We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Verde- Not Bad, but take Note”
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2008

My friend and I met many wonderful people at the hotel and they were connected with great tours. The restaurants were delicious and the grounds kept beautifully. However two important things to note when choosing this hotel:
1. Standard rooms are gross! They smell and having a kitchen next to your bed is not optimal in an area where bug spray is a must. We complained are were immediately upgraded to a room in Building D. The new room was beautiful and we had a gorgeous view of the sunset and trees.
2. There are not many monkeys there. Nature will be nature, so I do not blame the hotel. BUT More Monkeys than people is not accurate.

It is still one of the best hotels in the area though, so I recommend it, but set your expectations accordingly and look for a deal.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WolfieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2008

Our stay was booked as part of a tour through Costa Rica by LatinAmerica4Less. We stayed at Costa Verde for two nights.

The first room we were given was less than desirable -- though it had a balcony and a side view of the ocean, it was quite small and had a smell (in section A). We asked to changed rooms and were given a wonderful room that seemed to be an upgrade in Section D. It had two sets of sliding glass doors that opened to a balcony that overlooked many trees and an ocean view. The sunset was magnificent.

Unfortunately, we did not see any monkeys at Costa Verde. We heard them in the distance. That could be because this area of Costa Rica is getting more and more build up (as compared to the pristine Monte Verde).

The hotel has three restaurants, one on site (Annaconda, very good), Cantina (across the street, grilled, was okay) and Avion (a 3 minute walk and the bar is built into an old airplane, very good).

The reception desk was very helpful and was able to book our tours for us. We did a canopy tour (zipline) and a visit to Manuel Antonio park.

All in all, the hotel was great, just be willing to ask for a room change if need be.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenni76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

My wife and I just returned from another great stay at the Costa Verde II hotel. We stayed in the penthouse which had some awesome views, We ate at all three of the hotels resturants which were all great. The La Catina BBQ which serves great food cooked over an open fire has a small band that plays nightly. The El Avion which is a short walk from the main hotel has 1 of the Iran/Contra cargo planes turned into a bar. The Anacoda is the main hotels rest. and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All had great food and they even made some great ceviche for us from some maui maui that we catch. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull. Saw a ton of monkeys all over the hotel grounds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bjcoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

The first thing that has to be said about Costa Verde is its tag line which is obviously out dated: "Still more monkeys than people". We did not see a single monkey while we were there and believe me it was not for a want of trying! On the other hand we saw lots and lots of people! I think it's a little bit rich to sell your hotel on that basis when you can't back it up.

However, other than that disappointment our stay in Costa Verde was pleasant. The staff at reception were generally courteous and helpful. Our room for the first two nights had a fantastic view of cathedral point but we were disappointed to have to move to the other side of the hotel for the third night where there was no view whatsoever. In fact we were on view ourselves as everybody could see into our room.

We had requested Costa Verde II but it was unavailable while we were there. We checked it out and I would definitely recommend it for couples.

The on-site restaurant was good, as was El Avion, although I dont think anyone goes there for the food!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This place was great! We went at the beginning of the rainy season so it barely rained at all. We stayed in the Casa Quinta bungalow and we barely saw any other guests. We also had the pool to ourselves. All 3 of the hotel resaraunts we excellent. (try the nachos!) The Anaconda and El Avion both had beautiful ocean views. They people there were always helpful and almost everyone spoke english which was a plus for our limited spanish. My 2 friends and I had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank new2t6rvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We loved it here. We stayed in a Studio Plus room and were delighted with the room and the balcony. The balcony was a great size for the 5 of us and was a perfect spot for morning cups of coffee watching the sloths and monkeys with great views of the rainforest and the sea. Breakfast in the Anaconda restaurant was perfect, again with great views and yet more wildlife watching opportunities. We also enjoyed meals at El Avion and La Cantina. Great location and lots to do in the local area. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank familyfiveholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We just got married on August 1st 2008 in Manuel Antonio and wanted to write a review for anyone thinking of doing the same. Planning a wedding from 3,000 miles away can be very daunting however we can reassure you that the payoff in the end was absolutely worth it. First off, Manuel Antonio may be the most beautiful spot in Costa Rica (it was our favorite spot) and the Costa Verde II hotel undoubtedly has the best view available. Second our wedding planner, Sylvia Chavez, from Costa Rica Paradise Wedding was incredible. From choosing the sight of our rehearsal dinner, to selecting bands and djs, to making sure that the flower arrangements were perfect, Sylvia was outstanding. We couldn't have been happier and would highly reccommend her to anyone planning a wedding in Costa Rica. All in all, we can't say enough about our experience and would encourage anyone considering a wedding in Manuel Antonio to do the same.

5  Thank bostonbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £118 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing