We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mariposa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)
US$231
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Yara(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Colina(Manuel Antonio)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Verde(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$167
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Verde Mar(Manuel Antonio)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveller rating
893
408
128
57
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
408
128
57
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfull ocean view roommain buildingcosta ricacorner roomamazing viewshighest pointdegree viewfree shuttlewatch the sunsetbeautiful hotelnational parkyogurtswim up barcafe milagrothe pacific oceanloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just returned from a week in paradise. This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. The layout itself is the work of a visionary: infinity pool, lush gardens and panoramic views that are unparalleled. The hotel is spotless; the workers are out at the crack of dawn every morning cleaning and scrubbing the property. Safety, there is a man at the entrance, 24 hrs a day, writing down the license plate number of every vehicle that enters. The front desk, Sebastian, Alex, Johannes and Byron are the best in the business. They arranged transport, tours and taxis. If you are there and need a taxi, ask for Vincente, what a great guy. With that being said, this is the stop of a lifetime and you will not regret staying at this World Class Destination.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank JFK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Breathtaking views, gorgeous setting in the midst of carefully and meticulously maintained jungle like gardens, which attract birds, iguanas, and monkeys. The multileveled architecture with its whitewashed walls and iron wrought stairs and terraces is attractive and interesting. Each level holds different attractions. The magnificent pool cantilevered so as to seem one with the horizon offers the most enjoyable swimming or meditating experience in the most relaxing sorroundings.
The staff is helpful and attentive, and the people at the front desk always ready to take care of your reservation needs,
The "room with a View" was spacious, clean., comfortable and with floor to ceiling windows always keeping the beauty of the coast in front of your eyes.
The breakfast in the morning was a highlight of the experience and the kitchen did not disappoint at dinner. Excellent dining at "Le Papillon", French for butterfly.
We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner booked the La Mariposa for 4 nights in March 2014 to end our two week holiday with a bit of relaxation.

I booked an ocean room view room and it was really fantastic, we had a balcony with a view over the whole bay and a jacuzzi to enjoy the view. The room was spacious, the air con worked perfectly, lovely bathroom, jacuzzi, hammock, beautiful view, massive bed, luxury robes/towels. Everything about the room hit the spot. They even brought us a bouquet flowers on the first day.

Outside of the room the hotel was lovely with a long infinity pool overlooking two bays/beaches and perfectly situated for the sunset each night. There were also two swim up bars, one in the shade on the main level and one on the second level which is also perfectly positioned for the sunset.

There was never any rush for sun beds nor did it feel particularly busy at the hotel at any point. The kids were a bit annoying but that's because I don't have kids yet.

The food was good but overpriced and I would suggest eating out. It's a 2 minute walk down the road to some lovely restaurants - Kapi Kapi was fantastic although a little pricey but there were plenty of others (there was an amazing Italian ace as well).

The only negative of the whole stay was when our electricity went at about 9pm in the evening in our room. They fixed it quite quickly but then it went again at about 11pm when we were asleep. They had to move us into another room at about midnight which wasn't ideal. We were annoyed at the time but realistically they did everything they could to fix it as soon as they could and we were back in the room by noon the following day. It did show us that the room we had was far better than the room we were moved to for the night.

Overall I would really recommend the hotel, it's pricey but if you get a room like ours it's worth it.

Word of warning - if you intend to walk back from the beach then be prepared - flip flops don't quite stand up to the test!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MGR_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is really lovely tucked in the mountain. The infinity pool has an ocean view and you can see the sunset or sunrise. Both are really gorgeous. You can see monkeys swinging from tree branches or walking on the roof! They are really cute! The staff is very friendly and helpful. They provide a van that takes you to the beach and back to the hotel several times during the day? They were very helpful in booking a tour as well as transportation to go back to San Jose. The rooms have great ocean views not to be missed.

Room Tip: Corner suites and centre on main building have the best views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and overall had a great experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating, especially the native Costa Ricans. We left a tip for the housekeeping staff each day, which they did not take, which was interesting and perhaps reflected a value of honesty on their part. We had a room with a partial ocean view and lovely terrace to enjoy sunrise and sunset. The monkeys visited our porch railing (really cool) and an iguana sun himself regularly near our room, along with a colony of lizards. We dined one evening in the restaurant, very expensive, but fun to try just once. the food was good, but not exceptional. Other restaurants nearby that are much cheaper. There is really no need for a taxi if you're up for a short walk to the main road. For safety be aware that Costa Rican roads have no shoulder and drivers zip by quickly. Amazingly we did not witness any accidents! Lovely pool, hot tub and deck to relax. Chairs are plentiful and comfortable. Our room had a king bed and a queen bed for 3 of us, which worked well. There was no dresser in the room to store clothes, so that was a bit disappointing as I like to unpack when we get somewhere for a few days. The gift shop is lovely and well stocked with a nice variety. The staff there was very helpful. No tax is charged if you pay in cash. I bought several items there that were fairly priced. Turning in a room key is requested when you leave for the day. I was familiar with this practice as in other parts of Costa Rica this is an expectation, so the staff knows when to clean the room. The buffet breakfast was lovely and filling. Excellent staff serving beverages. We didn't feel rushed with the buffet open 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. A great stay overall.

Room Tip: An ocean view is lovely if it is within your budget.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews