We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel and friendly staff”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I recently stayed at the La Mariposa Hotel in Manuel Antonio and I was impressed. I work for a big, European Airline and get to stay in high end Hotels a lot, but this Hotel can definitely take it up with those 5 Star Hotels.
Taking the local Environment in consideration the La Mariposa is a top Hotel. They offer two Kind of rooms, the very cozy Costa Rican style rooms with a lot of Wood or the fancy modern rooms. I would recommend the local style rooms, as they have so much charme. All rooms and the property is very clean, the staff is super friendly and helpful! Especially Bryan is helping you out with anything you wish. SAme counts for Manfred from Sales. Elias from the Pool-Bar is helping you out with anything you Need while Relaxing in the sun. Perfect hospitality with wild monkeys included. It was just amazing.
The Food is great as well, and for those who want to cater for themselves, there are a few supermarkets in Walking distance. All in all I can only recommend this Hotel. A perfect spot to Switch off for a few days and Forget about the hectic life.
During my stay Wifi was working fantastic everywhere on the property. But keeping in mind it is set in the jungle. I find it very impressive to have wifi anyways. Consider to just Switch off your phone, its worth it!

Room Tip: If you decide on a Ocean view or partly ocean view, take the "old" style rooms if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    361
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
383
603
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I don't know from where to start, we arrive the hotel on Friday morning (around) 10:00 am, hotel check in is at 3:00pm but there was all the staff to make us feel like most important persons in the hotel(thanks to baryon, Sebastian, manfred the manager, Elias in the pool bar, for make our days the best ever). I assume they do the same with all the guest. By the time you cross the door you can feel u are in another world. The view pictures can't not describe how beautiful look the place in person, you really need to experience that to believe it, we had a upgrade to one of the antique rooms with partial ocean view(no. 9). And we love it. Direct view to the ocean, typical CR tiles, wood made hand furnitures, a room with lot of character, everything was clean, we didn't have minibar and we requested for one, and the staff immediately send us one to the room.in the pool bar we recommend to try the cocktails, margaritas and strawberry dayquris too, fresh and very tasty. We only had food from the light Menu, but the burgers are the best. Breakfast in the hotel is complete, few good options for start the day.( eggs, lots of local fruits, cereal, yogurt, bacon, sausages, caffe and orange juice). We stay there 3 nights, and after all this experience, I will say I will come back very soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed at La Mariposa for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The room was large (room 6) and faced a large expanse of trees with ocean view to the side. It was perfect for us as we went to CR to spot animals. We saw a ton of wildlife from the balcony and/ or on grounds (toucans, motmot, capuchins, howlers, squirrel monkeys, trogans, tanagers, anis). There are two swim up bars, a jacuzzi, and an Infiniti pool. The hotel also offers shuttles to/from the beach (10 minute walk to park from there) and is within walking distance to the restaurants in Manuel Antonio. The staff was friendly and helpful (with only one exception: the woman that cooked the omelets in the morning was a grump!). We would stay here again on our next visit to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night stay at La Mariposa and would highly recommend it to others visiting Manual Antonio. We had a full ocean view room, and it was lovely sitting on our balcony (and lying in our hammock) to watch the sunset or just view the ocean. There was also a jacuzzi tub on our balcony (but we didn't use it).

Room: Our room was very large and clean. We did have two bug visitors during our stay. While I don't blame the hotel for this (you're surrounded by nature - bugs are expected!) I do wish there had been some Raid in the room to take care of that situation.

Restaurant: The breakfast buffet wasn't large but had something for everyone - cereals, yogurts, fruits, fresh juice, various breads, some hot stations (which had some breakfast meats and rice & beans) and an egg station. We also ate lunch there our first day. My husband had a fish sandwich and I had a quesadilla, and we both had pina coladas. Both meals were tasty and made for a good lunch (and the pina coladas were fabulous!). The view was breathtaking. You could just sit there for hours looking at the beach and Manual Antonio Reserve.

Staff: All staff we spoke with were very helpful, but Byron is an exceptional employee. He made us feel welcome from the start, knew our names, and was always asking how he could help us during our stay. A+ employee!

Other: They have a shuttle to the beach though it runs somewhat infrequently. My husband and I would walk down to the beach (about 10/15 minutes on a somewhat-steep dirt road) and take the shuttle back. The infinity pool is beautiful, and very refreshing for a swim in the evening. There are several restaurants and shops nearby, so even though my husband and I didn't have a car, we never felt as if we had to stay at the hotel for dinner. (A great nearby dinner spot was Cafe Agua Azul - about a quick 5 minute walk from the hotel.)

Overall Hotel La Mariposa was a lovely hotel and I had a great experience there. I recommend it to other travelers without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Marie was wonderful planning a dinner for 28 for my son and his fiancée recently. Best view ever in all of the area. Most attentive staff of wait persons, very professional and a bartender who kept the drinks coming for my guests at an open bar we ordered. The settings and flowers were elegant and simple as I requested too. The food was ordered a la carte and all the guests were pleased, wonderful seafood selections. We thought the service was outstanding and the surprise birthday cake for my husband was a nice touch. Many kudos to the staff who helped and made it easy for me from NC to plan and even keeping the storms at bay from raining on us that night!!!

Room Tip: Only ate at the restaurant Papillion, oops, guess I need to do a separate review for that and I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amazing location! The views from our room(49) were breathtaking. We originally had room 21 which was not very pleasant and only had one bed as opposed to the 2 that we were confirmed for. The staff immediately took care of it and a few minutes later, we had room 49. Cannot recommend it enough. Our children (ages 4 and 7) loved the room and we all enjoyed walking out to the baloney and watching all the world life surrounding us. Capuchin monkeys swinging from the lush branches nearby, parrots flying by... Gorgeous scenario. !The staff were all wonderful and very helpful, especially Byron and Sebastian. We loved the pools and the mojitos are delicious! Food was alright... I'd recommend the calamari for apps. Very safe location and close enough to town(car recommended ) yet far enough to actually get some r and r. 15 min walk to beach but recommend sneakers for the trek. If you have little ones, drive it!!!! The hotel was very clean and we will only stay here when we return.... Loved it that much! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2jetset2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights at La Mariposa with a friend. We had reserved and paid for a garden room but were upgraded to a partial ocean view. We were in room 12 and the view of Manuel Antonio National Park and the beach below were gorgeous. The hotel itself is very pleasant to walk around and the infinity pool with ocean views is a perfect place to watch the sunset.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made an effort to remember us by name, especially Byron. They helped book a catamaran tour for us and provided many restaurant recommendations.

I would absolutely stay at La Mariposa if I return to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing