We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed in Casa Panorama North (upper two levels). Wow! The view is spectacular. The house is beautiful and clean and cleaned every day with amazing personal touches like "animal-folded" towels and fresh flowers. Diego and Chris made sure we always had adventures to go on and great restaurants to eat in. They never steered us wrong in their suggestions! Everyone who works on the grounds is pleasant, helpful, and caring. They go over the top to make sure you enjoy your stay! The private beach is pure paradise. With 80 degree water, perfect waves, kayaks, boogie boards, towels, drinks, and phenomenal food, you could spend your entire time there! There are also two amazing hikes to the beach through beautiful jungle with amazing plants and animals. The monkeys entertain you every day, leaping through the trees and climbing up to investigate you on the balcony. I would go back in a heartbeat! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KassieKehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Everyone loves our Casa Panorama Villas! Thanks for the review. Yes, the views are amazing, the villa wonderful, the beach ots of fun and the beach bar/grill serves great food....but it all comes down to the service provided by Diego and Chris...your personal concierges at Casa Panorama....they really make your trip special! We loved having you as our guests and hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,120
707
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The location of these bungalows is perfect if you want to see Manuel Antonio National Park and the surrounding amazing beaches. Tulemar has its own private beach as well with excellent waves and a bar, food, boogie boards etc. The bungalows themselves are beautiful and clean with the most amazing views of the ocean and a balcony with a hamock and chairs...the jungle surrounding you and visits from Monkeys and all kinds of birds etc. I can't think of a better place to stay and experience Costa Rica. The service was absolutely fantastic with them anticipating our every need and providing help and assistance on every front.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kturncliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Tulemar and that you loved your accomodations.....both our Villa Mot Mot and Buena Vista 1 Bedroom villas have the large balcony and hammock that you described.....great for watching the wildlife or a nap! Hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

If you are trying to decide to stay here and are reading this, I have to tell you this place is amazing. My husband and I, and a friend stayed at the Villa Mot Mot and had the most wonderful time. Everyone that helped us was awesome, Dave, Chris, Vanessa, and Diego. They all go out of their way to make sure everything is just right. The views are just perfect, the pools are so so nice, and the private beach is amazing. We loved it so much, we are thinking of buying property there in the future. I have never written a review before, but I had to this time because the place is special:) We WILL be back. Thank you all to Dave and the crew for your kindness. Costa Rica is really the best. Pura Vida:) A little tip for the travelers...try to get a villa with a kitchen like Villa Mot Mot. The area restaurants are not cheap. The plates are american priced around $8-$12 each, and drinks are around $5 each. For 2 people, plan to spend around $30 for lunch and even more for dinner. We bought groceries (thanks to Chris:) ), and cooked breakfast in the morning, and barbequed on the beautiful porch in the evening. It saved us a little money and it was nice to watch the sunset on our porch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thanks for the fantastic remarks about Tulemar and Villa Mot Mot! Since so many of our villas have full kitchens, we are happy to take you to the grocery store for supplies! Some of our guests really enjoy cooking a special dinner or two, so we can even take you to the fish market, meat market, bakery and fruit/vegetable market for the best and freshest products! We also handle the real estate sales in Tulemar and we'd love to have you as neighbors! Every property in Tulemar is privately owned and we always have a couple of villas on the market!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The house was beautiful, comfortable and had incredible views. We loved the outdoor patio for relaxing with coffee in the morning and eating dinner outside in the evenings. We even watched the monkeys cross our porch one morning. The private beach was so nice that we only went to Manuel Antonio beach one day. The service on beach was wonderful and it was so convient to have lawn chairs, kayaks, and boggie boards available for our whole family. The monkeys in trees on beach is especially fun for the kids. The staff was available and so attentive our entire stay by helping us book events, know places to eat etc...

It is the best resort in the area!!!!

Room Tip: Our house was #405 and it had awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thanks for the wonderful remarks....your villa.....Casa del Mar.....does have great views.....and lots of wildlife visits too......we're glad you enjoyed our beach as well....it is very convenient.....especially with the family.....you don't have to take anything except a hat and sunblock! Looking forward to seeing you and your family again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The room accomodations were so-so. We stayed in a Junior Suite and things were pretty outdated. Also, the owners are building a beautiful, 3-story mansion for themselves on the property that blocked our view of the water. (kind of tacky)

But, we did see tons of great wildlife. We saw monkeys, a sloth, birds, etc. And the private beach is really nice.

All-in-all, happy with our stay. Not sure we will be back. Perhaps one of the 2 or 3 bedroom villas are better?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleewallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Hi...we're so sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodations....our guests usually love the JR Suites....we'll certainly check your room for problems.....the new villa built near the Jr Suites is a privately owned villa and not connected to the Buena Vista properties......it does limit the ocean views on some of the JR Suites and therefore we have labeled all of the JR Suites as "partial" ocean views.....we still have lots of wildlife in Tulemar and the beach is amazing! We hope to see you again.....contact me personally and I will help choose the best accommodations for you!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The Tulemar experience as hosted by Maurico, Dave, and the Tulemar team was a trip unlike any other. I am well traveled and have experienced exceptional service in beautiful locales many times. But never have felt compelled to write a review. The service, the views, the private beach, the exquisite accommodations, the private chef (definitely take advantage of this), the mix of luxury, tranquility, privacy, and unsurpassed service of the team at Tulemar was MAGICAL. When paired with the beautifully lush surroundings and adventure experiences available on demand in Costa Rica, staying in Tulemar becomes a must do. I dare say try it. You will be hooked there simply is no other place that can compare. There were so many memorable experiences that it is impossible to pick one. Suffice to say these guys have the details down. From the moment of arrival to the sad day of departure this trip it was an experience that cannot be duplicated and must be shared and treasured... I miss it daily.

Room Tip: Ask for Maurico
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post....your comments really do help when travelers are searching for the right place to stay......whether it's a one bedroom Tulemar Bungalow for the two of you or one of our private villas....like Casa de Frutas where you stayed.....the descriptions help.....we're glad you had a great stay in Tulemar and enjoyed the services of Mauricio.....your personal concierge.....(each of our properties come with a personal concierge)......we hope to see you back again.....Philadelphia can get COLD in the winter.....come on back!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Words cant even describe how luxurious, peaceful, and relaxing my stay at Tulemar was. The staff was amazing, location was ideal, and the grounds were breathtaking! Already planning my trip back for next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tulemar in Casa de Frutas....love the photo of you on the fishing boat that Mauricio...your concierge....set up for you and your friends......he knows the best boats and crews.....looking forward to your next stay with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,518 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing