We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and sunsets by the pool!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views and sunsets by the pool!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a great place to stay to see all of Manuel Antonio from the highest point. The pool was fantastic ~ we enjoyed hanging out in the water with our drinks, while we watched the sunsets.
The hotel is located within walking distance from some wonderful restaurants, beaches, the bank and other hotels. The free shuttle to the main beach and park was very helpful.

We had the best room in the place for the view- #40 on the corner of the top floor. It was a little scary to climb up the outside staircase but the view was worth it.

The free breakfast on the patio was really nice and again the view was amazing.

Room Tip: #40 for a full ocean view if you are not afraid of heights and outside staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savveytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    370
    118
    52
    55
See reviews for
397
610
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Overall this was a fantastic hotel!!!

What made it near perfect?
The views, the extremely friendly staff, the wonderful food (some of the best we had on our trip), the plentiful and fresh breakfast buffett, the grounds full of flowers, birds, monkeys, iguanas, the biggest pool in the area. Two swim up bars, great gift shop, close to a small Supermarket and some good resturants. Air conditioning worked great, good water pressure and tempurature in the shower. The look of the rooms is somewhat spanish in style, which we liked, not a typical hotel room. The hotel common areas and room were VERY clean.

Why not 5 stars?
Let me say, I would definately recommend this hotel and if we come back to the area, this is where we will stay again. But the room did not have all the ammenities that I was hoping for. The biggest issue for us was the lack of an alarm clock. The only clock was on the universal remote control and it was way off on time. We could not find a clock or watch in the area to purchase and since we kept our cell phones off, we did not have any way to keep track of what time it was. Also, it would have been great to have a coffee maker in the room to enjoy sipping coffee while sitting on the balcony.

Tips and overall impression of the hotel:
The friendy staff and GREAT common areas make this hotel a stand out
We toured many other hotels in the MA area and found none that were better, even the more costly hotels. If you expect rooms like the Four Seasons or Hilton you will not find that here, but the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, airconditioning works. The common areas, food and staff make up for any lacking that the rooms may have.
Bring a clock if you want one (cabanas may come with them, not sure)

Tips on the Manuel Antoino area:
We stayed 6 days in the MA area and discovered this was a bit long. Four days would have been perfect. There is not a lot of shopping in the Quepos area or Costa Rica in general (compared to Hawaii and other places). This was ok for us, as it is more authentic... but good to know. All the main MA hotels and resturants are on one narrow, winding, busy, steep road. You have to be super alert and in good shape to walk up an down the road but it is fun to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

La Mariposa is everything that you would want in a hotel. The views are outstanding. The food and service is excellent and because of my travels on business I have stayed at MANY hotels in the area. Hands down this is always my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful! Romantic! Serene! Those are the words that describe our wedding. We were very fortunate to have our wedding on the beach at sunset in Costa Rica. To be in love and consummate our love in such a special place is an unforgettable memory for us. We shared the vision of our wedding with Maria Barrantes, wedding coordinator at LaMariposa Hotel. She coordinated everything from the location, the lawyer, photographer, florist, baker, menu for the reception, and sound system. We did not have to worry about a thing. She took care of it all! She made it all happen just the way we had envisioned it. It was the most amazing experience for us and our grown children. This was our fairytale come true and the best part was we didn't have to do any of the work, Maria did it all. We can't say enough about her professionalism, as well as the rest of the staff at LaMariposa. Our wedding was all we dreamed of and more. Thank you for our perfect day!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel La Mariposa is lovely. What an amazing view! Their pool is gorgeous, you are in a rainforest with an amazing ocean view in 180 degrees. Generous breakfast included in a stunning setting. Spotlessly clean. Staff truly helpful. Room was quite large with large balcony. Saw lots of monkeys, birds, iguanas, lovely flowers here on hotel property.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,Ont
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This truly is "paradise". The views overlooking the ocean are breathtaking from the rooms, patios, dining area and of course the infinity pool. We spent 3 nights here and always made sure we were back from our daily adventures to enjoy a few hours around the pool and never missed a sunset, all of which were spectacular. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We booked the canopy zipline tour (El Santuario which was excellent!) and park tour through them. Although the food could be better (breakfast is very good though) and the lounge chairs need some upgrading, the place has such a very special feel that these small imperfections are easily overlooked. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean, spacious and eclectically decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and it was clearly evident that everyone else was also. We met many friendly, happy guests. I would highly recommend La Mariposa to anyone visiting the Manuel Antonia area....definitely the best view in the whole area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLondon_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here several times..... best place in Manuel Antonio. Make sure you get the new suites. Deluxe Ocean facing..... Great views, great break face... People are friendly.... I will only stay here!!
Don't get the garden room... Old and faces the parking lot.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing