We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Costa Verde
Nearby Hotels
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vela Bar(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$241
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$549
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
781
536
184
66
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
536
184
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanaconda restaurantel avionadult poolefficiency roombuilding bcasa quintaadults only sectionocean viewbreakfast restaurantnational parkrocking chairssquirrel monkeyslarge balconyamazing viewsdestination weddingmanuel antonio parkhotel grounds
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room is ugly, awful service like I've never seen before. we didn't like the room (which was full of bugs) because of it's old furniture and bad atmosphere it has. we wanted to change the room and requested to add money but the other room suggested to us was ugly as well. the only thing the was good about this place is the view which very beautiful. the most annoying thing is that they don't really care about how you feel and whether you're satisfied or not. this is the main reason why i'd say: Stay away from this place! also, in breakfast they asked for money although the breakfast is included, it was so wired and when we asked for so more bread they wanted us to pay for that. I've never seen something like that before. tit;s about basic service attitude which does not exist in this place. this place probably hates guests. beware!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Malmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Costa Verde in 7A- one of the efficiency units for 6 nights. It was about double the size of a typical US hotel room. I wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived but really was pleasantly surprised. We had a nice view of the ocean, plenty of room, 2 double beds, a refrigerator, stove (pots/pans/utensils included) and an awesome balcony with tables/chairs (where I am writing this review from right now). There's lots of steps and a steep climb to get to this room but that's pretty much the way it is everywhere in Manuel Antonio. We have enjoyed the adults only pool which has a beautiful view of the pacific and Manuel Antonio National Park. There is also 2 other pools on property. The breakfasts are HUGE and tasty. There is a lock on our balcony porch- we were told that you had to lock it to prevent monkeys from coming into your room -seriously. Their motto at the hotel is 'more monkeys than people', however, we have seen several monkeys but it's not like Planet of the Apes taking over. The reception staff has been very helpful and friendly. They will provide free transportation to and from three different nearby restaurants. We walked down to the beach (which is a bit of a trek) about 15 minutes down hill. No way should you attempt coming back walking up hill. Just take a bus. It costs about 60 cents and you can catch the bus right by the beach (well worth the money- when you see the hill you have to walk up, you'll agree with me).

Room Tip: The efficiencies are reasonably priced and very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UofMwolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed several nights in bungalow E5. It was a large apartment with two bedroom, two bathrooms, and a kitchenette. We had a large deck that looked over the rainforest and beyond was a gorgeous view of the beach and ocean. We had a sloth loving in a tree nearby the deck. One day we had a large troop of squirrel monkeys move through on or roof. They looked through the windows and we're curious and extremely cute. On another day there were white faced monkeys that moved through. We also had a resident black iguana that lived in the planter near by.
The room itself was ver basic and not very comfortable. There were plenty of towels for use in the room and at one of their three pools.the free wifi is very strong.
The staff was helpful and kind. The restaurants on the grounds were quite good.

Room Tip: Bungalow E5- Check your mattress in this bungalow. Also, bring your own conditioner, and lotion. They are not provided.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krestita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Costa Verde to attend a wedding in Manuel Antonio. The staff (especially Rebecca!) is super friendly and helpful.

We stayed in CV II #15 (penthouse) and the view cannot be beat. We relaxed on our big balcony, overlooking water and jungle and monkeys came right onto our balcony! They were cautious and curious and didn't get too close, it was amazing to be that close to them. We also saw about a dozen howler monkeys in the trees above the path leading to Costa Verde II and the adults only pool. Don't leave anything on your balcony for them to take.

There is a lot of uphill walking to do at this resort but the staff will drive you on request. We only ate at the Anaconda for breakfast. The food was great, traditional Costa Rican or American breakfast choices available.

The wedding couple hosted their reception in the event center of Costa Verde and it was great. Again, great staff, great food and beautiful setting. We will definitely stay at Costa Verde again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellewarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just returned from our trip to Hotel Costa Verde. It was unbelievably nice! We stayed in one of the D units, which are across the street (on the ocean side) and down slightly from the main complex. The room was a studio, with a large room with 2 double beds, a refrigerator, hot plate (pots, pans, silverware are there if needed), and sink. The bathroom was small and included only a shower, no tub. The room is not the most modern or luxurious, but is very nice and fits in with the overall environment wonderfully. As mentioned in some reviews, the soundproofing between units could be better, but it is not bad. Everything here is in a wood/timber frame design. There are large windows giving you a panoramic view of the ocean/beach. Or, walk out on the balcony for an even closer view.

Contrary to what I have read in some other reviews, the staff at Costa Verde could not have been more pleasant or helpful, both at the front desk and at the restaurants. The front desk is open from 6am to 10pm, so someone is almost always available. The hotel has 4 different restaurants and we ate at all of them. They are all open air. The menus seem to be very similar, overlapping a great deal. All were very good, and considerably cheaper than when we ate at an off site restaurant. The views from the Anaconda and el Avion are spectacular. Since this is the off season, not all of the restaurants were open for every meal as they might have been during the "dry" season. For example, I believe Anaconda was only for breakfast. But what a way to start the day, with good food, nice wait staff, and amazing views.

On our trip, we saw monkeys, sloths, wild macaws/parrots, and even a sea turtle.

The complex does sit up high on the hill, well above the beach. Thus, your views are fantastic, but it is either a good walk or a short drive to the beach. Going down to the beach is not so bad, but is a long steep hill to climb on the way back. We had a rental car, so we drove down to the beach everyday. Note, there is a charge to park at the beach, and there will be people trying to "convince" you to use their lot. (They may make it sound like it is your only choice and may act as if they are officials and make it feel like you HAVE to follow their directions.) We paid between 1000 to 2000 colons to park for the beach. The north end of the beach is much more quiet than the south end (towards Manuel Antonio Park).

When heading to the National Park, the vendors will again try to make you feel as you have to use their parking/guide service. That is not the case. There are several lots to choose from, and many guides. We did fall victim to use the first one we came to, and thus had to walk a little further, but ended up very happy with our guide. (The guide/tour was not associated with or arranged by the hotel; we headed out on our own, but enjoyed it very much.)

I have been to most of the Caribbean islands and this matches any of them for spectacular views and nice people. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I was truly surprised and impressed. I would highly recommend Hotel Costa Verde.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit D, which was wonderful. But from what I can tell, many of the other sections also had equally fantastic views. There may be some that don't, so I would just verify that yours does. I can definitely recommend any of the 4 in the D unit. The views are truly spectacular!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleAgedMarriedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews