We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place in Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Arboleda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arboleda
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 28 December 2006

This is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The pictures on the website totally misrepresent the deteriorated condition of the hotel. Despite advanced reservations, we found our family checked into a very moldly, extremely dirty, electrically hazardous (i.e. exposed wires in the shower) room with no provisions (i.e. towels, dishes etc.) and a broken bed. We were travelling with children and this place was dangerous. To top it off, the hotel staff stole from us a significant amount of money. In visiting other hotels in the area, we discovered this hotel is known for poor accomidation, poor service and high rates of theft by hotel staff. Indeed, it is claimed that the family that owns this hotel stole the land from their own family. It is not a wonder that this hotel remained empty even during high season. This is not a cheap place to stay and should not be advertised as a "deal."

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YukonSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2005

If you like to spend a lot of money for a very basic cabin, this is your place to stay. It is dark inside, the floor is dirty, the beds are cracky and the air con is so so. Yes, your are very close to the beach, but unfortunately it is not the best part of the beach since the smell of ---- is everywhere. Looking for another place to cool off a little? Go to the swimming pool, at least it you are in the position to enter it. We were not, the -very old- pool was closed. The lack of love and dedication in this place is annoying. We booked for three nights but decided to leave after two nights. The lady at the reception looked at us, listened to our complaints and decided not to care. This is the first time that we write such a negative mail. PLEASE BE AWARE: there are much better places to go.

8  Thank PatriciaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2004

In the mornings we could sit and watch the monkeys in a garden like setting. Nice beach. Lots of Iguanas, fire flys, and other animals. Pool was older, but clean. Staff was helpful, most do not speak much english, but we managed to get whatever we needed and they have a laundry service. I would leave money on the pillow for the cleaning women and they would always set it on the dresser and not take it. This place is on a hillside and the 8 acres lead down to the beach via a steep windy road. Some rooms are a lot better than others, so you need to look at whats available before you stay. We were in rooms 27 and 26 which is in a building halfway down. We loved it! This is an older place. If you are looking for a luxury Hotel that caters to Americans tourists this is not the place for you. If you want to experience Costa Rica--enjoy!!

5  Thank earlward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
14
Reviewed 6 July 2004

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to. We travelled to Manuel Antonio for Christmas 2003 and all hotels were booked. I am not surprised this hotel was the only hotel with rooms available.

We paid $110 pr. night and the room was dirty, the hot water didn't work, no lights on the patio and we had some noisy animals inside the A/C unit. Two shirts were destroyed on the dirty chairs on the patio.

The pool was dirty too and the people working there suddenly didn't understand a single word of English when we complained. We finally managed to get in touch with the manager who gave us 10% discount for missing hot water. However, when we finally got the bill, the discount was not included. They actually charged an additional cost when I saw the final credit card bill.

The breakfast was expensive, bad and it took ages to serve it.

We are not difficult wrt hotels and we do not require a high standard. We have travelled all over the world and are almost always satisfied with the service. This is actually the very first time I have filed a complaint like this. Manuel Antonio is a beatiful place with lots of nice hotels. Please avoid Hotel Arboleda !!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: cerca del restaurante
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Will-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peque b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank baronwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arboleda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arboleda

Address: Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio,frente a playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a short five-minutes walk north of beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park in Quepos. Costa Rica.Here our guest enjoy lush tropical landscaping, a refreshing pool beautiful balcony with views and convenient beachfront,access right in own backyard.Its the perfect place for surfers,to stay for surfing in Manuel Antonio. Special price for Back packer.Enjoy our facilities and service includes:Beach front access,swimming pool,gift shop,Ocean front resturant,wifi,tv,cable,parking,and very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Arboleda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arboleda Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing