We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - Terrible room”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We booked a standard ocean view room (10) which desperately needed a refresh. There was a rather large crack in 1 of the walls that ran from floor to ceiling and cracks in the tiles in the bathroom. The king bed was very good however the rest of the furniture was not very inviting at all. The “couch” was a hardwood bench. I did inquire about a room change or upgrade and was offered an upgrade at additional cost. Since we were only there for 3 nights and didn’t want the hassle of changing rooms we decided to stay.

That being said we did poke our heads into some of the newer rooms and they looked absolutely wonderful. My advice is to be picky when you book and make sure you request one of the newly renovated rooms. La Mariposa is known for the incredible views, which certainly did not disappoint us. The poolside bar was great and the views from there were spectacular. Fernando, the bartender, was also an asset to the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PKS-Comments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

We had a magnificent family vacation at La Mariposa in Costa Rica. The hotel had the most spectacular views, pools, staff, and food.
Prior to our trip, we contacted the Marketing staff for info about activities in the area. Manfred Arias, from the hotel, was extremely responsive and emailed details back to us.

Even though we went during "rainy season", we had VERY little rain and it was at night.
The canopy (zip line) experience was awesome. We also experienced level IV rapids in our river rafting trip. Also my sons and I went on an ATV tour as well.

The tour of the National Park was great as well. The hotel staff recommended activities and made reservations at local quality restaurants. Even one restaurant Kapi Kapi, did not take reservations, but because of the staff member at La Mariposa who called for us, they made sure we had a table when we arrived. (The night before we couldn't get a table when we arrived on our own.) The hotel's call got us righyt in.

The rooms are exceptionally large, and we had a connecting room for the kids....(21, 20 and 14 yrs old)

Overall we had a great time, but the staff at La Mariposa made it even more enjoyable and efficient.

Be prepared for a great experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Corky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We had a wonderful time at Hotel La Mariposa. We are a family of 5 and the hotel was wonderful about accomodating us. The room was very spacious and had a fantastic view. Our room was clean and comfortable. My favorite part was the pool. It had a great view! We saw some beautiful birds and even monkeys from our hotel balcony. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My husband and 3 kids just got back from Costa Rica last Sunday. We stayed at Hotel La Mariposa and we all loved it, their staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel oversees the ocean (the best view) and the rooms were perfect for our family. The Hotel has a great locations only a few minutes from the beach and all the fun vendors, and may restaurant worth dinning at. We left our hearts in Costa Rica. Kudos to the La Mariposa Reservations team they rock.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cdakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We recently traveled Costa Rica, our family of 5 and 3 of my high school Spanish students. Our consensus highlight for lodging was the Mariposa. Incredible views, excellent staff and food. Even the outside spiral stairs up to our rooms had beautiful views. (Not sure if they have an elevator). At the top of the hill above all the other hotels, it has a 5 minute van shuttle to the beach town and Manuel Antonio Park. Whether it was sitting at one of the pool bars overlooking the Pacific or on their white-water rafting excursion, we loved it there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ElConstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We booked through Expedia, and got a good rate $140/night, but I am not sure it was worth that, since some basic features were missing or problematic. It wasn't a bad hotel, I was just expecting more for the money based on the prices we paid in other areas of Costa Rica. Our Garden View room (#19), was on the lower level of 2-story block of rooms next to the driveway, and facing a gravel parking area. Naturally a room like this would be dark and uninviting, and probably should not even exist at this hotel in the present condition. There was no attempt to compensate for this, however, given the condition of the room when we arrived.

Upon arrival, we noticed immediately that the ceiling lights were dim, in the room and bathroom. We noticed that the room next door had more lamps and was much brighter at night. The double curtain rods on the windows were missing the secondary white curtains (that would allow light but prevent/minimize seeing in from outside). The chairs in the room were beautiful wooden chairs, but other rooms had cushions for them. There were exposed wires in the ceiling. The TV table was far from the wall, leaving wires running along the floor for several feet. Water pressure in the bathroom was poor, and there were rust spots on the ceiling. The faucet and shower head were strangely positioned, leading to some water spillage onto the floor. There were a lot of wormy bug things, mostly at night. Overall, it seemed this room was not intended to be used as it was, and we may have been stuck in there due to overbooking, with no one knowing the condition of the room.

To the hotels credit, they did respond to our complaints. Immediately, we were offered and showed a large "apartment," but this was over the gift shop (outside the hotel gate), and up a set of stairs with a padlock on the gate, so did not feel safe. Within a few minutes of our complaint, after turning down the weird apartment, a manager came to investigate, and shortly after, maintenance guys came to look at the bulb situation, and housekeeper for the curtain situation. No maintenance people spoke English, so if not for my broken Spanish this could have been a problem. Nonetheless, within 30 minutes, all the bulbs were replaced with ones just a tad brighter. The room was still dark. Within an hour, they informed us that the curtains should be replaced the next day (not available that night), but if not possible, we would be moved to the room above (of equivalent price), after the people currently in it left. The curtains were hung, with some mysterious stains on them, so we did not move. We did not bring up the other complaints. The maid service was odd. They didn't touch our old pool towels hanging in various places in the room, and these towels added up.

The were a few other pluses and minuses. The view from the pools and restaurant (and obviously most of the rooms) was spectacular, looking north and south along the CR coastline. This view, along with the pool area, was the best aspect of the hotel. Some food was very good, breakfast was fine and included. The staff was friendly and helpful, and no one was mean or rude. Shuttles to and from the beach/Manuel Antoinio Park were infrequent. There is an arduous walking path to and from the beach, that supposed took 15-20 minutes, that seemed a little too difficult for the purpose. They charged for internet use (our hotels at Monteverde and Arenal had free access). There was a lot of construction noise during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happytravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My daughter, friend, and I arrived at La Mariposa on July 25th around 8:00 p.m. after a long drive from San Jose. Upon check-in we were told we were being given a fabulous ocean front room in the main building. Unfortunately, the only way to get to the room was to climb a spiral staircase up four flights. Thank goodness our luggage was carried up by a skinny, but very strong, bellman or it would have never gotten there. The only thing fabulous about the room was its size, the balcony and the view. The room was large enough for both a king size and queen size bed, but the mattresses were flat and less than comfortable. There were no sheets to fit the king size bed, so part of the mattress was exposed. There were dingy white towels in the bathroom. There were large red ants all over the place, so they brought in a can of ant killer and sprayed all that were visible and swept the dead ones up. They left us the ant spray in case the problem continued which it did. There was a gap under our door which led to the outside, so it appeared that the ants were coming in under the door at night when the light outside our room was on. Placing a towel under the door significantly cut down on the problem. We were in a corner room (#40) and the view was indeed spectacular. The balcony and numerous large windows took up two sides of the room revealing an unobstructed view of the ocean on one side and the hotel property on the other. Lounge chairs would've been nice, but we had none. The shower clogged. They promised to fix it, but never did. The furniture was old and unattractive. The tile was nice, but the grout was dirty or cracked. The walls were dingy with broken plaster in some areas. With its views, size and balcony, the room would definitely be fabulous and in demand for its location if they updated the furniture, thoroughly cleaned the tile and cleaned and refilled the grout, and painted the room. For an investment of pennies, they could easily create a five star room and charge a fortune that anyone would be willing to pay. We looked at the premium rooms which are more expensive and found that they were much smaller, but had modern furniture and comfortable beds, so if you decide to stay there and care about true comfort, select those rooms. The disparity in the quality of the rooms based on what you paid based on the level you booked was significant. Had we had a premium room, my rating would have been much higher. The pool is Ok, but needs regrouting as well. The one thing for which we had no complaints was the full breakfast that was included. It was plentiful and delicious. If you have difficulty walking at all, DO NOT STAY HERE! It is not wheelchair accessible and even getting to the lobby requires climbing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevertired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £125 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing