We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Exactly what we Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pictures on web site are nice, but the real thing definitively needs a face lift! Rooms are big and comfortable, but look really old. The TV is like the one my grandma had in her kitchen years ago... And do not dare to ask for wi fi, cause even when the site says you will have it, the front desk will say "no, there is no wifi in the rooms" . Though, I will surely come to their Restaurant again, food is great and service is really nice... But the Hotel is not what we expected!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGabyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pros: Eugene at the pool bar whips up some excellent mojito's and creamy colada's, good food at the pool bar (get the parfait at breakfast), helpful friendly service, bungalows are in the middle of the rainforest with amazing wildlife right outside your door, location is great for walking to all sorts of dinners or Manuel Antonio's.

Cons: Casino was closed for repairs, one family member reported his side of the bed was constantly "moist".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eluvity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We originally booked an 'ocean view' room. We walked into the room and yes it's technically an ocean view. Pull out Magellans spyglass and you'll be able to really see the ocean. The room looked like a 1980's refurbished motel, with pink drapes, old appliances, and beds. I wouldn't recommend the main hotel. We immediately requested a Bungalow. If you choose this hotel, the Bungalow is the only way to go. They're detached, large and set at the edge of the rain forest. We did enjoy our stay there, but believe there are other hotels that might be better worth your time.

Room Tip: Bungalow is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldburgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For the most part we enjoyed our stay at Byblos. The resort setting is quite nice. We had a warm and friendly check-in. Property is well maintained and is clean. We ate at both the sports bar and the restaurant and food was quite tasty. We had numerous monkey sightings and got glimpses of other animals as well. Sports bar had nightly events and Karoke night on Friday was a lot of fun.

The only issue we had was with the room safe. On day three we noticed that some of the money kept in the safe was missing. Not everything was taken but 50% of the cash was missing. There were no signs of any break-in and nothing else including passports were taken. We brought it to the attention of the front desk and they said they have strict procedures in place. They asked if we wanted to call the police. We were getting ready to leave and we did not have any concrete proof. Maybe it is a single rogue employee but be warned about keeping cash in the room safe.

Room Tip: Falafal bar is walking distance from the hotel and is fantastic. We also spent quite a bit on an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank searp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is tucked into the edge of the jungle with lots of tropical vegetation and wildlife. That was my favorite part of the stay. Our room was OK, but not very convenient. The Wifi didn't work in the room, so I had to go to a public area to connect. There were so many steep steps that I had to plan my trips outside of the room to avoid too many trips. The pool was lovely. We watched a sloth go up the tree next to the pool and then stay there for the days we were there. The bar was OK, and the bartender was great! He was generous with his drink size, and he was anxious to please. The casino no longer exists, but one night there was a karaoke party which was a lot of fun. We tried to eat in the restaurant one night, but they said they couldn't serve us due to two large groups with reservations. There were plenty of tables, but that didn't seem to matter. After explaining to them that we were hotel guests, they finally agreed to make us something to take back to our room! The jungle feeling was wonderful, but the whole experience was not up to par.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the fewest steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andante51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Pizza pizza pizza...fabulouso! Pepperoni , Margareta, Canadian bacon with pineapple ..compresso salad ...to name just a few of the wonderful choices! From pool side to table! The food was always great! A wonderful time was had by all!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmorgan1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Don't ask for anything beyond your key. We had to beg for an extra towel. Desk staff are in a coma. They were no help getting reservations or anything.


Poolside bar/restaurant staff are great.

I would not recommend this hotel.

The location is great but cheerless staff are disappointing.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mbeckom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelByblos, Owner at Byblos Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mbeckom,
Thank you for your recent stay at Byblos Resort and for taking the time to post your positive comments about our poolside and restaurant staff, and our location. I regret that you had an unfortunate experience with one of our reception staff in the course of making your reservation and getting an extra towel. We generally enjoy excellent feedback about our friendly employees and reception staff ,which in most cases receives high marks from other guests.
However, we will definitely review the circumstances of your experience and do whatever we can to see that every guest feels attended to in the manner that they deserve. If you have any other details to share that would be helpful, please feel free to contact me directly (davis@bybloshotelcostarica.com) or our Reception Supervisor via our website.
I hope you will reconsider a return visit to our establishment so we will have a chance to make it up to you. If that interests you, please do not hesitate to contact me as mentioned above.
Sincerely,
Davis Henley
Hotel Byblos Resort
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £64 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing