We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location for Visiting Manual Antoino National park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Visiting Manual Antoino National park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here 5 nights in April, The room was basic clean with a comfortable bed, fridge & coffee making facility, outside our room was conservatory type furniture (Sofa & 2 chairs) lovely to sit out on in the evening enjoying a nice chilled beer. The hotel & pool was set in lovely tranquil ground's with the sound of trickling water from the fountains, the pool was like a tepid bath, the sun loungers were comfortable with an umbrella's over to give you some shade, Breakfast was a buffet style at Hotel Player Espadilla just under a minute’s walk where we had a wide selection to choose from. The hotel was conveniently situated to Manual Antoino National park just within a couple minutes’ walk, there were also umbrellas to borrow for when it rained and it rained hard. The maids did an excellent job of cleaning the room. Negative side was there was a charge for beach towels at $1.50.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Tracey and thanks for your the great description in your review. The charge for the towel is to safe resources for our environmental program.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    110
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
106
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

You can almost see the beach if you stretch your imagination. Although there are several hotels on the hill with views of the beach, most of them require a long walk or ride down.

This hotel is steps away from the Parque Nacional Manuel and the beach. It really comes in handy if you are visiting the park since you can sign a register and return later in the afternoon.

Nice if you want to do the tour in the morning and hit the beach there in the afternoon. The beach in the Parque is very nice and clean. Just watch out for the raccoons and monkeys. If you are looking for something less expensive, there are plenty of places up the hill.

The hotel has nice clean rooms, seats outside the room and an adequate breakfast which is included. The pool is small, but refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Jeck,

Thanks, it is very kind to give us your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you had a nice vacation in Hotel Playa Espadilla .

Best regards,

Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Playa Espadilla in October 2013 and would highly recommend it to anyone. The hotel is within walking distance of both Manuel Antonio National Park (took us about 5 minutes) and the public beach, Playa Espadilla, which was a huge selling point for us since we did not rent a car. The room was nice, as was the pool area (although we didn't utilize it since we spent all of our time at the beach!), and the staff was friendly. Be sure when coming into the area to specify to your taxi/shuttle driver if you are staying at the hotel or the cabins - they are on separate properties. Our absolute favorite thing about our stay was the food - it was the best we had on our 8-day trip to Costa Rica. We chose to eat every meal on the property since it was so good, and we loved that dessert was included (although our waistlines did not) :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello Metzsmith!

Thank you very much for your comments on our place specially the Puerto Escondido

Restaurant.

Makes us look forward and improve even more.

We hope you can visit us another time, Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel Playa Espadilla was a lovely small hotel in Manuel Antonio. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very hispitable. Its about 400m from the national park but away from the main drag of the town so it's peaceful. the pool was a welcomed additin as the beach was so busy and touristy, the wondeful barstaff keep you topped up with ice cold water on hot days

The only thing i'd recommended is that off all the places we visited Manuel Antonio as an area was or least favourite as it was so touristy. Be prepared, this place was an oasis of clam in a manic, torusity spot

Room Tip: roos at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Anna, we glad you had a pleasant stay. Some summer days are very busy in Manuel Antonio. Luckily the hotel is located near the beach but away from the bustle.
Many Thanks for taking the time to write about Hotel Playa Espadila.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First, the location is fantastic - you can walk back and forth from beautiful Manuel Antonio Beach in about five minutes. We requested an upstairs room with vaulted ceiling based on other reviewers' recommendation -- it did seem more spacious. Electricity was off when we arrived and we had a few short "outages." Our room was near the parking lot which I wouldn't recommend because a motorcycle group was there with us and very loud one night. My biggest peeve was that they only issue one key per room - we were staying with kids so this became a nuisance. Staff was nice but not engaging - so could be a plus for some. Room was clean. Iguanas by pool and nice pool to relax at each afternoon. Breakfast begins at 7 which was late for some of the days we had early morning activities scheduled for and we went to Cafe Milagro up the street instead . . I may try something else if we go back but really the location is the biggest plus for this hotel.

Room Tip: upstairs with vaulted ceiling away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowSnowGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Snowsnowgirl,

Sorry your trip coincided with the group of riders who stayed on the property for one day.

We are always in greater willingness to help. As is the case of a change of room or talk to motorcyclists not to turn on their bikes after hours.

Regarding the key, it is correct that it is only one; but the frontdesk remains at your service to leave the key and remove it from 6 am to 10 pm. It is an issue that we will review.

However I am delighted that you enjoyed watching the iguanas and relax by the pool in the evenings. I appreciate these comments, always for the better.

Pura vida!
Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Perfect Location. Far enough away from the main drag so there is no noise/disturbance. yet only 5 min stroll to the beach or the entrance to the park.

Our room was large, spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and very efficient air conditioning.

The bar did some great meal and there were always plenty of staff about. We ate one evening in the restaurant and the meal was very good, generous portions and excellent service.

We had some medical issues and the manager was very quick to help us out, calling the hospital for updates and checking we were ok when I got back. which was very reassuring.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
HolaKarla,

Thank you for your excellent score and pleasant comments.
We are glad that all was well with your stay.

Pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great place to stay in Manuel Antonio. You can walk to the National Park and enjoy the day on the private beaches there. The hotel is also within walking distance of many restaurants and the public beach. If you'd like to go into town the public bus system can take you or the hotel will call a taxi for you and the ride is $6.

Very clean, pool, and a breakfast buffet with great selections. The dining room/breakfast buffet and bar staff were very good. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakker5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Property: Hotel Playa Espadilla
Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing