We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Panorama was awesome!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Casa Panorama was awesome!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Because there were 3 of us, we opted for Casa Panorama, a two story, two-bedroom/two-bath villa at Tulemar Gardens. It was perfect! Our concierge, Kimberly Barron, was totally outgoing and helpful.. one of the kind of people you want to be friends with. The view was spectacular, the beach lovely, and the kayaks and boogyboards and beachchairs are free. You don't have to worry about picking your place, paying for everything and having vendors. It is totally private, with a bar which also makes lunch. The best pina coladas ever.. made with fresh pineapple. It has several pools to choose from, with everything overlooking the ocean. Kimberly arranged a great ziplining tour with Canopy tours. The guides were very professional, so we could relax and have fun. Kimberly also arranged horseback riding on the Savegre Horseback Tours (the ridingadventure.com). And don't let wonderful Diego, our cowboy leader, fool you. He has an economics degree from the U.S. I strongly recommend this company. It was the widest beach I've ever seen (and I grew up on the Gulf Coast). We only saw two fishermen the entire time. Compare this to the others which go on crowded public beaches and pick their way around. You can run with the wind in the waves for as far as you can see on this tour. We rented a car, and once we got out of San Jose', the drive wasn't bad at all on the new highway, maybe 2 1/2 hours. There are plenty of restaurants on the road leading to Manuel Antonio, and some very nice ones. You don't even need to go into town. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi Betty and thanks for posting a great review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar.......one of the great things about staying with us is that you get a personal concierge to take care of you during your stay.....while many places may offer a concierge service.....rarely do they match what our concierges can provide......time with their guests.....and knowledge of the best tours/activities in the area.....like the horseback tour.....very unique and different from what most hotels offer....thanks for taking the time to post and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Panorama! Please come back and see us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,134
718
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

7 of us recently spent 7 nights at Casa De Frutas in Tulemar and I would definitely recommend it to any group of friends or family. We walked into a beautiful 2 story home in a jungle like setting over looking the pacific ocean. The home was beautifully decorated with live tropical flowers, had all the amenities you would have at home including a large fully equiped kitchen.

The Sloth visit was an awesome experience not to mention the group of small monkeys that made their late afternoon visits. There's a beautiful private beach down the steep road which I recommend anyone to walk at least once to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. There is also transportation to and from the beach within minutes. The beach also has a bar and outdoor restaurant. They have an amazing menu and I must say their fish sandwich was the BEST I've ever had. The beach also provides beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and kayaks. The whole week we were there the beach was quiet and a real enjoyable place to grab an ice cold drink and soak up some sun. We got to experience a thunderstorm on avg once a day late afternoon.

Mauricio and Dave were outstanding hosts, available at anytime to help with recommendations, planning our excursions, dinner plans, and arranging our transportation. I have to say the staff were truly amazing friendly people. It was always nice to come back to the house after a long day of fun to see my laundry clean and folded on the bed. I can't wait to come back and see Mauricio, Dave and the staff smiling faces.


I would definitely come back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable vacation in the jungle with superior service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi Shane....thanks for your great review of Casa de Frutas.....one of our private villas located in Tulemar.....Casa de Frutas is the #1 ranked vacation rental villa on Tripadvisor when sorted by customer reviews.....it really is an amazing villa.....the views....the design....the decor....the ambiance......Mauricio and the staff do pamper you.....and make your stay very special! We hope to see you and your friends back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the bungalows for three nights. First of all, our concierge, Chris, went above and beyond. When we arrived at the airport, he picked us up, took us around town to show us the local sites, went shopping for food with us, took us on a 40 minute tour of the property, and then helped us take the luggage into our room. It was obvious that he showed pride in his work and the property.

The pros
- good, clean room
- excellent internet
- the private beach was excellent. We boogey boarded all day on our last day in Costa Rica.
- concierge service was excellent
- walking distance to many restaurants

The cons
- the pools were so-so. This was more due to people going on excursions and not being there during the daytime. At night, people are so exhausted that they either go out for dinner or just head off to sleep. As a result, there wasn't much in the way of socializing.
- everything requires walking up a steep hill. There is a free shuttle from the beach, but if you leave from your room to go out for dinner, it is a very steep walk to get to the resort's entrance.

Room Tip: There is no spa or breakfast served. However, each room comes with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txagcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi and thanks for your great review on our Tulemar Bungalows.....we're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that Chris, your private concierge, took such great care of you.....yes....he does take pride in Tulemar and loves his guests! I hope he mentioned to you that our shuttle not just takes you around Tulemar.....but out thru the front gates to one of over 10 restaurants within two blocks either way or the grocery store.....no need to walk unless you want the excercise or are in hopes of seeing a little more wildlife......I think you are the first to comment that there were not enough people at our pools to be social......that is different than what most of our guests are looking for......privacy and a quiet time.....we have 4 pools spread around the property.....one for adults only.....they really do seem deserted at times.....I think if you're looking for social.....there are many little bars close by that have happy hours! By the way, I saw you and your wife having lunch at one of our favorite little "sodas" in downtown Quepos on your last day in town.....a place where we rarely see tourists......I knew Chris must have given away one of our little secrets.....and good for you for being adventourus and brave enough to head off the beaten path! Hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Recently spent 3 nights staying at the Tulemar Bungalows and I would definitely recommend to all. The property itself is built into the natural surroundings and maintains the feel of being in the rain forest while providing the amenities of an upscale resort. During our 3 days there we saw multiple monkey species, snakes, 2 and 3 toed sloths as well as a variety of other birds and insects. In addition the property provides access to a private beach that provides great amenities as well as great swimming. In terms of the properties you may be close to a neighbor but for the most part you do have privacy. If possible I would recommend getting a property with a deck. Finally you are close to dining and entertainment options (walkable depending on how far you are from the entrance).

Room Tip: Get a deck if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Hi ChicagoIllini.....thanks for the great review of our Tulemar Bungalows and Tulemar....we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! The beach, the wildlife, our beach....yes....it's worth mentioning again.....and so many restaurant choices just outside of our front gates.....our bungalows are very unique....and while they don't have decks......all of our other selections do! Hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in the Tulemar Bungalows at the end of March 2012. They were delightful in every way. My husband and I and two children shared one bungalow and there was plenty of room. It was great to have a mini kitchen for fixing quick meals for the kids and snacks. The views were breathtaking and we felt like we were in paradise. My parents stayed in a bungalow next door and it was fun to have our separate spaces but to be so close as well. The private beach was amazing. It was never crowded (even though we were there in a peak spring break week) and we were well tended to with lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards and food and drinks. The waves were fun, but there wasn't a strong undertoe which was good for my kids. It was a long hot walk from our bungalow to the beach, but we only had to do that if we really wanted to. Otherwise the shuttle was very dependable and convenient. I recommend the walk though. Everyone I spoke to who did it saw a variety of wildlife including a gang of white faced monkeys! Restaurants were near by and if the resort shuttle wasn't too busy they took us so that we could avoid the cost of a taxi. I would love to go back some day and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Hi TravelbugMadison......thanks for your great review on our Bungalows......it is fun when you and friends/family rent multiple bungalows.....like your own little neighborhood.......(lots of other choices in Tulemar as well)......the views from the Bungalows are amazing....since they were the first properties built in Tulemar....they sit high on the best part of the hill overlooking the ocean.....I agree with you on walking down to our beach.....I always walk as well....because you will ususally see some wildlife on the way.....monkeys or sloths or some exotic birds.....always an iguana or two! We hope that you'll return someday!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent spring break at Tulemar, in Casa Panorama South. It was pretty close to a perfect vacation for our group of 8; two families with 4 kids ages 3-13. There was something for everyone to do, from the pool (including a small one for the littlest kids) which was conveniently located just across from our house, to the wonderful beach, with prompt and courteous service for chairs, towels and boogie boards, to the many excursions available. Kimberly was an outstanding host, available at any time to help make our various excursion plans, reccommending restaurants and shopping, even stopping by to let us know when the mama sloth was nearby with her baby. She helped make our vacation as worry-free and fun-filled as could be. We'd highly reccommend Tulemar; this was our first trip to Costa Rica, and feel we chose the perfect place with Tulemar.

Room Tip: Because we stayed in a house, all the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
HI Mimichoo.....thanks for your review of Casa Panorama and Kimberly, your personal concierge.....we agree.....Tulemar is the perfect place in Manuel Antonio......from our huge selection of accommodations (bungalows to private villas).....to the personal concierge service we provide to make the trip easy....to our beach with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, food and beverage service.....to the dramatic ocean views......the abundant wildlife right on our property.....4 pools......and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....it is the place to be in Manuel Antonio! Thanks for taking the time to post and we hope to see you back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Pros: It's gorgeous, grounds, villas... junior suite no 205 had a magestic view of the ocean and amazing sunsets, quiet, staff more than helpful, security on site, walking distance to ATM, Cafe Milagro, mini market to stock up on snacks, wine, water ( expensive in your room ). Beautiful private beach ( public beach near park entrance is terrible ), good breakfast and fish delicious at beach stall, saw monkeys and sloths on site. Beautiful pool.

Cons: Huge, steep hills, must rely on shuttle bus, no restaurant on site for supper.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the beach, mine was walking distance, good cardio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueeyedZosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi Blueeyed Zosia.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our JR Suites.....loved the "pros".....the "cons" are understandable.....Tulemar is "huge".....33 acres of jungle and beach.....which means we have lots of wildlife visits......and it does sit on the hillside....which gives us those amazing ocean views......with the beach below......we do have two restaurants located outside of Tulemar that deliver "room service" for supper.....just sign the check to your suite.....and there are 10 restaurants within two blocks of our front gates.....lots of options for dining.....thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,538 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing