We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beginning to our vacation”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome beginning to our vacation”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at La Mariposa for three nights at the end of July with our three teenage sons. We had two connecting rooms (28-29) with an awesome panoramic view of the Pacific from our large patio. We were quite pleased when the hotel manager, Alex, greeted us with tropical drinks and gave us a tour of the property.
The breakfasts each day were wonderful, especially the omelets and pancakes that were made to order! The infinity pool was really great as well. We enjoyed taking the hotel shuttle bus down to the beach and using it as our way back. We also were able to walk to a few restaurants from the hotel, including Cafe Milagra and El Gato, which were both very good for families. We also saw plenty of monkeys, hummingbirds, and iguanas from the property.

Room Tip: Specify that you would like rooms together ahead of time. We were in the original building and liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sodstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    361
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
383
603
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from 6 nights at La Mariposa and recommend it highly. We had Room 55, a corner room with an ocean view and it was worth it! I would have preferred a standard shower than a European-type handheld shower and the room did not have a desk or small writing table but the bed was very comfortable and the room was large. The front desk staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The view from the pool and the restaurant are magnificent! Many great restaurants in the area including Cafe Milagro, Mar Luna and Aqua Azul. It would be nice if the bus to and from the beach ran more often and the pickup was 20 minutes late. I took two yoga classes at the Holis Spa nearby and really enjoyed them. We would definitely come back both to Manuel Antonio and this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First, the view can not be explained and photos do NOT do it justice. It is beautiful. Our family had a wonderful time. Our room, #36, which I believe must be the best room in the place had a balcony along two sides of the room and a view of the sunrise and sunset. The pool and grounds are lovely and we so enjoyed visits from the monkeys in the mornings. The front desk staff was so accommodating and it was just a great experience. We were located close to food, the national park and other attractions. It is the perfect family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great views of the beach and Manuel Antonio. As other travelers noted, we had some initial trouble at check in. We were traveling with children and were supposed to have 4 rooms. The rooms they gave us weren't together. In fact they were all on different floors - not good if you want to be near your children. Luckily, the front desk worked hard to resolve the situation to our satisfaction.

The restaurant had a great breakfast buffet and the kids loved the infinity pool. The only cons are the spiral staircase that leads to the different floors - not fun if you're afraid of heights or have vertigo. Also, the tile floors in the halls are very slippery. I almost fell twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm from MA/USA, and I've done some travelling in CR - Tamarindo, Nuevo Arenal, Jaco, etc. La Mariposa was the first place we stayed that really took our breath away. The views are spectacular (dizzying even....) Hotel, pool, grounds, all are great. The full breakfast - delicious. And they have piping hot coffee out at 5 AM for us early birds who can't get off East Coast time. We stayed off season (July) so the hotel was not crowded (which I liked). Minutes drive to Manuel Antonio or the MA Public Beach.

We booked an Ocean View room on Expedia. For the hotel that translates into a "Partial" Ocean View room. But fortunately they were able to upgrade us to "Full" Ocean View at no charge. I heard from other guests who had been upgraded too - if there is a nicer room available, they just upgrade you (you don't even need to ask). Very cool. However, if they couldn't upgrade us - I may have been disappointed with the whole Partial/Full disconnect.

Pros: ALL the hotel staff - guys behind the front desk, gardener, wait staff, security guard, everyone - were great!

Cons: Bed and pillows were so-so for me in terms of comfort, creaky if someone rolls over too (I'm a light sleeper). The sliding glass doors on balcony don't latch shut (not that anyone could get up there...but I like locks!)

Location: I recommend beyond the Mariposa, Emillios for food and Holis spa - both 2 min walk from Mariposa. Victorias (down the street) & L'Angelos (tiny Italian joint in Quepos) are both good.

Room Tip: I was in #59, a bungalow separate from main hotel. View was Spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poiuy_Qaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had booked this hotel thru a travel website and our reservation clearly showed the correct number of adult and children. Unfortunately, due to a glitch in some software, the correct ages of children didn't get into the info the hotel received. It seems the hotel noticed it, sent an email to the website saying they cannot honor the rate but didn't take any further action. When we arrived at the hotel, they asked us to pay $90 extra per night. When we tried to reason with them, the front desk people were quite apologetic but the reservations manager was totally unhelpful and uncooperative. He didn't even help us to get in touch with the travel website with whom they have an ongoing relation. We finally had to pay the extra money since we had to stay that night or we would have lost our money. Even after paying the extra money, the reservations manager conveyed a message saying we should find another hotel from the next night !!

The next day the front desk supervisor helped us get in touch with the travel website and help resolve the issue. But for the help from the front desk supervisor Daniel, I would have rated this place as terrible !

As for the hotel itself, the breakfast area and pool are quite nice and have a great view of the pacific. Our hotel room was with old furniture and furnishings but comfortable. The bathroom is also spacious but certainly needs to be updated. The fixtures are in terrible condition and the shower is half open which means the whole bathroom is flooded as soon as one child takes a shower. They really need to fix the shower and the fixtures !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vechog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton bays,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed the lovely room/ocean view. Food and service were excellent. Breakfast could be improved upon a bit, however. We especially enjoyed the relaxed format in place for lunch and dinner, and it in no way detracted from the excellent food and service. Staff was most helpful and efficient. With all these good things combined, it made for an especially enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and the higher up the better unless you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing