We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view!!!”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Hotel Mariposa!! We had the best room ever (3rd floor corner room) with a amazing breathtaking view! Nice, clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Pool (with wetbar) and restaurant area are perfect (again: perfect ocean view, beautiful trees n plants) and the staff was superfriendly and helpful! Hope we'll go there again some time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the week of our anniversary. We LOVED it. We stayed in one of the Premier Ocean View rooms. WOW. The view was amazing (see the photos I uploaded). The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Not only is the hotel fantastic, so is its location. I wouldn't think of staying in Quepos or Jaco after staying up on the mountain-side in the town of Manuel Antonio. There are plenty of terrific places to eat all within minutes (most are walking distance too).
The breakfast that is included with your stay is tremendous. We ate there every morning at their open air dining room and enjoyed the breathtaking 180* view of the coastline.
We had dinner there one night, it was ok. It was probably the most expensive meal we had - and probably my least favorite. It was still decent food though, it just didn't compare to our other meals/experiences. Be aware, they'll charge you 23* on all F&B tabs. (13* tax + 10* service fee)
Another tip: I would suggest picking up some beer at the corner store and just taking that to the pool instead of paying $5/beer.
Also, keep an eye out for wildlife. We saw 2 different species of monkeys, toucans, macaws, iguanas and sloths while on the hotel property.

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. I will definitely go back!

On last thought: You can walk down a really steep gravel road to a remote beach with only a few surfers and the occasional passer by. It's worth the effort if you don't mind the exercise. (Way better than the public beach were you get harassed constantly to rent or buy something.) The folks at the front desk can explain how to get there. Do it. And take your camera... you'll want to capture this experience.

Room Tip: I will go back to this hotel again. And when I do, I'll splurge for the Premier room again. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at Hotel La Mariposa at the very beginning of trip to Costa Rica. This is one of the best locations to stay in the Manuel Antonio area. The views are breathtaking from both the private balconies in the rooms (we were given a free upgrade to a full ocean view room plus early check in), the gorgeous infinity pool, pool bar, and the restaurant. On top of that, some of the best places to eat and hang out are only steps away (check out Cafe Milagro for nightly live music or the famous Agua Azul, next to the hotel). A local bus frequently runs from Quepos down to Manuel Antonio National Park on a road right by the hotel and is a convenient way to get to both for less than $1. Finally we spotted tons of wildlife at the hotel - monkeys, toucans, and iguanas. The rooms themselves were a bit dated and our shower only had cold water. However, I would still consider going back based on the location, the views and the highly attentive staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kait M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

La Maripose is a beautiful colonial style hotel with all modern amenities. All or most rooms afford stunning vistas of the coast and the azure ocean beyond. They also have private balconies or terraces where one can easily spend several hours lazing away if disinclined to venture out. The rooms are also furnished with charming local (looking) hand carved wooden furniture which perfectly complement the colonial ambience. An elaborate breakfast spread with Continental, American and local offerings in a partly covered terrace is included in the tariff. The hotel also arranges competitively priced tours to local attractions and the staff are friendly and forthcoming with valuable advice. I would have given it a perfect 5 stars had our room air-conditioner not leaked on the second morning, flooding a part of our room and some of our luggage. At ~$250 a night I hope the management will take care of the problem soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shireen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Overall experience was amazing. The place was beautiful. We were completely surrounded by nature. The whole property was decorated with nature itself. It's breath taking. The view is amazing. Best view ever seen .
The staff starting from Alexis and Byron at front desk to the handyman maintaining and taking care of the property were very instinctive and intimate. Each one of them went out of their way to make our vacation special and unique. Alexis was very attentive and quickly responded our questions, he always dedicated time to explain each of the tours and properly recommend the best fit for us. He always greeted us with a smile and made us feel like family. And he surprised us with a room upgrade. :))
A day before our flight back, we had an issue with our flight and we happened to run into Byron, off duty he offered to solve our issue by going to quepos airport.

Can't wait to go back to this paradise! And the wonderful happy people that work in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. From the minute we pulled in to the parking lot, the service was impeccable. The front desk staff helped to arrange tours and spa visits, and the bar staff was fantastic around the pool area. The views are breathtaking, especially from the infinity pool. Breakfast was delicious every morning, always fresh and had a nice variety.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Travelling in peak season and in Costa Rica for a month, we were limited to accommodation in Manuel Antionio. I booked the "garden view" room as it was the only room left available- this is actually away from the main hotel and basically in the car park. The room looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s. We understood we had booked the lowest price room, however at 5am on the first morning we we 're woken by coaches entering the hotel and the security guard shouting-enough was enough and I dragged my tired body up the steep hill to reception. Expecting them to state the hotel was full, I was fully expecting to demand a refund and find alturnite accommodations- however, at 8.30am I was informed they had had a cancelation and were offered a particular sea view room- the room was a little tired- but the view was amazing, so made up for the decor. The staff were lovely for the entire 5 days we stayed, the only other complaint was that breakfast was just ok. The little cafe/restaurant next to the hotel ( i forget the name) was lovely though especially the eggs benerdict and the homemade deserts, so we opted to go there after day 2 breakfast at the hotel. I'm sure if you've read any reviews, you don't need to be told how stunning the views are from the hotel pool and bars are. I would say that this is the main reason they can charge the prices they do in peak season along with the excellent location, really close to lots of good restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £125 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing