We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Fantastic View, Reasonably Priced Drinks and Food”
Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We, 2 couples, stayed in the Mariposa for two days the beginning of August.
We think this is a wonderful hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and spacious and the room service was very good. We detected no smell of mold or any other unpleasant odor and we checked several rooms.
The food was good, so were the drinks and prices were reasonable.
No doubt, we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabians
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family and I stayed at La Mariposa about 10 days ago. It was a long ride from Monteverde to Manuel Antonio (about 6 hours) and we just wanted to check in and get to our room. We had booked the full ocean view room. When we got to our room............wow. First off, the room was the size of 2 hotel rooms with an archway in between. Then the balcony....huge (although we shared with the room next door), but OMG what a view! Everywhere you looked, you saw the Pacific Ocean. Perfect sunset viewing too! Air conditioning worked fantastic and we had wi-fi in our room. Breakfast was included. Great selection of food and quite tasty! We did eat twice in the hotel restaurant. Food and service was very good. Only complaint, my daughter is a vegetarian and not a lot for her, especially lunch menu. For dinner, she did order a pasta primavera dish and the french onion soup was really, really good, as was the chocolate lava cake. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are a couple of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The beach was only a few minutes away by taxi or hotel shuttle. This was the most expensive hotel out of the 4 we stayed at, but the view was worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mycookieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

OK - the location and view won us over. Service was excellent - note that these are offseason comments. The front desk was invaluable in suggesting and booking our tours.

Included breakfasts were quite good. Drinks pool side a treat and excellent outdoor facilities.

Internet in the room!!

Tremendous location for walking to great restaurants and the butterfly garden.

We had double oceanview rooms which were not in the hotel proper - great privacy and views.

Everything was clean. Rooms need some tender care - cracked tiles in bathroom, old curtains, old jacuzzi on balcony, and just an outdated feel.

However, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for five days in mid august. I was a little worried planning a trip to a country we have never visited before and after reading tons of great review about this place I decided to book our stay at la mariposa. The staff at this place is amazing! Very helpful even before trip. I emailed with tons of questions about our private transportation from airport and tours I was interested in. They never made me feel like I was bothering them. They even gave me recommendations for restaurants in the area. When we arrived at this beautiful hotel we were greeted and shown around and given welcome drinks at the pool bar. The room we had was amazing! Beautiful view of the ocean. It's a bit pricey but so worth it! Such a romantic feel to it and had a comfy couch right in front of the glass doors so we watched the rain at night while we talked about our amazing day we just had. The breakfast buffet was so delicious and so much to choose from. No need to waste money at the restaurants in the area because the food is delicious. We booked all our activities through the hotel. They work with safe companies they recommend. They arrange everything for you so that you have no worries. We did have one issue with our rafting tour they booked some how got overlooked and we did not get picked up. After we told the guys at front desk we were still waiting for rafting company they were super helpful. They called and found out what happened and were going to arrange for a taxi to take us but we decided we would just cancel and do something else. The guys at front desk called and arranged for a private tour of national park and set up parasailing for after tour. I felt like they really cared about us having a great time and were safe. The whole staff from front desk to waiters everyone was welcoming and nice. The hotel restaurant has great food with beautiful view. There are restaurants within walking distant that are great too. This is a really long review but I just don't want to leave anything out about this amazing place. We can't wait to go back! Thanks again to everyone at la mariposa for making our first time in Costa Rica the best trip ever!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hailey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great hotel, comes with a price tag, but delivers good quality. The views from the pool and dining area are great, staff is super friendly and accommodating. We had a full ocean view room in the older part of the building. Still very good rooms, but older style (bit colonial style rooms). Balcony is spacious, great view and the jaccuzi was super. Beds are very comfy, not too hard.

The food in the restaurant is pricy but good, breakfast is also good. Buffet-style with enough to choose from. But there are some other nice restaurants at walking distance as well, which is a bliss as most other hotels in this area are too far from other restaurants to walk.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mirenhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is great. Last year in the Spring, after fying into San Jose from the cold Northeast US, my wife and 3 kids took a bus to La Miraposa at Manuel Antonio (there are also small planes available). The hotel sits on top of a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We had a top floor room which had a 270 degree view. The service was spectacular and food was fantastic (albeit a little expensive). The hotel is so nice it was hard to leave in the morning for our treks to the park, zip lining, beach, and fishing excursions. The only downside was that it was 10 minute hike to the beach but the beach was beautiful with all the amenities and activities. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance.

Say hello to the sales and Wedding coordinator Andrey Jimenez (I think he is still there). Also, look up Roy Orozco to get a tour of Manuel Antonio Park and other venues. He is a wonderful guide and also an avid fisherman and photographer.

Room Tip: Book early. Target top floor facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in Costa Rica. The view is spectacular, the food and the service is amazing and the National park is just a priceless experience... You must see this place! I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Request the ones with the ocean view, sometimes are a little higher in price BUT OH MYYYYYYYYYY IS S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sussy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Address: | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £125 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 45 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing