We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Verde exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Costa Verde exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Costa Verde to attend a wedding in Manuel Antonio. The staff (especially Rebecca!) is super friendly and helpful.

We stayed in CV II #15 (penthouse) and the view cannot be beat. We relaxed on our big balcony, overlooking water and jungle and monkeys came right onto our balcony! They were cautious and curious and didn't get too close, it was amazing to be that close to them. We also saw about a dozen howler monkeys in the trees above the path leading to Costa Verde II and the adults only pool. Don't leave anything on your balcony for them to take.

There is a lot of uphill walking to do at this resort but the staff will drive you on request. We only ate at the Anaconda for breakfast. The food was great, traditional Costa Rican or American breakfast choices available.

The wedding couple hosted their reception in the event center of Costa Verde and it was great. Again, great staff, great food and beautiful setting. We will definitely stay at Costa Verde again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellewarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    510
    167
    63
    44
See reviews for
515
524
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just returned from our trip to Hotel Costa Verde. It was unbelievably nice! We stayed in one of the D units, which are across the street (on the ocean side) and down slightly from the main complex. The room was a studio, with a large room with 2 double beds, a refrigerator, hot plate (pots, pans, silverware are there if needed), and sink. The bathroom was small and included only a shower, no tub. The room is not the most modern or luxurious, but is very nice and fits in with the overall environment wonderfully. As mentioned in some reviews, the soundproofing between units could be better, but it is not bad. Everything here is in a wood/timber frame design. There are large windows giving you a panoramic view of the ocean/beach. Or, walk out on the balcony for an even closer view.

Contrary to what I have read in some other reviews, the staff at Costa Verde could not have been more pleasant or helpful, both at the front desk and at the restaurants. The front desk is open from 6am to 10pm, so someone is almost always available. The hotel has 4 different restaurants and we ate at all of them. They are all open air. The menus seem to be very similar, overlapping a great deal. All were very good, and considerably cheaper than when we ate at an off site restaurant. The views from the Anaconda and el Avion are spectacular. Since this is the off season, not all of the restaurants were open for every meal as they might have been during the "dry" season. For example, I believe Anaconda was only for breakfast. But what a way to start the day, with good food, nice wait staff, and amazing views.

On our trip, we saw monkeys, sloths, wild macaws/parrots, and even a sea turtle.

The complex does sit up high on the hill, well above the beach. Thus, your views are fantastic, but it is either a good walk or a short drive to the beach. Going down to the beach is not so bad, but is a long steep hill to climb on the way back. We had a rental car, so we drove down to the beach everyday. Note, there is a charge to park at the beach, and there will be people trying to "convince" you to use their lot. (They may make it sound like it is your only choice and may act as if they are officials and make it feel like you HAVE to follow their directions.) We paid between 1000 to 2000 colons to park for the beach. The north end of the beach is much more quiet than the south end (towards Manuel Antonio Park).

When heading to the National Park, the vendors will again try to make you feel as you have to use their parking/guide service. That is not the case. There are several lots to choose from, and many guides. We did fall victim to use the first one we came to, and thus had to walk a little further, but ended up very happy with our guide. (The guide/tour was not associated with or arranged by the hotel; we headed out on our own, but enjoyed it very much.)

I have been to most of the Caribbean islands and this matches any of them for spectacular views and nice people. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I was truly surprised and impressed. I would highly recommend Hotel Costa Verde.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit D, which was wonderful. But from what I can tell, many of the other sections also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleAgedMarriedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I really couldn't have asked for anything more from costa verde. We arrived really early and they weren't ready to check us in the room yet so the front desk girl Rebecca told us where we could change into our bathing suits, held our luggage for us, recommend a cute beach front bar to get food and drinks at, and got us a cab. The same spectacular service continued throughout our stay. Rebecca and Diego we're super friendly and helpful any time we had any questions on where to go or what to do and all of their recommendations were great. The room itself was large, clean, and equipped with a kitchen and all cooking equipment. The coffee they provided in the room was excellent. The hotel grounds were beautiful and even had a few small trails you could go on. The adult pool was nice with an absolutely beautiful view. The beach and many restaurants are in walking distance if you didn't want to take a taxi or the bus (which is 285 colones or about $0.50). We typically walked downhill to the beach every time and then would take the bus or a taxi back up depending on the time. Great stay and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizarddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 6 traveling with a 2 year old, 10 year old, 19 year old, parents and a grandparent. We had room E-5. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the ocean, outdoor seating with fans, two separate sleeping areas, and two bathrooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. They learned my toddler's name immediately and talked and played with her during our stay. They found us a great tour guide for MA at the last minute and helped us when a different excursion was late in picking us up.

The hard part about this hotel is that it is built into a hill. Though that makes it beautiful, it also means you must drive to the pool, office, and restaurants (we were traveling without our own car). Though this seems like it would be a hassle, it wasn't. Staff was more than happy to pick us up. They'd arrive a few minutes after we called and were friendly and joking as they drive us around. One driver even took us on a detour to see a sloth he'd noticed since he thought our children would like it.

The restaurants are good, though there is no food included in the price of the hotel. It was also difficult to walk to any other other options with the children. Breakfast was especially good and convenient (you don't have to cross the busy road), and it would have been nice if that restaurant was open later.

As for the monkeys, my husband saw them each morning. We saw many iguanas and a few toads.

Over all, we liked this hotel very much and would return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank florca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights at the tail end of our trip to Costa Rica. The view of the ocean from our room (5a) was amazing, however you are right off the main road so you get a lot of traffic noise. The rooms were ok, the furnishings were a bit basic & dated but it was clean and serviceable. The place is built on a hillside, so be prepared for a nice walk to the restaurant and the beach. The free breakfast that came with the room, you have a choice of anything on the breakfast menu at the Anaconda Restaurant - food was ok. You will see a lot of wildlife on the hotel grounds: monkeys, iguanas, lots of birds. The location is close to the entrance of Manuel Antonio, a little drive (10 km) if you want to go down the hill to Quepos,

Room Tip: If you want quiet, pick a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheapasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Perfect location - not too far from most restaurants and not too far from beach and Manuel Antonio Park. Friendly service - quick response time if any problems in room - quick check-in - and BEAUTIFUL VIEWS. Hotels has some beautiful trails, nice pools, and plenty of wildlife roaming/flying around. I am not much of a fan of their restaurants though but hotel was a perfect spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesenia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a wonderful experience. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Some units are a distance up and down hills, but no worries. Call the front desk and they will promptly take you anywhere on the resort grounds. Adult pool is exceptional and view is amazing. Don't miss the opportunity for yoga! Breakfasts were delish and dinners were all amazing at El Avion and the BBQ restaurant. Remember you are in a rain forest and mosquitoes will enjoy you if you are not pro-active.

Room Tip: We enjoyed bungalow # 5 with 3 queen beds and 2 full baths. Suite has a full fridge with electric b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Costa Verde
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing