We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The beach there was great. The room was clean and comfortable and had a fantastic view. There are enough places nearby to walk around and get food and shop a little bit without having to go to Quepos if you don't want to. The staff was very friendly and our concierge was there nearly 24/7. I don't think Orlando ever went off the clock. The food and drink here was a bit on the pricey side but nothing unexpected at all. $9 for most mixed drinks and $4 for beer. Local places were $2.50-$4 for beer and you get a great beach to enjoy your drink at.

There is a lot of wildlife around the property as well. We saw a sloth, numerous lizards, one snake, and 2 different species of monkeys. Best place we stayed at on our whole trip to Costa Rica.

We also had the private dining once as a gift from family for our wedding and it was great. They set us up right on the beach after sundown, put out tons of candles and had 4 or 5 staff down there just for us to make sure it was a great meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Hi Tim....we were happy to have you with us for your honeymoon......Tulemar is a great for couples too......lots of secluded areas......like our beach and the adults only pool......Orlando, your personal concierge, is wonderful and loved taking care of you during your stay....especially arranging your private dinner on the beach! We hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Love this property. Rooms were really cute, we stayed in a bungalow.
Saw more wildlife than in the rain forest tour. Nice beach with good boogie boarding and kayaking. Great concierge service, we loved Chris. Book with Dave. He is awesome.
There are plenty of good restaurants nearby with free shuttle service.
Definitely eat at Sanchos for mexican food - within 1/2 block, outstanding fish tacos.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Hi Lisa J....we loved having you and your daughter with us.....I'm glad you enjoyed your Bungalows.....the views are amazing.......lots of wildlife in Tulemar as well......and the beach.....and the free shuttle......and Chris.....your personal concierge.....a wonderful person who loves to pamper his guests! Thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of 12 people and it is by far the best place I have ever stayed anywhere! Everyone slept comfortably, it was in a great location, and the view was spectacular! But what really set this place apart from others is the hospitality by the staff.

Each villa is assigned a personal concierge to help with anything you need. We were fortunate enough to get Eduardo. Eduardo is AWESOME! He made our stay super enjoyable. He was there whenever we needed to schedule a dinner or activity reservation, he was there to answer any questions we had about the area or where to go to have some fun, and he was there just to have a friendly chat. He was even kind enough to help one of my friends arrange a ride to the airport AFTER we had already left Tulemar.

Tulemar also offers a free shuttle service to get you to the beach, the grocery store, restaurants, or any other spot in Manuel Antonio. The driver's name is Guillermo...SUCH a nice guy. He was always punctual and always made sure the ride was comfortable and fun. After my group left Tulemar, we went to a nearby hotel that did not offer shuttle service, and Guillermo didn't hesitate to offer his services even though we weren't staying at Tulemar.

The guy at the front desk (I unfortunately can't remember his name right now) was also a blast and a half. He helped my other friend contact his airline and extend his stay, he talked to me about some local hot spots for nightlife, and he introduced me to some funky Costa Rican music.

Everyone at Tulemar went above and beyond their call of duty. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thanks for you kind remarks on our Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villas and Eduardo, your personal concierge. All of our staff, from the beach, to the pools and the shuttle drivers work hard to make sure you have a great stay. We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to have you back again.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Because there were 3 of us, we opted for Casa Panorama, a two story, two-bedroom/two-bath villa at Tulemar Gardens. It was perfect! Our concierge, Kimberly Barron, was totally outgoing and helpful.. one of the kind of people you want to be friends with. The view was spectacular, the beach lovely, and the kayaks and boogyboards and beachchairs are free. You don't have to worry about picking your place, paying for everything and having vendors. It is totally private, with a bar which also makes lunch. The best pina coladas ever.. made with fresh pineapple. It has several pools to choose from, with everything overlooking the ocean. Kimberly arranged a great ziplining tour with Canopy tours. The guides were very professional, so we could relax and have fun. Kimberly also arranged horseback riding on the Savegre Horseback Tours (the ridingadventure.com). And don't let wonderful Diego, our cowboy leader, fool you. He has an economics degree from the U.S. I strongly recommend this company. It was the widest beach I've ever seen (and I grew up on the Gulf Coast). We only saw two fishermen the entire time. Compare this to the others which go on crowded public beaches and pick their way around. You can run with the wind in the waves for as far as you can see on this tour. We rented a car, and once we got out of San Jose', the drive wasn't bad at all on the new highway, maybe 2 1/2 hours. There are plenty of restaurants on the road leading to Manuel Antonio, and some very nice ones. You don't even need to go into town. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Hi Betty and thanks for posting a great review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar.......one of the great things about staying with us is that you get a personal concierge to take care of you during your stay.....while many places may offer a concierge service.....rarely do they match what our concierges can provide......time with their guests.....and knowledge of the best tours/activities in the area.....like the horseback tour.....very unique and different from what most hotels offer....thanks for taking the time to post and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Panorama! Please come back and see us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

7 of us recently spent 7 nights at Casa De Frutas in Tulemar and I would definitely recommend it to any group of friends or family. We walked into a beautiful 2 story home in a jungle like setting over looking the pacific ocean. The home was beautifully decorated with live tropical flowers, had all the amenities you would have at home including a large fully equiped kitchen.

The Sloth visit was an awesome experience not to mention the group of small monkeys that made their late afternoon visits. There's a beautiful private beach down the steep road which I recommend anyone to walk at least once to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. There is also transportation to and from the beach within minutes. The beach also has a bar and outdoor restaurant. They have an amazing menu and I must say their fish sandwich was the BEST I've ever had. The beach also provides beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and kayaks. The whole week we were there the beach was quiet and a real enjoyable place to grab an ice cold drink and soak up some sun. We got to experience a thunderstorm on avg once a day late afternoon.

Mauricio and Dave were outstanding hosts, available at anytime to help with recommendations, planning our excursions, dinner plans, and arranging our transportation. I have to say the staff were truly amazing friendly people. It was always nice to come back to the house after a long day of fun to see my laundry clean and folded on the bed. I can't wait to come back and see Mauricio, Dave and the staff smiling faces.


I would definitely come back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable vacation in the jungle with superior service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Hi Shane....thanks for your great review of Casa de Frutas.....one of our private villas located in Tulemar.....Casa de Frutas is the #1 ranked vacation rental villa on Tripadvisor when sorted by customer reviews.....it really is an amazing villa.....the views....the design....the decor....the ambiance......Mauricio and the staff do pamper you.....and make your stay very special! We hope to see you and your friends back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the bungalows for three nights. First of all, our concierge, Chris, went above and beyond. When we arrived at the airport, he picked us up, took us around town to show us the local sites, went shopping for food with us, took us on a 40 minute tour of the property, and then helped us take the luggage into our room. It was obvious that he showed pride in his work and the property.

The pros
- good, clean room
- excellent internet
- the private beach was excellent. We boogey boarded all day on our last day in Costa Rica.
- concierge service was excellent
- walking distance to many restaurants

The cons
- the pools were so-so. This was more due to people going on excursions and not being there during the daytime. At night, people are so exhausted that they either go out for dinner or just head off to sleep. As a result, there wasn't much in the way of socializing.
- everything requires walking up a steep hill. There is a free shuttle from the beach, but if you leave from your room to go out for dinner, it is a very steep walk to get to the resort's entrance.

Room Tip: There is no spa or breakfast served. However, each room comes with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txagcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Hi and thanks for your great review on our Tulemar Bungalows.....we're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that Chris, your private concierge, took such great care of you.....yes....he does take pride in Tulemar and loves his guests! I hope he mentioned to you that our shuttle not just takes you around Tulemar.....but out thru the front gates to one of over 10 restaurants within two blocks either way or the grocery store.....no need to walk unless you want the excercise or are in hopes of seeing a little more wildlife......I think you are the first to comment that there were not enough people at our pools to be social......that is different than what most of our guests are looking for......privacy and a quiet time.....we have 4 pools spread around the property.....one for adults only.....they really do seem deserted at times.....I think if you're looking for social.....there are many little bars close by that have happy hours! By the way, I saw you and your wife having lunch at one of our favorite little "sodas" in downtown Quepos on your last day in town.....a place where we rarely see tourists......I knew Chris must have given away one of our little secrets.....and good for you for being adventourus and brave enough to head off the beaten path! Hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Recently spent 3 nights staying at the Tulemar Bungalows and I would definitely recommend to all. The property itself is built into the natural surroundings and maintains the feel of being in the rain forest while providing the amenities of an upscale resort. During our 3 days there we saw multiple monkey species, snakes, 2 and 3 toed sloths as well as a variety of other birds and insects. In addition the property provides access to a private beach that provides great amenities as well as great swimming. In terms of the properties you may be close to a neighbor but for the most part you do have privacy. If possible I would recommend getting a property with a deck. Finally you are close to dining and entertainment options (walkable depending on how far you are from the entrance).

Room Tip: Get a deck if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Hi ChicagoIllini.....thanks for the great review of our Tulemar Bungalows and Tulemar....we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! The beach, the wildlife, our beach....yes....it's worth mentioning again.....and so many restaurant choices just outside of our front gates.....our bungalows are very unique....and while they don't have decks......all of our other selections do! Hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £112 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing