We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not clean, refused to refund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room not clean, refused to refund”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First, they wanted full payment at check-in, which was the only place to do this. After checking in, we killed a couple spiders on the walls. No big deal; we are in rural area. When we turned the sheets down, there was a spider in the sheets. Upon closer inspection, we found several hairs on the sheets. We refused to stay the night, but we were only given a 25% refund since the room had been used. We were also told it was impossible for the sheets to not be clean. Cool, I'll share my bad experience on the web.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowacki13, Gerente at Hotel Las Tres Banderas, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello,

Wow I was surprised by the comment, we never deny service and we would have been very helpful if you wanted to change the sheets of the bed. Sorry for the spider we do our best considering our surroundings. I'm sad you wouldn't stay at least one night to enjoy the hotel experience. Hope you had a good trip. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    95
    51
    44
    28
See reviews for
57
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great time at our stay in Manuel Antonio and at this hotel. Andy and Andre were excellent and very friendly, even bringing a TV into the bar for us so we could watch the World Cup opening without leaving the hotel during a storm. The hotel is in a great location, about midway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. The restaurant was also fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location and on the Quepos/Manuel Antonio bus stop. The owner Andy and his son Andre along with the restaurant staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable people. The rooms were great, clean and reasonably priced. I had a great time here and would definitely stay again. The attached restaurant serves "incredible" food!!
Also ask for Andre's tasty famous "coconut margarita"...Ha!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room directly above the bar/restaurant area, not because of the late night on-going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank good-your-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First off, I'm a 3 year Hilton Gold member; so I have stayed in many a hotel (internationally).

My Costa Rica trip took me on several legs: San Jose, Arenal area, Tamarindo, and finally Manuel Antonio.

Hotel Tres Banderas, to me, exemplified what Costa Rican culture is, if you were to distill it and pour it into a hotel mold.

The owner, Andy, was very gracious and inviting. I read some reviews that showed him in a negative light.. but if you like people who are genuine, friendly, and funny as hell, then you'll like Andy.

His son was very entertaining as well, and makes damn good drinks.

Put these two together and you're guaranteed to have a good time down in the restaurant/bar.

Speaking of, the restaurant- Gondola (which is operated by a private party), was the best dining I had in my 9 days in Costa Rica! The food was absolutely delish; it could rival any 5 star restaurant that I have been to. The lady who owns it, runs it with her husband, who's the main chef and I cannot say enough about their cooking. Like I said, 5 stars all the way.

Back to the hotel; it's not posh or stunning, but whatever it lacks in that department, it more than makes up for it in charm, warmth, and the feeling of a true Costa Rican vibe.
If you want some aseptic, fake, cookie cutter lodging that you can find in any major world city; then maybe you will be a bit disappointed. But in my opinion, I found a gem of a place that truly felt "Tican" to me. I liked the architecture, the rooms, the look, fit, and finish of the place.
Andy and his son were a blast to be with down in the restaurant/bar every morning or evening; and the food at Gondola was just too good to put into words.

When I return to Costa Rica, especially Manuel Antonio, I will be making Hotel Tres Banderas my place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albe4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived from La fotruna after more than 5 hours on the way and a recieved a very poor welcome by the owner's son.
The rooms were located very high up the stairs and no help was offered to us. Plus the tooms were dirty and there were stains on the sheets. The breakfast was lousy and FULL OF STAINS. The owner arrived at the last day and was much nicer than his son.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annuahka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Little things, the employees are so nice...wayyyy so much nicer than the owner... Who was probably trained as a policeman at some point in life .....he was constantly giving rounds....and orders.....felt like if I had taken my mom with us.....he told a family that was trying to keep their baby busy while eating by watching a video on their cell to turn the volume down.....just like that....in front of everybody....as if he was their parent or something...he is do not kids friendly.....when checking in.....told me up front to keep my kids quiet while they were in the pool....come'on!.....You are not allowed to cook inside the room....so whats the point of having a mini kitchen?

Room Tip: Too many stairs to the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed as usual.Been staying for 9 years now.Andy is Andy and we always have a laugh .The restaurant is doing well. Always good to see Silvinia.foood is good.Would recommend if on a budget.You can't beat it.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tres Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tres Banderas

Property: Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Tres Banderas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Tres Banderas is conveniently located between the port of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, the most famous wild life reserve and beach destination area in Costa Rica. It offers a secluded setting amongst tropical trees and plants, far away from traffic noise and city hustle/bustle. While the beach is nearby, your only visitors will be birds, monkeys and sloths.Each unit at Hotel Las Tres Banderas is decorated with imported tile and beautiful Costa Rican wood whitch serves to accent the elegance of every room. No expense has been spared on the final touches of the hotel's decor. Costa Rica and our hotel offer an especially relaxing atmosphere. We are certain that you won't be disappointed with either one of them. While you are here, lets get to know each other better and even become friends. Who knows, we may even end up explaining why we call our dream come true Hotel Las Tres Banderas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Tres Banderas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tres Banderas Hotel
Hotel Las Tres Banderas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing