We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly Disappointed”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatly Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My family and I came to the Mariposa through a recommendation from a friend who told us we would see a spectacular view which we did. The view was breathtaking and the employees were kind and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel itself was not. It is a tired old hotel that needs a great deal of work. Many of the rooms were dingy, smelled musty and if you have kids stay away from this place as there are no television sets. One day it rained all day and you do not want to be closed into a room with kids who are bored. Also there is no place that is really comfortable at this hotel. It is almost as if they do not want you to be there other than to spend your money on their restaurant and bar or book tours from them. We found the prices in the restaurant and bar to be higher than in the U.S. The Mariposa presents itself as Green Wise and that it is in relation to the green in your pocket. We had the opportunity of meeting the owner's wife and it was like meeting an artic breeze. All the other hotels that we stayed at in Costa Rica, the owners were warm and friendly. I suggest if you go to Manuel Antonio, go to the bar at the Mariposa before sunset and watch the sun descend which is quite wonderful but if looking for a hotel to really relax for a few days, you would be better off seeking another hotel in the area.

  • Liked — The employees
  • Disliked — The hotel itself
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred777, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2008
As a manager at Hotel La Mariposa, I read these comments with real concern. From its inception, 34 years ago the hotel’s architecture was a compromise between showcasing the exuberant vegetation, water and fauna surrounding it, and our guests’ comfort. Silence and the sounds of nature have been the priority and the main theme. Watching monkeys feasting on a banana tree was a joy at breakfast time for many years, even though it wasn’t your usual hotel’s amenity. Waking up to their howling at dawn was always an amazing experience that is, alas, less frequent nowadays. The investment of time and money to expand and maintain La Mariposa is a never-ending project. We have to find the right balance between a few guests’ wishes that La Mariposa becomes a standard ultra-luxury hotel similar to dozens in any American large city, or even in Costa Rica, and the desire and nostalgia of those who keep coming back year after year to a place struggling to keep the love of nature and forest as its main theme; or maybe in the words of our disgruntled guest, to remain an old tired hotel.

We are glad that, at least our guest acknowledges the gentle and kind ways which are the mark of our personnel. The owner’s wife doesn’t recall any conversation or incident which could have inspired such a negative sentiment. It’s curious though that our guest ranks the hotels he visits by the grade of his interaction with their owners. Frankly, this one is a first.
However, I would really like to have more specific comments in regards to any “musty and dingy” room in our hotel. Apparently our guest has visited many of our rooms and we would ask him to please, please write us and indicate which room is the culprit. We strive to improve and although a few guests occasionally judge some of our suites’ furniture as a bit Spartan, it would be unacceptable that any of our facilities warrants this kind of disapproval.

Regarding the no-TV’s in-the-rooms-policy which has always been part of the hotel’s vision, we will revise it soon for the sake of children’s entertainment, especially in rainy days. However, many of our old time guests will surely object, because it was traditionally a reason to leave the late-afternoon solitude of their rooms and endlessly sip a cocktail in other people’s company, while admiring the beauty of the curtains of water on the jungle and the sea

Of course, we can’t be the perfect place for everybody, and we find some relief reading the enthusiastic comments of hundreds of other guests who enjoyed the magic of La Mariposa. We welcome any remark that helps us improve and keep the spirit of La Mariposa alive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    365
    117
    51
    55
See reviews for
389
608
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

After reading the reviews about La Mariposa, we booked a fourth floor ocean view room for $135/night with them online and were not disappointed! The rate included a bountiful breakfast overlooking the Pacific with the same 270 degree view of Manuel Antonio and northwards along the coast. Breathtaking. Our room had a huge wraparound balcony, too. The bathroom had a shower big enough to hold four people, and the size of the room was bigger than our first apartment! Sure, the decor wasn't opulent, but with a view like that, who's looking? It was clean. The bar at La Mariposa is beautiful, and the infinity swimming pools and hot tub are great too. Lovely wrought iron spiral staircases on the main building. Definitely deserves a place in "1,001 Places To See Before You Die".

  • Liked — view and price
  • Disliked — unenthusiastic "help" from the bell staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We booked a standard ocean view room (10) which desperately needed a refresh. There was a rather large crack in 1 of the walls that ran from floor to ceiling and cracks in the tiles in the bathroom. The king bed was very good however the rest of the furniture was not very inviting at all. The “couch” was a hardwood bench. I did inquire about a room change or upgrade and was offered an upgrade at additional cost. Since we were only there for 3 nights and didn’t want the hassle of changing rooms we decided to stay.

That being said we did poke our heads into some of the newer rooms and they looked absolutely wonderful. My advice is to be picky when you book and make sure you request one of the newly renovated rooms. La Mariposa is known for the incredible views, which certainly did not disappoint us. The poolside bar was great and the views from there were spectacular. Fernando, the bartender, was also an asset to the hotel

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PKS-Comments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We had a magnificent family vacation at La Mariposa in Costa Rica. The hotel had the most spectacular views, pools, staff, and food.
Prior to our trip, we contacted the Marketing staff for info about activities in the area. Manfred Arias, from the hotel, was extremely responsive and emailed details back to us.

Even though we went during "rainy season", we had VERY little rain and it was at night.
The canopy (zip line) experience was awesome. We also experienced level IV rapids in our river rafting trip. Also my sons and I went on an ATV tour as well.

The tour of the National Park was great as well. The hotel staff recommended activities and made reservations at local quality restaurants. Even one restaurant Kapi Kapi, did not take reservations, but because of the staff member at La Mariposa who called for us, they made sure we had a table when we arrived. (The night before we couldn't get a table when we arrived on our own.) The hotel's call got us righyt in.

The rooms are exceptionally large, and we had a connecting room for the kids....(21, 20 and 14 yrs old)

Overall we had a great time, but the staff at La Mariposa made it even more enjoyable and efficient.

Be prepared for a great experience!!!!!

  • Liked — small and personal yet three pools and great food. very professional
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Corky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We had a wonderful time at Hotel La Mariposa. We are a family of 5 and the hotel was wonderful about accomodating us. The room was very spacious and had a fantastic view. Our room was clean and comfortable. My favorite part was the pool. It had a great view! We saw some beautiful birds and even monkeys from our hotel balcony. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely return!

  • Disliked — Restaurant for dinner was pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My husband and 3 kids just got back from Costa Rica last Sunday. We stayed at Hotel La Mariposa and we all loved it, their staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel oversees the ocean (the best view) and the rooms were perfect for our family. The Hotel has a great locations only a few minutes from the beach and all the fun vendors, and may restaurant worth dinning at. We left our hearts in Costa Rica. Kudos to the La Mariposa Reservations team they rock.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cdakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We recently traveled Costa Rica, our family of 5 and 3 of my high school Spanish students. Our consensus highlight for lodging was the Mariposa. Incredible views, excellent staff and food. Even the outside spiral stairs up to our rooms had beautiful views. (Not sure if they have an elevator). At the top of the hill above all the other hotels, it has a 5 minute van shuttle to the beach town and Manuel Antonio Park. Whether it was sitting at one of the pool bars overlooking the Pacific or on their white-water rafting excursion, we loved it there.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElConstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing