We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay and well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised. Our hotel was located 5 minutes walk from the gates of Manuel Antonio NP, was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The restaurant was especially nice in it's outdoor setting and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are a bit smaller but ample enough, the bathroom is tight with older fixtures, all very serviceable. The AC though was a bit oddly located and blew over the top of our bed. I guess we could have fixed the direction more and just didn't. the front desk staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms were well situated and decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Manuel Antonio is worth the visit because of the National Park, and this hotel is located just a very short walk away from the park entrance.
Staff was very helpful and nice. The pool is somewhat small if you like to swim a little bit, but is fine in the end.
Restaurant is great... the food was very good and within reasonable price ranges.
Rooms are not that great, they're basic but that doesn't mean they're bad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Strengths:
- located at 3 minutes walk from the national park, beach and restaurants/shops.
- Huge king size bed
- Air conditioning
- Fridge in the room for your own use
- Breakfast buffet when busy but a la carte otherwise.
- Happy hour on cocktails/beers (4 to 7) at the bar pool
- Staff very friendly and professional
- The swimming pool is small but very refreshing after a day trekking.
- We have seen several bird species, frogs and monkeys in the hotel's garden.
- the National Park ($10/16) is worth it, we have seen sloths, monkeys, toucans, crabs, racoons, ...

Could be improved:
- difficult to rest when the day comes up due to the light coming in through the windows, the fridge is noisy but can be switched off.
- poor wifi in the room (but we were told there isn't, so better than nothing), good wifi in reception and pool areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There was no hot water so couldn't shower . After complaining to the staff we got to go to the sister hotel to shower down the street ! We complained 3 times about no hot water and was given excuses and no solution. We had to ask if there was anywhere we could shower and finally was told we could go next door.

I was surprised out travel agent booked this place.
There is a lot of choice of places to stay so don't stay here.
The rooms are poorly furnished. The door doesn't have a latch so you have to luck it with a key otherwise it stays open.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with a group of 70ish people from my school. We really enjoyed it.

The rooms were basic but sufficient - we had everything we needed and slept well. We didn't stay in rooms long anyway.

My students loved the pools. I did not enjoy how warm they were, honestly. When it's hot out, I want a pool that's refreshing, not one that feels like a hot tub.

The food was good - breakfast was GREAT and dinner was okay.

The best part of the hotel was the location, in my opinion. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go and also got to see monkeys right on the property!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for people on a budget who want a hotel that is sufficient, safe, practical and convenient.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent location very close to the park. Good overall comfort with A/C. Good buffet breakfast. We chose this hotel because of its location that can be beaten, the car stays at the car park and everything can be done on foot, from visiting the park to go to the beach or restaurants at night. The only downside is that everything in this area is overpriced including the hotel that has no real charm and can be noisy at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the swimming pool away from the 'main street' where there was a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikoubun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel Playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio – 4.5 out of 5
This beach is a fun place to be – the surf may be dangerous (beware rips) but the sunsets are to die for and there’s a really cool atmosphere at the edge of the national park. Hotel Playa Espadilla is set just far enough back from the lively beach front (we watched squirrel monkeys on our way back in the dusk) with its own forest surrounds which bring the wildlife to your door. Go out quietly at dawn – there was a white-tailed deer on the lawn. Maybe because this is a touristy area the staff lacked a bit of the beautiful Costa Rican charm but they were courteous and the benchmark had been set very high elsewhere. The pool is small for swimming but quite big enough to float under amazing tropical stars or drink exotic cocktails from the cool of the water at the bar.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Dee!

Thanks a lot for taking time and writing such nice description for Manuel Antonio Beach and Hotel Espadilla´s surroundings.

We appreciate your comments and will be always in the position to give a better service.

Pura vida from CR Manuel Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Espadilla
Cabinas Espadilla
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £123 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing