We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel did not disappoint. It is a large hotel with a selection of rooms or individual cabins in a jungle setting. The pool area and restaurant were excellent. The room was large and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the themed night at the bar, particularly the karaoke. It is within walking distance of several good restaurants and on the bus route to the beach. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Located on top of the hill on the way to Manuel Antonio. Food service was very good, rooms adequate, casino is small, situated on hillside so some mobility required, beautiful setting, across the road from the hotels with view over the bay, close to other dining including La Avion, an interesting restaurant, small grocery, on local bus line with close stop that goes to Manuel Antonio or down to Quepos.

Room Tip: avoid stairs with rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 326Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great place to have a drink, 2nd floor look out, secure parking (important in CR), gringo sports on TV, pool tables, bar food. Casino is kind of slow, dull maybe?

It has never has drawn much of a crowd in 15 years that I know the place, but it is there and beats the one downtown on the first floor of the Best Western in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal and cannot comment as far as price. Though I was suppose to have an ordinary room I was upgraded to a suite. My room was clean and had everything I needed. The hotel Wifi is shaky. The hotel is located on top of a hill half-way between a town of Querado and the beach at Manuel Antonio. There is an extremely economical bus going on the road between the town and beach. The hotel has superb grounds and monkeys are scampering on the grounds. The monkeys jumping on the roof make a hell of a pleasant noise. I have eaten at the restaurant and have found it to be good and not overly expensive. In short I would stay at this hotel again. The beaches and rain forest are superb but the town is sort of grundgy by Costa Rican standards. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel was included as part of our string of hotels in the Gate 1 Fly-Drive Costa Rica package. Based on other reviews, we opted to upgrade from a standard room to a bungalow for an extra $20 per night, and I'm totally happy we did. The bungalos are roomy and very comfortable, and having that kind of privacy and view of the pool area was wonderful.
The staff everywhere in the hotel were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was excellent, and all the wait staff were great. The receptionists were extremely helpful, and we booked two excursions through them for the Si Come No night walk and a guided day hike in the park.
As others have noted, the monkey show at the pool was the highlight. One of the little buggers even took the plastic globe off the top of one of the light fixtures around the pool and tossed it onto the walkway. Fortunately, it was plastic, so it only broke in half instead of shattering.
We ate at the restaurant by the pool several times. Breakfast was included in our package and the options were all very good, though the kitchen is awfully slow getting the food out sometimes. We had dinner once and it was good, but not great, pretty much on par with most of the food we had in Costa Rica.
One nice thing about the hotel is that they have several happy hours during the day. One at breakfast (!), one at the pool bar from 2-4, and another in the casino bar in the evenings. Beers were only $2 and they had a few drink specials for happy hours as well. I believe the casino slot machines were made around the 1920's but the minimum bets were so low, around 20 cents, that it was a nice diversion one evening.
If you want to go to other restaurants, there are some good ones nearby just up the hill. If you want to walk down to the beach, be prepared for a 20 minute slog, much of which will be without a sidewalk so you'll be dodging cars, plus the walk back to the hotel will be uphill all the way. Take a cab: they're cheap and plentiful
I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat. It was easily the best hotel of our trip, and our memories of the place will stay with us for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrxcitement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the night after staying at a higher end hotel for a night. The staff was excellent . Letting us check in early, so we won't have to keep luggage in our car. The room was fine. The wifi worked in our room for my husband, I had to use it from the casino. We had breakfast which was fine, but the setting of the restaurant with monkeys in the trees a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizroony61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The good: rooms are neat well laid out, and clean. The bathroom was large with easy access. A/c was effective.
The pool was lovely but too warm for a tropical location; some monkeys came around in the evening for a very cool show!
The staff were nice, attentive and made us welcome.
The bad: wifi was restricted in bandwidth so was virtually unusable. Also it was only available in the pool area where there was no obvious power. If wifi is as important to u as it is to me I would not stay here!
The restaurant food was not great. Frozen steamed vegetables should never be on a restaurant plate - especially in a land with so much fresh fruit & veg. The prawn salad was terrible - frozen peeled prawns. The ceviche was, I suspect, past it's best.
The disco/casino is tragic.
I feel this was very overpriced for the experience and I would not give this my recommendation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKE80Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £72 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing