We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Skip 2 for 1 drinks and come to tres banderas 20% off from 2pm to 6 pm. Rooms are clean and comfortable . Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. You cannot beat this place for the price as long as you do not expect the Beverly Hills Hilton. Breakfast is included and the coffee is the best drip coffee I have had on the trip. The pool is well maintained and clean. The food at the restaurant is fabulous. Smells like authentic Italian cooking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    95
    52
    46
    29
See reviews for
59
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First off, I must say my sister and two college friends of mine stayed at this hotel the second week of March 2014. It was awesome! Staff was friendly and helpful, food was delicious, area was beautiful, rooms were clean, pool was refreshing. I don't have any bad thing to say about the place. For all of those people out there writing some of these negative reviews (and I believe some of these reviews were from people who went the same week) it is ridiculous to me. Does the place need a facelift? Yes, but nothing major at that. You get what you paid for and then some. Rates are reasonable. If you expected 5 star ammentities and service you should have stayed at an all inclusive and paid the extra 500/600 bux, but I can almost guarantee you'd be complaining about the same things if not more. Some people can't be pleased no matter what. As far as the "hostility" of the staff, most of them did not speak English which is why you felt they were hostile...They all had great personalities. They made the effort just like you should have done, I mean, you are in their country. And the food portion sizes, they def. were not small. I was extremely full after all the meals I had there. Breakfast was cooked to order for you every day, it wasn't buffet style which was extremely nice. Everything was super fresh. I really can't wait to go back. I def. recommend this place and really hope you don't listen to the negative reviews. Vacations are what you make of them. Some people just find it easier to be miserable. The only reason for the lesser "sleep" quality is because there is a bird in Costa Rica that literally acts/sounds like an alarm clock hahaha. Very funny.

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty relatively the same. If you stay on the second floor you have to walk up a fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Tres Banderas is not among the top listed hotels but it is a good option. I've stayed only 1 night in my visit to Manuel Antonio. 3 adults and 1 infant, we've got a nice room big enough for 1 night considering the amount of people on my group. Breakfast was very good, pool was quite nice, especially with the high temperatures. It is half way between Quepos and the park so if you are driving it is quite easy to get to both places. I did not have dinner at the hotel so I cannot say much about the food besides breakfast. Thank you Andy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family took two rooms there for one night in mid-March and were quite pleased. We loved the location (between Quepos and the national park), the jungle-y setting (monkey and toucan sightings from the swimming pool), the pool itself, the restaurant, and the helpfulness of the owner and his staff. Some sour reviews we'd read almost caused us to change our minds about this stay, but in the end we were all glad we didn't. Andy, the owner, seems gruff at first, but if you take the trouble to be friendly yourself you get the same in return. We wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Definitely want a room overlooking the pool and surrounding trees. Bring binoculars, because there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

PROS - nice pool, actively renovating, AC, lizard watching.

CONS - Room was run down, WIFI was very slow everywhere, lumpy pillows, service was below Tico quality - clearly put most of their effort into their restaurant which was plated well but hugely overpriced as well as having small portions. Jungle beach hotel was much better in general.

Room Tip: ask about renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant. The room was very large. There were three adults.

It is definitely a budget hotel, but your not travelling to Costa Rica to hang out at the hotel. The pool was clean and refreshing. The shower was hot. The a/c worked, so no complaints out of me.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank guaranaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The staff was so unhappy my husband and I were concerned something bad may be happening at this hotel behind the scenes. None of them smiled and some were openly hostile. Our sheets were cheap and did not stay on the mattress. My first morning I was very tired and walked up to where they were cooking breakfast. I had no idea what the process was. The cook just stood and stared at me and made a rude expression. I didn't know what food was offered, if I was supposed to order etc. Very concerning vibe at this place., every else we were on Costa Rica staff were friendly and helpful. What is going on at this hotel???

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMaMa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#35 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing