We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGICAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MAGICAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here several times..... best place in Manuel Antonio. Make sure you get the new suites. Deluxe Ocean facing..... Great views, great break face... People are friendly.... I will only stay here!!
Don't get the garden room... Old and faces the parking lot.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    356
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
381
597
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Beautiful hotel overlooking the ocean. Hotel is located on top of a hill and away from the main city. Hotel location seemed safer than town area. There were many tourist walking around which made us feel a little more comfortable.

The room was quaint and clean. Awesome view of ocean and park from our room.

Wifi was a bit weak in the room.

There were cute Titi monkeys running around the property. They even got on our patio when we were taking pictures of them. We also saw these huge iguanas hanging out all over the place. It was really cool!

Breakfast was delicious. I only ate from the omlette and waffle station and fresh fruit. Dinner seemed too expensive and it was not good. Lobster bisque was inedible. They ended up not charging us for bisque because I was honest when they asked why I did not touch the bisque. After that dinner we decided to go to Cafe Agua Azul right around the corner. The restaurant had a beautiful view, prices are average, and food was awesome!

Tour we did from this hotel- ATV tour with MidWorld Costa Rica, which was booked with anywherecostarica.com.

I would 100% stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel La Mariposa is a destination itself in an awe inspiring area. Everywhere is a stunning view from the moment you enter the lobby to look out across the expanse of the open dining area to the Pacific ocean. It is hard to leave the pool area with it's stunning view over edge of the infinity pool, to go on your planned tours. So we recommend planning a day at the hotel pool in your trip where you never miss the sunset hour, and the wonderful view with poolside service.
The rooms are generously sized, beds comfortable and clean. (showers do not drain well always, and they have no washcloths, only towels which are carefully tracked)
The staff is friendly and professional, and the front desk staff is fully attentive and speaks English well, and Spanish very fast!
We were there for a full week and had both an ocean view room in the main building and two garden rooms that connected in a newer building. The rooms all had space you do not find in the average good Marriot room in the US, and as many windows as they could squeeze in promoting the light and airy feel even more.
We will definitely go back to this hotel if we are planning a trip to Costa Rica again.

Room Tip: Ask about the balcony area or porch area for your room. All are great with good seating areas, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stay in La Mariposa and you will see! Great place food at pool and piña colada where the best staff great . Sebastián at front desk was the best he was so helpful and professional I will definitely stay at La Mariposa Again. Monkeys butterflies birds iguanas you see then all at the Hotel . Best part the view! From Wilson & Karines.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

have eaten at this hotel several times over the last several years==I do not know if they have changed chefs in the last two years but in 2012 we had an excellent steak and great lobster bisque--this year it was all inedible==the steak which was a filet could not be chewed and the bisque was terrible==bring back the old chef and get the steak from somewhere else==will not go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolvan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband just stayed at La Mariposa for four nights while on a fishing trip out of Quepos. He said the room had an outstanding view, was comfortable and spacious. The staff on check in was excellent as was the wait staff and bartender. He has been fishing in Costa Rica since 1998 and this is the best hotel he has stayed in. He ate dinner there three nights. All were very good, two of the nights were dorado that he caught. The breakfast, which was included was much more than expected. He highly recommends this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcwboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Satyed here three days on the second half of my birthday trip. I love Manuel Antonio and this is my second time here. This hotel is well known for its views and they do not disapoint on this claim. They have 3 great pools all with exceptional coast views and the sunset. The rooms are okay. Ours needed updating and refreshed. The lighting is okay. We had a Ocean view room in the new section. Had a nice balcony however with cheap plastic chairs found at Walmart that were not comfortable to sit on. Over all this is a okay hotel. The location is great and they do offer free van rides to and from the beach on a schedule. taxi is $ 8.00 to alsmost everywhere from the hotel to the beach and to most resteraunts. I would go to this hotel if you want a stunning view of the coast and the national park. The grounds are well kept clean and beautifal.I would not go if you want a refrigerator in your room or a newly refreshed room. Also the beds are very hard however all the beds in Costa Rica hotels seem to be. The staff are pleasent and helpfull and always smiled and grested us warmly. The concierge in the evening was always helpfull with resteraunt recomendations and all of them were great. Bottom line go for the view if thats what your looking for . You will not be disapointed. I would stay again however I would stay in the cheaper rooms as i spend all my time in Manul Antonio on the beaches that are great and why I keep returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing