We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vela Bar(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
US$497
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
115
130
39
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
130
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkgreat locationpublic beachnice hoteltwo blocksrooms are averagecosta ricarestaurants and shopsan in room safeshort walknature traillarger poolhowler monkeysair conditioninghappy hourthe main hotelthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August, good location close to town beach and entrance to national park.
Food at restaurant excellent and we were always treated to cool drink of water when arriving at the pool.
Standards rooms large and clean had everthing we needed. Reception staff book great boat tour for us.

Beaches in the park are fantastic and well looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thanks for your comment we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here as part of a Costa Rica tour (booked through Imagine Latin America who I would reccomend). The hotel is in an amazing position for access to the national park but is somewhat dated. We felt we were staying in a cross between a cabin from 'Dirty Dancing' and a village shop! The rooms were clean and large however and staff were really helpful and polite. The cabins that are across the road and are part of the hotel looked to be nicer than the main hotel but were not available for the dates we required. Public areas were clean - pool cleaned daily etc and you felt like you were in the national park itself as the hotel is surrounded by forest and you can hear the monkeys most nights. Manuel Antonio centre is quite a backpackers/surfers resort and is a bit shabby - this seemed especially noticeable after coming from a more upmarket hotel in Arenal. The area is def worth a visit though and I saw loads of sloths (my main aim for going there). The restaurant does expensive meals but they also do pizzas which are really good value as they easily feed 2 people. In summary, an average hotel in a resort that is a bit scruffy but worth going to for the park and it's wildlife.

Room Tip: The cabins appear to be nicer than the hotel's main building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thanks very much for your comment, we are not familiar with the concept of "Dirty Dancing" hotel. Since the dirt dosen't dance around in our hotel. We are a 3 stars hotel, not a resort, according to the Costa Rican Tourism Institute so our services need to be understand and measure in this sense. However we feel very happy that you enjoyed our surroundings, cleanliness and service, and that you found our location handy for your trip. Our goal is to provide a decent place to stay were you can enjoy as much as it is possible the proximity to the National Park and beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Espadilla for three nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We were unfamiliar with the area when we booked the hotel and booked based on a travel agents recommendation. The Manuel Antonio area was a lot more touristy than we had expected (and we went in the off or rainy season) but the hotel was on a little side street which was very quiet compared to the touristy beach area and nearby park. The location was great for getting to the beach and park and was also a quick cab or bus ride to other Manuel Antonio and Quepos restaurants and sites. The hotel had a nice, smaller pool and the lunch and breakfasts we had at the hotel were very good. The service was great, we ordered way too many pizzas at the restaurant our first day and they held them in one of their refrigerators for us for the next day since we didn't have one, very nice! The receptionists were great too and helped us book spa treatments. The rooms were basic, nothing fancy but comfortable. The bathrooms were small with wooden slatted doors and got very humid, so the room got fairly muggy with showers. Overall I would recommend it for the locaton and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thanks so much for your comment, having the opportunity to walk to the beach and park is very handy specially if you have kids, we are very happy that you found our services acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights . Accommodation is basic , nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Walking distance to public beach and Manuel Antonio national park. Got room close to pool , nice view and good WIFI .
Good and attentive service. We have to leave early for the airport before restaurant opens for breakfast, they made us box lunch ( sandwich , fruits , cookies and bottle water ) to take with us .
Thank you !!!
Overall good location.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear sir we feel so glad you had a good time while here, and the the box breakfast was a good solution for you. We enjoyed to have you as a guest, and thanks so much for you review.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night prior to our tour through the national park.

The hotel room was clean and provided space for three people (double + single bed).

The bathroom provided hot and cold water, but should be renovated. As the humidity is very high we had to run the air conditioning for the whole night, which was very loud.

For dinner we had a menu for 20$ in the hotel restaurant with very good steaks. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also OK.

On the morning our lovely guide (http://es-la.facebook.com/gamaliel.guadamuzpina) picked up at 8 and as the park the park is very close to the hotel, we could start the tour immediatly.

It was no problem to leave the car and our luggage at the hotel site during our tour. There even were showers we could use, although we already had checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twamueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thanks a lot for your review, I'm glad the services we have for our guest after the check out were handy for you. Due to our conservation programs only biodegradable soaps can be used here, since we are so close to the park, we send to you our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews