We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2008

My husband and I recently returned from a weeks stay at La Mariposa. We made our reservations directly with the hotel and Manfred Arias assured us that our choice was the right one. He answered many of our concerns prior to arriving in Costa Rica.
Our room was clean and spacious with an awesome view. The large balcony was a plus and an early morning coffee was a great way to start the day looking out over the beautiful views of forest and ocean. . The staff was very efficient and made sure all our needs were met. We found the large breakfast buffet exceptionally nice. The infinity pool was heavenly and there was plenty of confortable pool furniture. We look forward to returning to this well located hotel that allows you to experience all that Manuel Antonio and Quepos has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank catherine469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2008

Wow! This place is INCREDIBLY BEAUTIFULl! My husband and I stayed in the Premier Suite for five days. First of all, the staff was fantastic! One of the employees, Manfred Arias, assisted me with making the reservations for the room via La Mariposa's website and the telephone. He was incredibly helpful and kind and spoke very good English. In fact, most of the staff was bilingual. We felt very safe as well.

We were very impressed by the staff when we arrived at the hotel as well. EVERYONE who worked there was incredibly helpful and kind every single day. We ate most of our meals at the hotel's restaurant because the food was so delicious and the views of the ocean from the outdoor restaurant were LOVELY!! There are lovely trees around the incredible pools with birds and butterflies flying around....with the lovely ocean as a constant background. We saw the most BEAUTIFUL SUNSET during our dinner the last night we were there.

Anytime we wanted to travel somewhere, the staff happily arranged for transportation and tours at the drop of a hat.
The room was very clean. We did not have a problem with ants. There were a few insects that made their way into the room including 4 ants, but the hotel is IN THE RAIN FOREST! It was fine. I am really obsessed with germs, and I can honestly write that I felt VERY comfortable with the cleanliness of the room. The maids did a nice job each day of keeping our room clean.

There were iguanas on the roof below us each day (They were just sunbathing and never bothered us. They were great). We loved sitting on the balcony and watching them, in addition to watching the ocean and the rainforest. One night some monkeys and a sloth jumped on one of the roofs at the hotel. Everyone just enjoyed watching these magnificent animals at the hotel.

We took a taxi each time we went to Manuel Antonio Park which was took about 5-10 minutes, but there's a van/bus you can take there as well (if you like monkeys, the rainforest and the ocean, you will most likely love this park).

The Manuel Antonio beach is our favorite beach of all time. We LOVED hearing the howler monkeys while jumping the waves and looking at the rainforest. At one point we were laying on the sand underneath a tree at the edge of the rainforest while enjoying the sunshine and the sound and view of the ocean. Plus we took lovely hikes through Manuel Antonio Park. On various occasions, there were familes of monkeys walking above our heads in the trees. The really cool thing about this park is that the ocean is RIGHT THERE. So you're able to enjoy this lovely rain forst hike while looking at the ocean and enjoying the sound of the waves.

Next time we return to Manuel Antonio, WE WILL BE SURE TO RETURN TO LA MARIPOSA!! It was TRUE PARADISE!!!! STAFF= EXCELLENT! FOOD=DELICOUS!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SuzannaUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I reserved directly by calling the hotel. The place was not evidently the most luxurious hotel we ever visited. However, the peace and beauty of the large open-air terrace where we had our daily breakfast, were very special. Unbelievable view. Service was exceptional. We felt pampered. All excursions they recommended were worth every penny. The rooms were not a designer’s dream, but they were clean and comfortable. Anyway, we were too busy admiring the stunning views from every window. No TV, which we complained about at the front desk, wasn’t so bad after all. Gave us more time to explore this great area of Manuel Antonio. We had dinner only once at the hotel’s restaurant. A bit pricey but we liked it. There were a couple other very good restaurants in the area. Overall we would highly recommend La Mariposa and the Manuel Antonio location. Don’t miss the horseback ride and the canopy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank perezgorrondona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Our family of four including two tweenage girls just returned from our Costa Rica vacation that included 8 nights at the La Mariposa. The hotel exceeded our expectations and we are already looking forward to a return visit.

We booked the hotel directly using their toll-free number. Manfred Arias, the Director of Marketing for La Mariposa took our reservation and assisted me with many other details related to my trip to Costa Rica. His kind demeanor and warm personality reassured me that we would be well cared for ~ and we certainly were.

The hotel is located some 500 feet above the Pacific Ocean offering the uncontested best view of Manuel Antonio and Bay of Quepos. The view from the ground-level dining area and pools is awesome. The view from our room and balcony on the third floor was spectacular (#35). We booked an "Ocean View" room and we all know that this can have many different interpretations from hotel to hotel: from true ocean view to being able to see a glimpse of the ocean when you stick your head out of the bathroom window! Well our "Ocean View" room was about a 200 degree panoramic unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio. We even had a small view of the Bay of Quepos.

The room itself was a bit Spartan in appearance with white walls, tile floors, and simple furnishings, but the hotel is in the process of redecorating and they were actually renovating the room next to ours during our stay (it was never an inconvenience). The room was actually quite large. It easily held the double bed and two twins that we requested with room to spare. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was fine with lavatory, commode, and shower all in the same small bathroom. There was abundant hot water (and sometimes I was the last to shower after three girls so trust me, there IS abundant hot water). The room had a small foyer with closet and safe. The air conditioner had a remote control and kept us nice and cool throughout our stay. Two massive arch-shaped windows and the sliding glass door offered views of Manuel Antonio. A huge private balcony ran the full length and width of the room, and was probably 10 feet wide. We spent most of our awake time on the balcony taking in the sights and sounds of Manuel Antonio. Though we were a distance from the beach, we could almost always hear the roar of the waves breaking on the beach below.

Our room rate included breakfast, so we took advantage of this each day. The buffet included delicious fresh fruit, fresh juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, pastries, pancakes, sausage, bacon, hash browns, beans & rice, and a manned egg station for omelets or other egg dishes prepared to order. The coffee was great and was always accompanied by a small pitcher of warmed milk. The breakfast service started at 6:30AM and was setup in the dining area taking full advantage of this million-dollar view.

The hotel was immaculately clean, as were the pools and grounds. Our guest room was clean on arrival and the housekeeping staff returned the room to check-in clean each day.

In my opinion, the hotel has a great location within Manuel Antonio. The beaches of Playa Espadilla and the Manuel Antonio National Park can be accessed via a 20-minute walk (we never tried it), hotel shuttle, or taxi ($5.00 or $6.00 for the four of us). The hotel will gladly call a taxi for guests and usually they arrive within minutes. Taxis are abundant at Playa Espadilla, so getting a ride back is never a problem.

The hotel is also within walking distance to many nice restaurants, an ATM, a bank, a laundry, and the Super Joseth (the local grocery store).

Finally, the hotel's finest strength is its staff and the La Mariposa staff is superb. They treat guests like they are guests in their own homes. There was no request that was unmet. They called me by name throughout my stay! On our second day at the hotel, the reception desk told me I had a message ~ it was from Manfred Arias, saying that he wanted to meet me personally. So we gave him a call (his office is in a separate building down the hill). We arranged to meet and it was as if we were best friends. He just wanted to make sure that everything was meeting my expectations and wanted to see if there was anything he could do to make my stay more enjoyable. Where else are you going to find this?

If you are planning a trip to La Mariposa and have a question, I'll do my best to answer. I have also written a Trip Report on this site with a comprehensive review of my entire trip to Costa Rica.

With warm regards

Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
2  Thank blueQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My family and I came to the Mariposa through a recommendation from a friend who told us we would see a spectacular view which we did. The view was breathtaking and the employees were kind and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel itself was not. It is a tired old hotel that needs a great deal of work. Many of the rooms were dingy, smelled musty and if you have kids stay away from this place as there are no television sets. One day it rained all day and you do not want to be closed into a room with kids who are bored. Also there is no place that is really comfortable at this hotel. It is almost as if they do not want you to be there other than to spend your money on their restaurant and bar or book tours from them. We found the prices in the restaurant and bar to be higher than in the U.S. The Mariposa presents itself as Green Wise and that it is in relation to the green in your pocket. We had the opportunity of meeting the owner's wife and it was like meeting an artic breeze. All the other hotels that we stayed at in Costa Rica, the owners were warm and friendly. I suggest if you go to Manuel Antonio, go to the bar at the Mariposa before sunset and watch the sun descend which is quite wonderful but if looking for a hotel to really relax for a few days, you would be better off seeking another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jared087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred777, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2008

As a manager at Hotel La Mariposa, I read these comments with real concern. From its inception, 34 years ago the hotel’s architecture was a compromise between showcasing the exuberant vegetation, water and fauna surrounding it, and our guests’ comfort. Silence and the sounds of nature have been the priority and the main theme. Watching monkeys feasting on a banana tree was a joy at breakfast time for many years, even though it wasn’t your usual hotel’s amenity. Waking up to their howling at dawn was always an amazing experience that is, alas, less frequent nowadays. The investment of time and money to expand and maintain La Mariposa is a never-ending project. We have to find the right balance between a few guests’ wishes that La Mariposa becomes a standard ultra-luxury hotel similar to dozens in any American large city, or even in Costa Rica, and the desire and nostalgia of those who keep coming back year after year to a place struggling to keep the love of nature and forest as its main theme; or maybe in the words of our disgruntled guest, to remain an old tired hotel.

We are glad that, at least our guest acknowledges the gentle and kind ways which are the mark of our personnel. The owner’s wife doesn’t recall any conversation or incident which could have inspired such a negative sentiment. It’s curious though that our guest ranks the hotels he visits by the grade of his interaction with their owners. Frankly, this one is a first.
However, I would really like to have more specific comments in regards to any “musty and dingy” room in our hotel. Apparently our guest has visited many of our rooms and we would ask him to please, please write us and indicate which room is the culprit. We strive to improve and although a few guests occasionally judge some of our suites’ furniture as a bit Spartan, it would be unacceptable that any of our facilities warrants this kind of disapproval.

Regarding the no-TV’s in-the-rooms-policy which has always been part of the hotel’s vision, we will revise it soon for the sake of children’s entertainment, especially in rainy days. However, many of our old time guests will surely object, because it was traditionally a reason to leave the late-afternoon solitude of their rooms and endlessly sip a cocktail in other people’s company, while admiring the beauty of the curtains of water on the jungle and the sea

Of course, we can’t be the perfect place for everybody, and we find some relief reading the enthusiastic comments of hundreds of other guests who enjoyed the magic of La Mariposa. We welcome any remark that helps us improve and keep the spirit of La Mariposa alive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

After reading the reviews about La Mariposa, we booked a fourth floor ocean view room for $135/night with them online and were not disappointed! The rate included a bountiful breakfast overlooking the Pacific with the same 270 degree view of Manuel Antonio and northwards along the coast. Breathtaking. Our room had a huge wraparound balcony, too. The bathroom had a shower big enough to hold four people, and the size of the room was bigger than our first apartment! Sure, the decor wasn't opulent, but with a view like that, who's looking? It was clean. The bar at La Mariposa is beautiful, and the infinity swimming pools and hot tub are great too. Lovely wrought iron spiral staircases on the main building. Definitely deserves a place in "1,001 Places To See Before You Die".

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We booked a standard ocean view room (10) which desperately needed a refresh. There was a rather large crack in 1 of the walls that ran from floor to ceiling and cracks in the tiles in the bathroom. The king bed was very good however the rest of the furniture was not very inviting at all. The “couch” was a hardwood bench. I did inquire about a room change or upgrade and was offered an upgrade at additional cost. Since we were only there for 3 nights and didn’t want the hassle of changing rooms we decided to stay.

That being said we did poke our heads into some of the newer rooms and they looked absolutely wonderful. My advice is to be picky when you book and make sure you request one of the newly renovated rooms. La Mariposa is known for the incredible views, which certainly did not disappoint us. The poolside bar was great and the views from there were spectacular. Fernando, the bartender, was also an asset to the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PKS-Comments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £123 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing