We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventure in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Resort & Casino
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

An excellant adventure into another culture well assisted by a small first class hotel with supporting staff focused on making our trip a wonderful experience! Bungalow in the trees with all modern conveniences surrounded by natural beauty and occasional visits from white faced monkeys and butterflys. Hotel well located for all the area has to offer (rain forest, fishing, zip-line and white water rafting tours). Food was great and speciality pizzas are famous in the Manuel Antonio area. I would strongly suggest anyone considering a trip to Central America in general or Costa Rica specifically check out Byblos. You will be glad you did!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, staff
  • Disliked — Noise in the mornings from monkees
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LawHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    147
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
104
198
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

We had booked a private villa in Manuel Antonio which proved unacceptable on arrival (late, in the dark, in the rain, tired, stressed - you get the picture...). We walked directly across the street to the Byblos Resort, and asked about rooms. Coincidently, my daughter had heard about the Byblos from a friend in Louisiana - who recommended it highly - and it turns out, rightly. A friendly and concerned receptionist showed us several villas and rooms, and offered some very attractive discounts on the spot. We took a one bedroom villa and a highrise room, both very comfortable and clean. Our villa had a small balcony looking out over the pool area, very enjoyable for coffee in the morning. The property is build up around a hollow with a running stream, almost adjacent to the pool. It is filled with trees and vegetation, including beautiful plantings and flowers. Orchids and Ylang Ylang provide a wonderful perfume.

We saw morning and evening performances by traveling monkey troops, and had a pair of agouti that came out intermittently. Also lots of birds.

Breakfast was included, with options ranging from typical Costa Rican breakfast with rice and beans accompanying the eggs, to more conventional options.

Staff was uniformly helpful, and the owners were on site and welcoming. All together, a wonderful stay with very nice people.

  • Liked — Location, jungle setting, people
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdancer104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

It was a spectacular week and the service and hospitality were superior! The bar, pizarria and hotel/cabona's were beautiful. A must stay place!

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, quality of food.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmorgan1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

My Husband and I recently stayed 6 nights at Hotel Byblos and had a great time. The staff spoke great English, the accommodations were clean, the grounds were beautifully kept, the pool was nice and we were close to the grocery store and bank. We stayed in the bungalows which is the only way to stay at Byblos because it gets very noisy at the casino/bar at night. We really enjoyed our room which had a little fridge and microwave and a great balcony to hang out on. They now have a computer set up at the front desk with free internet for the guests and free Wi Fi for those who bring their computers. The staff was pleasant but did not find them helpful in planning trips or giving advise about the area. We were booked on a mangrove tour, which yielded nothing short of the fact that they have trained monkeys to jump in the boat by feeding them. We would highly recommend a guided tour through Manuel Antonio Park, lots of animals could be missed. We were also delighted by the monkeys who seem to make multiple daily trips through the hotel grounds. We ate at the bar by the pool and the pizza/calzones were great. Because we were there during the nonpeak season some of the area restaurants were closed but we really enjoyed the staff and view at El Avion, so much we went four times. Also we found the Gato Negro Italian restautant across from El Avion great too. Cafe Milagro is worth the stop and we also enjoyed a nice dinner at the Rico Tico Bar at Si Como No. The beach was gorgeous, and yes worth the title of one the world's most beautiful beaches. It was only a short bus ride for ~ fifty cents. No need to take a taxi to the beach (~$6), the bus is great. Inside the park they have nice restrooms and outdoor showers. It is true that you need to watch your belongings on the beach, the raccoons especially, as well as the monkeys will run off with your belongings. There was not much to see in downtown Quepos, as most of the best souvenirs were found down by the beach. Hotel Byblos is worth it for the fair price and we would stay in the Bugalows again although it would have been nice to have an ocean view.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mbhall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

We checked 6-7 hotels before seeing this one. All the hotels we have seen before El Byblos were either booked, or too crappy, or too fancy for our taste. It was already dark and as soon as we saw something is going on here (casino, sports bar, billiards, soccer table, pizzeria) - the decision was obvious.

Unique Qualities: We got an exceptional deal (again due to low season) a "junior suite" on 2nd floor with an ocean view and a big room for $60. Staff was so naturally friendly (costa rica style), Brigitte - funny French lady - bar manager, Claudia - warm, friendly (and cute) Peruvian and Charles - Kenyan national team soccer player became quickly our friends...We really enjoyed everything about this place for the last 3 nights in Costa Rica.

Hotel has a pool and monkeys jumping in their garden. I saw a hiking trail but we hadn't checked where it goes.

  • Stayed November 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srechko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

The staff at Hotel Byblos makes the trip worthwhile. They were extremely helpful during our entire 3 day stay. They helped us determine what activities we may enjoy and gave recommendations on food/travel. They even set up private travel for us from the hotel and to our next destination. The food at the hotel was above average- and at a resonable cost. Breakfast was included and was a hot homemade meal- the pancakes are absolutely delicious! One night while we were swimming in the pool, we saw 2 different types of monkeys climbing in the trees above our bungalow. The bungalow itself was very clean, private, and safe. We had a slight problem with our clothes being damp and not drying- but I am pretty sure that was related to our traveling during the "wet season". The facility also offers a clothes cleaning service. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KIKS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

The Byblos was very helpful in arranging the best tours of the area. The guides for the park & zipline tour were excellent. The pool is beautiful and surrounded by rainforest. Troops of monkeys (capuchian) visit several times a day. We even had a daily visit from a Howler monkey and one visit from a sloth (upside down of course). The Byblos has a very peaceful setting with a quiet stream and lush vegetation. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our two school age children were treated like royalty and loved their visit - they did not want to leave Costa Rica. The food was very good - we especially loved the daily breakfast with local fruits. Afternoon fruity drinks at the pool bar were exceptional. Thanks to the Byblos for their hospitality and for making our trip to the Rainforest something we will treasure for years to come.

  • Liked — The staff's knowledge, friendliness and desire to make our trip exceptional.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was excellent!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelmaven91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Resort & Casino

Property: Byblos Resort & Casino
Address: Km. 4 Carretera Principal de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byblos Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Byblos offers all the amenities and comforts of a three-star boutique resort, while conserving the essence of jungle style lodging. All rooms are spacious offering ample views of the local Wildlife and Garden Areas or Pacific Ocean. Accommodations feature air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, safe box, hair dryer, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Free gated parking and wireless internet access is available, as well as our poolside Bistro Pizzeria, Billfish Sportsbar and air conditioned Casino. Close to all tours, attractions, spas and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byblos Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Byblos Resort And Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing