and no view of the rainforest. Room 27's bathroom stainglass window in the shower was near the walkway and some of the glass pieces of the artwork were clear. In addition there was a cement bench right underneath the window. It was my teen daughter and son's room so I decided to stand on the bench and see if I could see anything in their bathroom. I saw the whole bathroom clearly. Although I'm sure no one would at the hotel would do that, I didn't want to take any chances so I asked the front desk to hang a towel over the window. Someone from housekeeping came promptly and stuffed a towel in the frame and shut the window.
Hotel shuttle leaves you at the public beach. Near this beach area is a large sign in spanish. I could figure out the words "fecal material." Although we went way down the beach to stick our feet in, my husband saw a piece of feces floating, so that was the end of our beach time there. To get to the really beautiful beaches in Manuel Antonio national park we had seen on the park tour, we would have to get a taxi to the park, pay $7 each and then hike about 1/2 mile. Also to leave the park you have to walk over a water-filled gully near that large sign mentioned before by getting into a row boat there and walking the length to clear the gully. The owner of the boat expects a tip. We decided to forego all this and just stay by the nice hotel pool with a beautiful view.
Included breakfast is great, but choose a table away from the buffet or you'll be bombarded by flies. Banana bread is excellent.
Movie theater was great although a little warm.
Internet was down when I needed it so I couldn't use free hour or confirm my airline info.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cressydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Just returned from Si Como No July 11-18 with husband and 18 & 21 yr old sons. Amazing! Hotel was beautiful, staff attentive, security the best. Stayed in room 46 so we could have more room, fantastic view. Even tho had no TV in room, boys enjoyed pool, movie theater (seats at least 50), and all nature tour aspects. Ask for Juan as a guide to National Park. Did not eat there as we like to get out and explore area. Free shuttle up and down mountain worth its weight in gold. Boys surfed every day. Eat at Cafe Milagra for breakfast (up hill), Blue Marlin for lunch (at beach) and Agua Azul for dinner (up hill about 75 yards). Also airplane restaurant downhill (can't remember name). Would go back in a heartbeat! Is close to road, but that never bothered us. Most places are close to the road. There is an iguana that lives under the front walkway, saw him every day. Internet cafe in art gallery convenient for boys. Was great to be away from cell phones, TV, girlfriends, etc. The four of us played cards at night and had a blast!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TarheelsofVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Wonderful .... if you think the wildlife has a magical nature you must stay in this resort constructed in the middle of the Costa Rica rain forest. The best customer services in Costa Rica. Every single facility is made just to offer the best relaxing vacation you may need.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

This hotel was a great disappointment... Do not stay here unless you are looking for a two star motel. Once your transfer arrives at the "resort" (which is next to restaurants and busy road), fear will run thru spine as your realize no one is there to greet you. The driver will place your luggage on the side of the road and then you will have to walk yourself to the pathetic reception area. No one will be there at check in area to greet you with a cold towel and a drink (like in The Springs Resort, Hotel Parador ..) Then, YOU will have to greet the unfriendly staff whose first words are I have an excellent tour for your family. After 10 minutes, a tired looking bellboy with no cart will arrive to help you carry 2 of your luggages. As soon as you open the door to your DELUXE room you are greeted by this humid, musky smell.. oh it is an ecolodge so the AC is left off (that's the excuse) UNACCEPTABLE, ecolodge is not synonimous with dirty, pathetic looking rooms and surroundings.. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE... I cried myself to sleep the first night and the next morning contacted my travel agency (THE BEST IN THE WORLD.. Costa Rica Online Travel). They immediately transferred me to paradise.. HOTEL PARADOR

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaraAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica
Hotel Si Como No Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing