We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mariposa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas El Parque(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mandarina(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divisamar Hotel & Casino(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byblos Resort & Casino(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Roca(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveller rating
893
407
128
57
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
407
128
57
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfull ocean view roommain buildingcosta ricacorner roomamazing viewshighest pointdegree viewfree shuttlewatch the sunsetbeautiful hotelnational parkyogurtswim up barcafe milagrothe pacific oceanloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Yes, as all the other reviews have mentioned, this place is all about The VIEW! Are the furnishing in many of the rooms tired/could use replacing/updating? Yes. Is the food (the hot wings are delish & there is top shelf alcohol) at the hotel restaurant quite pricey ? Yes. Was the hot tub 'out of service' for 2 days (and we love hot tubs) while we were there ? Yes. But, I will tell you this, THE VIEW alone more than made up for any of our "issues" we had with La Mariposa. We were in room #36, corner room with panoramic views (OMG!!), breakfast was delicious, the location couldn't be beat with walking distance to some great places (ie. Villa Nicolas for dinner) and the staff (esp the person who checked us in) was friendly and helpful. It was easy to catch the bus to Manuel Antonio National Park (yes, we hired a guide at the park). We were also worried about going during the "green" season, but we had wonderful weather and while yes it did rain, it rained either very very early in the morning or during the night and never ruined any of our days. I would absolutely recommend this place and would come back again. Why? The fab location and of course......THE VIEW!!

Room Tip: Room #36 AMAZING VIEWS, but know that its at the top of the main building so there may be noise from the pool area and staff setting up early in the morn
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TOWNSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Like others who have reviewed this hotel, we arrived in a pouring rain, and were met by staff with umbrellas, to lead us in from the parking lot. Our family of four spent four nights here, with a truly, full ocean view that must have been about 180 degrees of ocean--best view we have ever had, and we've had some great views. Set midway up the hills--too far to hear the ocean, the hotel has ornate architecture (lots of wrought iron) for Old World charm, and well-manicured, tropical landscaping. The hotel is well-situated, located off the road with many other hotels and restaurants, which is the same road that five minutes down, you'll be at Manuel Antonio National Park, which is the entire reason you are at this spot in Costa Rica.

Our double room was of an average size, comfortable with a nice bathroom and balcony. There is a large infinity pool that wraps around the lower level, plus two different swim-up pools with bars. The included, Costa Rican ("typical," is the word used for local cuisine) breakfast was delicious, (rice/beans, egg dish, meat dish, omelette station, pastries, fruits (watermelon, mango, papaya, cantaloupe, pineapple), juices and coffee), with just enough daily change to not make it boring over 4 days. We ate one dinner there--too many easy-to-reach, well-reviewed restaurants in the area, but the one we did eat was delicious, albeit at hotel prices. Our kids (9 & 14) really enjoyed the pool table, located off the pool, in a covered area, and there was no extra cost to play. The staff was very helpful and friendly. During the time we were there, the hotel seemed about half full, rarely were all the tables occupied at breakfast, and there were always available chairs and tables around the pool. We never took the walk down to the beach (we're from Florida, so the beach isn't our main focus), but I understand it was just down the hill. The hotel seems to be connected or associated with a small local art gallery, with some great items for sale. For me, one of the best times at the hotel, was getting up at daybreak--sun rises at about 5:15 AM, so if you are nocturnal in the States, you won't be in Costa Rica, and photographing the sunrise from the upper floors.

The only negatives to La Mariposa are slight, and would be the parking (only a handful of spots in the lot closest to the hotel, and each are tight fits for an SUV--a larger gravel lot is at the bottom of a small hill, though it is watched 24/7 by a guard, who records your tag and makes sure you're a guest, when you park. The only other negative would be that the inner sides to the photogenic infinity pool need some more attention and upkeep, but you would only see that from swimming.

Still, our family loved the property, and we will have fond memories of our time there. Oh, and they have at least one spider monkeys walking around on the roofs, a huge iguana who was easy to spot, and you won't have to listen long to hear the howler monkeys. Great intro to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: You got to go with an ocean view. Worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for almost a week and didn't want to leave!! The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. The hotel set up our car from San Jose airport and our daily excursions. Everything was so easy and made our trip even better. Definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakrchic834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived in a thunderstorm at night and were only pleased with the hotel, however on opening the curtains the next morning we were awoken with the best view ever. We were in room 52 and had a corner balcony with views of sunrise (which we made most days), tropical rainforest and Pacific Ocean.
Sunset from the pool bar was a must.
The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, hot food and made-to-order eggs and pancakes.
Lots of good places within walking distance for food, Emillio's Cafe, Aqua Azul etc.
Easy access to beach with shuttle bus 4 times a day (you can walk it - 20 minutes down/ 30 minutes back!)
Manuel Antoni Park 5mins drive away. Nice drive along the coast to Dominical, Uvita and Hacienda Baru Nationa Park.
Once again must mention the excellent views - no other hotel in the area can boast such a magnificent location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our room is completely unacceptable for $206 per night booked through expedia. Have a view of parking lot and road with motorcycle din and loud music from a restaurant. They refuse to change us unless we pay another 85$ a night!! This is ruining the end of our Costa Rica holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScubadiverNskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMariposaHotel, Director Comercial at La Mariposa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear ScubadiverNskiier,

Thank you for the comment, it is very important to us know your opinion.
However we will like to explin what really happend at your arrival to the Trip Advisors readers,

Mrs ScubadiverNskiier arrives at the Front Desk saying that she had book an Ocean View room, when we had her entering a STD Garden View room,

We gladly went over the reservation and she did book the Garden View room, not an Ocean view room like she told our staff at the Check In,

Due to availability the only room with an Ocean View we had a Premier Ocean View, our higest room category, we offered her this room stating that there was an extra amount to pay for the Upgrade, in which she refuced to pay because it has too much for her,

Our Front Desk and Reservations Staff offered her the options available, like we always do, our main priority is always to have a happy guest, but unfortunatly with situation like this one is the guest choice,

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews