We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Manuel Antonio”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Rey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

La Mariposa is everything that you would want in a hotel. The views are outstanding. The food and service is excellent and because of my travels on business I have stayed at MANY hotels in the area. Hands down this is always my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    366
    117
    51
    55
See reviews for
390
608
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful! Romantic! Serene! Those are the words that describe our wedding. We were very fortunate to have our wedding on the beach at sunset in Costa Rica. To be in love and consummate our love in such a special place is an unforgettable memory for us. We shared the vision of our wedding with Maria Barrantes, wedding coordinator at LaMariposa Hotel. She coordinated everything from the location, the lawyer, photographer, florist, baker, menu for the reception, and sound system. We did not have to worry about a thing. She took care of it all! She made it all happen just the way we had envisioned it. It was the most amazing experience for us and our grown children. This was our fairytale come true and the best part was we didn't have to do any of the work, Maria did it all. We can't say enough about her professionalism, as well as the rest of the staff at LaMariposa. Our wedding was all we dreamed of and more. Thank you for our perfect day!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel La Mariposa is lovely. What an amazing view! Their pool is gorgeous, you are in a rainforest with an amazing ocean view in 180 degrees. Generous breakfast included in a stunning setting. Spotlessly clean. Staff truly helpful. Room was quite large with large balcony. Saw lots of monkeys, birds, iguanas, lovely flowers here on hotel property.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,Ont
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This truly is "paradise". The views overlooking the ocean are breathtaking from the rooms, patios, dining area and of course the infinity pool. We spent 3 nights here and always made sure we were back from our daily adventures to enjoy a few hours around the pool and never missed a sunset, all of which were spectacular. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We booked the canopy zipline tour (El Santuario which was excellent!) and park tour through them. Although the food could be better (breakfast is very good though) and the lounge chairs need some upgrading, the place has such a very special feel that these small imperfections are easily overlooked. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean, spacious and eclectically decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and it was clearly evident that everyone else was also. We met many friendly, happy guests. I would highly recommend La Mariposa to anyone visiting the Manuel Antonia area....definitely the best view in the whole area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLondon_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here several times..... best place in Manuel Antonio. Make sure you get the new suites. Deluxe Ocean facing..... Great views, great break face... People are friendly.... I will only stay here!!
Don't get the garden room... Old and faces the parking lot.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Beautiful hotel overlooking the ocean. Hotel is located on top of a hill and away from the main city. Hotel location seemed safer than town area. There were many tourist walking around which made us feel a little more comfortable.

The room was quaint and clean. Awesome view of ocean and park from our room.

Wifi was a bit weak in the room.

There were cute Titi monkeys running around the property. They even got on our patio when we were taking pictures of them. We also saw these huge iguanas hanging out all over the place. It was really cool!

Breakfast was delicious. I only ate from the omlette and waffle station and fresh fruit. Dinner seemed too expensive and it was not good. Lobster bisque was inedible. They ended up not charging us for bisque because I was honest when they asked why I did not touch the bisque. After that dinner we decided to go to Cafe Agua Azul right around the corner. The restaurant had a beautiful view, prices are average, and food was awesome!

Tour we did from this hotel- ATV tour with MidWorld Costa Rica, which was booked with anywherecostarica.com.

I would 100% stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel La Mariposa is a destination itself in an awe inspiring area. Everywhere is a stunning view from the moment you enter the lobby to look out across the expanse of the open dining area to the Pacific ocean. It is hard to leave the pool area with it's stunning view over edge of the infinity pool, to go on your planned tours. So we recommend planning a day at the hotel pool in your trip where you never miss the sunset hour, and the wonderful view with poolside service.
The rooms are generously sized, beds comfortable and clean. (showers do not drain well always, and they have no washcloths, only towels which are carefully tracked)
The staff is friendly and professional, and the front desk staff is fully attentive and speaks English well, and Spanish very fast!
We were there for a full week and had both an ocean view room in the main building and two garden rooms that connected in a newer building. The rooms all had space you do not find in the average good Marriot room in the US, and as many windows as they could squeeze in promoting the light and airy feel even more.
We will definitely go back to this hotel if we are planning a trip to Costa Rica again.

Room Tip: Ask about the balcony area or porch area for your room. All are great with good seating areas, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing