We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views. Reasonably priced.”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Views. Reasonably priced.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just got back from staying four days at this great hotel in the Manuel Antonio National Park area of Costa Rica. This hotel is situated right in the middle of the Costa Rican jungle, and boasts more monkeys than people. Well I myself did not find this to be true, there are monkeys, toucans, and all other sorts of Costa Rican wildlife. The beach is within walking distance, and the National Park is just down the hill. If you want to great view of the Pacific Ocean from your balcony along with excellent support personnel, then the Costa Verde is where you want to stay when visiting the area. As an added plus, you are within walking distance to a great restaurant, El Avion, and the barbecue place across the street is terrific as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR71796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    510
    167
    63
    44
See reviews for
515
524
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in bungalow E-6. The photos look dreamy. What you don't see in the photos is that this bungalow sits on a busy road - the main road to and from the National Park. Therefore, all hours of day and night, noisy cars and trucks are rumbling by. When we checked in the room, it certainly could have been better cleaned. The kitchen was barely stocked with utensils and no microwave, making it difficult to prepare a simple meal. There was no bed pad on the bed, so the sheets sit right on the mattress and easily slide off. We also found beach access was not easy. I had hoped for a path to the water. Instead you had to walk along the busy road quite a long trek. The swimming pools were very basic. Compared to other accommodations we had in Costa Rica, this was disappointing. However the up side: we did see lots of monkeys.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 444Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed here some years ago and pleased to report the property is as good as I remember! Even more monkeys this trip--saw 8 of them leap onto a coconut palm right outside my room balcony. And the cantina did an excellent job preparing the dorado I had caught. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarksTwoCents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My recent stay at Hotel Costa Verde with my wife confirmed my very positive experience when I stayed there three years ago. This is an amazing facility with beautiful coastal views, very dense jungle throughout the property and LOTS of wildlife! We saw spider monkeys, white faced monkeys, and howler monkeys along with too many species of birds to describe.

Our room was wonderful in the Costa Verde II building. It overlooked the pool and the ocean and has very beautiful wood furniture and a wood themed decor in the room and the building. Sitting on the balcony early each morning guaranteed multiple viewings of wildlife that ranged from reptiles to birds to mammals to insects!

Finally, the staff, to a person, is excellent. They are helpful, enthusiastic, very knowledgeable and offer assistance and information at every opportunity. The receptionist, Rebecca, was especially helpful and friendly. She was able to recommend tour guides, horseback riding vendors, and other activities to do while staying at Hotel Costa Verde.

Go---you will love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at Costa Verde for 4 nights in a 2-room suite (A-13). We arrived late at night in the rain and were pleasantly surprised how easy check-in was and how nice the staff was. They even drove us up the hill to our bungalow so we didn't have to lug our luggage in the dark. Our rooms weren't fancy, but they had everything we needed and more! The grounds were beautiful and there really are tons of monkeys. This was the first of 2 hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica and it was definitely my favorite. It wasn't fancy, but it was unique and exactly the right amount of experience we wanted in the jungle. It's definitely a trek to/from the beach (you have to follow stairs down to the road, then walk along the road a few hundred yards to get to the beach entrance). The trek back up was definitely harder, but you could also just grab a cab. The Anaconda restaurant, right next to the front desk, had decent breakfast and the best view! The other restaurants (El Avion, La Cantina and the Wagon Wheel) were all pretty decent. Prices were about comparable to US prices. These are all within walking distance. Overall, this place was great. The only problem we had was our safe wasn't working, but it wasn't a big deal because we just used the one in the other room. Oh, and we didn't see a single scary spider!

Room Tip: Our room was near the top of the property. It did require walking up and down a big hill to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived a little earlier than check in time for our stay and the staff was extremely accommodating, they kept our luggage for us so we could go watch the Costa Rica world cup game at the sports bar across the street. Every time we encountered the staff they went above and beyond with getting us taxis, restaurant recommendations, shopping and kid friendly activities! We took our 3 small children 5 years and under with us on this trip, and the staff was always excited to see them and talk to them especially since my boys were soccer fanatics! In fact they became such great friends that my son told me that he would miss the girl there when we leave! Anyways, the efficiency room we stayed in was incredible, very clean, and a nice full kitchen. We had a gang of howler monkeys in our tree to wake us up in the mornings. This place is truly a gem! We got rained out after searching for monkeys, right before dinner and while waiting for a taxi, the hotel staff insisted giving our kids some of their pizza they had ordered. On the hotel ground we saw toucans, squirrel monkeys, capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, humming birds, butterflies, tropical birds, Iguanas, chameleons, lizards in just a few short days. This place was very hard to leave once our trip came to an end! Highly recommend Hotel Costa Verde!! Will plan to return again one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Rebecca in the office is all about service. She made our stay incredible and went out of her way to ensure we were happy. This property is amazing. Monkeys are on the grounds and provide entertainment for the guests. The pools are beautiful with fantastic views. A touch above the rest!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing