We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived in a thunderstorm at night and were only pleased with the hotel, however on opening the curtains the next morning we were awoken with the best view ever. We were in room 52 and had a corner balcony with views of sunrise (which we made most days), tropical rainforest and Pacific Ocean.
Sunset from the pool bar was a must.
The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, hot food and made-to-order eggs and pancakes.
Lots of good places within walking distance for food, Emillio's Cafe, Aqua Azul etc.
Easy access to beach with shuttle bus 4 times a day (you can walk it - 20 minutes down/ 30 minutes back!)
Manuel Antoni Park 5mins drive away. Nice drive along the coast to Dominical, Uvita and Hacienda Baru Nationa Park.
Once again must mention the excellent views - no other hotel in the area can boast such a magnificent location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    348
    114
    48
    53
See reviews for
374
592
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our room is completely unacceptable for $206 per night booked through expedia. Have a view of parking lot and road with motorcycle din and loud music from a restaurant. They refuse to change us unless we pay another 85$ a night!! This is ruining the end of our Costa Rica holiday!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScubadiverNskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMariposaHotel, Director Comercial at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear ScubadiverNskiier,

Thank you for the comment, it is very important to us know your opinion.
However we will like to explin what really happend at your arrival to the Trip Advisors readers,

Mrs ScubadiverNskiier arrives at the Front Desk saying that she had book an Ocean View room, when we had her entering a STD Garden View room,

We gladly went over the reservation and she did book the Garden View room, not an Ocean view room like she told our staff at the Check In,

Due to availability the only room with an Ocean View we had a Premier Ocean View, our higest room category, we offered her this room stating that there was an extra amount to pay for the Upgrade, in which she refuced to pay because it has too much for her,

Our Front Desk and Reservations Staff offered her the options available, like we always do, our main priority is always to have a happy guest, but unfortunatly with situation like this one is the guest choice,

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After a glitch with our reservation at a different hotel in the area, we were able to get a room at La Mariposa. Once we got to the reception area, our breath was taken away with the gorgeous views. The front desk was very accommodating and continuously made sure our needs were met. I was thoroughly impressed with Byron in particular -- he'd remember what activity we had that day and who our guide was. He'd even call the various tour companies to make sure they were running on time and to remind them we were now at La Mariposa. The room we were in (18) did not have the ocean view, but it did have monkeys on the trees RIGHT THERE -- the kids LOVED it. The room was huge as was the bathroom. Plenty of space and very comfortable. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Although La Mariposa itself is a beautifully well-kept, wonderfully-located hotel with outstanding views over the canopy to the Pacific, the bar known as "Fred's Place" which is located in the parking lot was hands down the worst establishment we visited while in Costa Rica. The man himself, Fred, who readily admits to doing everything in his power to take the money out of the pockets of tourists, is a horribly indecent man with a serious drinking problem, which, in the few hours we spent with him, resulted in an eruption of completely uncalled for vulgarity and outright rudeness... Female travelers should especially beware! The mistake we made in attempting to have Fred show us around town resulted in our group having to continually apologize for his misogynistic, racist, and terribly offensive comments made towards young, female tourists... If La Mariposa wanted to give their customers an overall more safe and pleasant experience, I would highly recommend they kindly as Fred to vacate the premises...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean (Although significantly more expensive) will keep you away from the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at La Mariposa for three nights at the end of July with our three teenage sons. We had two connecting rooms (28-29) with an awesome panoramic view of the Pacific from our large patio. We were quite pleased when the hotel manager, Alex, greeted us with tropical drinks and gave us a tour of the property.
The breakfasts each day were wonderful, especially the omelets and pancakes that were made to order! The infinity pool was really great as well. We enjoyed taking the hotel shuttle bus down to the beach and using it as our way back. We also were able to walk to a few restaurants from the hotel, including Cafe Milagra and El Gato, which were both very good for families. We also saw plenty of monkeys, hummingbirds, and iguanas from the property.

Room Tip: Specify that you would like rooms together ahead of time. We were in the original building and liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sodstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from 6 nights at La Mariposa and recommend it highly. We had Room 55, a corner room with an ocean view and it was worth it! I would have preferred a standard shower than a European-type handheld shower and the room did not have a desk or small writing table but the bed was very comfortable and the room was large. The front desk staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The view from the pool and the restaurant are magnificent! Many great restaurants in the area including Cafe Milagro, Mar Luna and Aqua Azul. It would be nice if the bus to and from the beach ran more often and the pickup was 20 minutes late. I took two yoga classes at the Holis Spa nearby and really enjoyed them. We would definitely come back both to Manuel Antonio and this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

First, the view can not be explained and photos do NOT do it justice. It is beautiful. Our family had a wonderful time. Our room, #36, which I believe must be the best room in the place had a balcony along two sides of the room and a view of the sunrise and sunset. The pool and grounds are lovely and we so enjoyed visits from the monkeys in the mornings. The front desk staff was so accommodating and it was just a great experience. We were located close to food, the national park and other attractions. It is the perfect family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing