We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, but not in every room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mariposa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mariposa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great view, but not in every room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hotel was recommended as having the best views of a Pacific sunset in the "1,000 Places to See Before you Die" Book, but that's just the opinion of one person isn't it?

The view from the pool/bar area is gorgeous and worth seeing, but the rest of the hotel is just OK. I would come here for a drink at sunset to catch the view, but not necessarily to stay here unless you also had a room with a gorgeous view. We looked at 3 rooms and not one had a good view of the ocean or the sunset. The staff was kind enough to show us multiple rooms, but in the end we settled for one that had a obstructed view. They also did not have king beds available, so my husband & I were in a room with 2 doubles, not very romantic. The food is decent and the staff was OK, but I think for the price we could have done better. Especially since given the area of Costa Rica we were in, there is really no such thing as the "BEST" view. I mean, there are a gazillion places to see a gorgeous Pacific sunset, and I'm sure some of them are connected to other perhaps nicer hotels in the area. I would still recommend but a tepid recommendation.



certainly not the only place with a nice view.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    356
    117
    49
    54
See reviews for
381
597
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

this hotel is everything thats its billed as and more. We had the fortune to stay there for 3 night last week and it was a dream come true. We purchased an ocean view room and were upgraded for free to a premier ocean view room. #57 to be exact. GET THIS ROOM IF YOU CAN!!!! I walked around the property looking at views and I am not sure if its possible to have a better view of the ocean then this room. This property is FANTASTIC. The pool is awesome, the food is GREAT! The buffett breakfast in the mornings is very tasty and they have an omlette station. The staff is super friendly and will help you with anything from arranging transportation to restaurant recommendations. Below are a list of highlights from the entire Manuel Antonio area

Remember this hotel is in the RAINFOREST, so there will be bugs! Keep your shades drawn and patio doors closed at night and u will be fine. We had a cute lizard who was our bunk mate the entire 3 days. We were sad to see him go!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

I wanted to plan a special trip for our family as my youngest son now lives in San Jose Costa Rica as a missionary. My husband and I with our 3 children ages 25, 22, 20 contacted Manfred in the reservations office asking if they cojuld accommodate us in adjoining rooms.

When we arrived, all of us were flabbergasted at the rooms they gave us. 2 adjoining rooms and one large patio over looking Manuel Antonio. The views were breathtaking!

The staff went out of their way to help us with reservations to the zipline and other places. The food was outstanding. The morning breakfast buffet included with your reservations was pretty spectacular. Lots of variety to choose from plus an omelet station on the weekend. The views from the restaurant we're aweome. Not a bad seat in the house. They had 3 infinity pools and 2 of them had swim up bars.

Hotel La Mariposa was close tothe beaches, National Forest & local shops.I think it was the nicest hotel in the area. We saw monkeys, a sloth, frogs, racoons and lotd of birds in the National Forest. Visiting it is a must!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have been to this hotel twice and will go back. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and the bathroom is spacious. Fodor's is wrong-the rooms have flat screen cable TV and wireless internet.-bring your laptop. The staff is friendly, knowledgable and bi lingual. You can call the 800 phone # from the U.S. to make reservations and Yahaira is great to speak to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

The la mariposa is one the very best hotels in this spot. It sits on the side of a hgh hill over looking the pacific. We were placed in one of the older units but I asked to moved to one of the upper floors in the main building. No problem. Good choice, better unit, newer room with much better view. Only issue is there was no TV. I need a tv. To get to the room you have to walk up a spiral staircase. No problem if you are fit.
Breakfast was included and was very good. A little cat would come by our table each morning for small bite.
You can sit out on the patio and enjoy your meal while looking over the pacific. awesome. They have a great infinety pool. You can sit in the pool order a drink and look out over the horizon. You also can see the national park and the beach from this hotel.The howling monkeys are all around so you can hear them to. Got to this hotel from Arenal by Tucan Limo, great service wonderful driver the only way to go. Took a taxi to the national park and saw so many animals, Monkeys, crabs, deer, frogs, sloughs, bats, birds, racoons and animals i have know idea of. Get a guide it is worth it, they are right there as you enter. You would walk by most things without even knowing it, but the guide will see it. An ATM and a small grocery store is near the hotel, easy walk to get some snacks. The best restaurant ever is the Kapi Kapi. Had sugar cane shimp which was awesome. We did the ATV tour which was thrilling. The ride was into the high hills stopping at waterfall. You then cross a hanging bridge over the gouge below before you return to the ATV to ride back down. They even stop for a full meal at a nice spot in the center of town. A lot of fun. Amazing to see people living so far out in the jungle. Mangrove tours was in a thunder storm, scary to be on a boat in a storm without any life vests, no coast guard there, so we didn't see any birds or anything else. so pick a good day to do that. Everyone is very friendly in Costa Rica and felt perfectly safe all the time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoomerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

If you are good with going to the beach once a day, stay 5 mns. up the mountain from the park / beaches.The elevation makes a great view over the ocean. From La Mariposa, it is a 5-minute walk to other bars, restaurants, and resort restaurants that over-look the ocean. Some other restaurants are very affordable.
The area is actually in between Manuel Antonio National Park and the city of Quepos. However, it is much closer to Manuel Antonio Park; the park is where the gorgeous beaches are. From the resort, it is only a 50-cent short bus ride to the park entrance, an $8 cab ride, a free shuttle offered by La Mariposa, or you can take a 20-minute walk to the park.
My husband and I stayed at La Mariposa in July 2008. When we went back to Manuel Antonio in July 2010, we could not afford La Mariposa, but we spent time at their infinity pool and pool bar. When swimming in one of the two infinity pools, it appears that the water is flowing into the Pacific ocean.
When staying at La Mariposa, we got one of their stand-alone cottages. They are wonderful for nature-lovers. A sloth hung out in a tree right off our balcony all night. A gorgeous jungle and ocean back-drop surrounds the property!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is phenomenal. levels above the last six hotels I have stayed at. really an oasis in a wonderful location. this morning I woke up to the sunrise, ate a great breakfast, went surfing all day on the beach which is a two minute drive away. came back and enjoyed one of the four pools. i choose the swim up bar pool today, with an infinity edge and views of the ocean. truly amazing

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank critical155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mariposa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mariposa Hotel

Property: La Mariposa Hotel
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mariposa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 63 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica's abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our "Sunset Bar and Lounge," while dining in our world-class international restaurant "Le Papillon" With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mariposa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Costa Rica
La Mariposa Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing